We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine the first Europeans coming ashore here about 500 years ago?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morjim
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elsewhere - The Beach Houses
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Imagine the first Europeans coming ashore here about 500 years ago?”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have no idea what my holiday cost me,as it was a gift from my daughter, but presumably it matches the more upscale 5-star resorts, because you get what most people want on holiday - personal attention when you want it or need it, to be left alone when you want to be left alone and total unwind. Elsewhere is all this and more. The beach on the edge of the property meanders gently straight into the Arabian Sea and with a very long walk of about half a mile into the Arabian Sea at high tide if you feel like it before you need to swim. Water is clean here, unlike in the area around the delta of the Mandovi and Zuari.

Location, approach and the rest of it is secret. They are selective about their guests. One very efficient and friendly lady runs the place, I;ve forgotten her name, and the rest of the staff are brilliant. Nobody hassles you for tips!!

Though the security guys, the uniformed guys on the periphery, will play peeping tom if you sun-bathe is what one other visitor told us. Luckily, some of us come with built in tan, so that was not an issue. But when you step on the beach, it is better to look straight ahead - or wear dark glasses so that people can not see you looking at them.

We stayed in one of the two-room cottages (I forget the name, but walking South from the main block, this would be the second last one.) Mobile phone works, sort of, but not the data card so if you want to ruin your holiday and work on the internet, you have to hike to the restaurant, where you can hook on to their wifi.

The cottages are air-conditioned and with all mod cons, but from an era gone past, it is smarter to use the mosquito net on the four-poster, and as far as we could make out - house keeping was just perfect. The cottages are in the forested part of the property, and this is pre monsoon spring, so the chorus before the birds go to sleep AND when they wake up is amazing.

(I would suggest the cottages, since the tents have the privy in the main tent itself, which makes it - not privy. )

Food is, hmmm, geared for the European palate. But you can ask the cooks to pump up the Goan spices and local specialities, it would be better to give them some notice. No room service, which in my opinion is how it should be, though they have a minibar in the room. And if you are really all that hungry then go on the beach and 24x7 in season though at some distance the world rocks on.

I wish they would keep the place open in the monsoons for travellers who like the rainy season in Goa. This is the kind of place where you will want to shout back into the wind during the Indian monsoons. Yes, Elsewhere is something else again. I hope it doesn't get spoilt.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VeereshMalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We normally stay in more modest hotels, but we had a sense to get some peace in Goa, we should pay a little more. Elsewhere is about 1.5 hours by cab north of the airport- they picked us up (for a hefty fee) and brought us there, and our bags were whisked away by porters upon arrival. We stayed for four nights in the Piggery, a two-bedroom house with a veranda looking out at the Arabian Sea- it felt like you were alone on the edge of the earth. The rooms were pretty and spotlessly clean, with a well-stocked fridge and two spacious bathrooms. The veranda was perfect for watching sunsets and reading while enjoying a beer. The property is long and situated between the sea and the creek, so it's completely private, with guards posted at the various entrances for security. Mark (the manager) was very nice and concerned with our comfort and happiness. We brought our four year old daughter, who had a ball at the beach. The tide goes very low and very high, and when it's going out, it creates a shallow tide pool that was perfect for her to play in. Food was well-priced- there was nowhere else nearby to eat (there were other little restaurants a fair walk down the beach, but they were nothing special,) so most meals were taken at the hotel. You had to tell them ahead of time what you wanted to eat and when, which felt a little stiff at first, but you got used to it by the end. The eating tent was about a 5 minute walk from the house. The only thing I regret is that we didn't stay there longer- it was really a special place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aurora_ac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Oh my what a wonderful place,We really were spoilt from our arrival to our departure a week later. We booked the Priests house which is fantastic-a brilliant location 50 mtrs from a beautiful beach. This location is very quiet-we did go very early season but i suspect it never really gets over busy, the restaurant is very good as is all the service you will experiance here, the office is open to you to use the internet on there computers at no cost which was nice. Beautiful walks can be taken along a very long sandy beach to various bars/restaurant shacks. On one of our days two of the staff took us out at 6.30am dolphin watching, a totally relaxing and wonderful experiance as was our stay at Elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We spent 6-7 days in Elsewhere in one of its beach houses. Remarks:
- there is a spectacular view to the ocean from the house veranda;
- the long beach, which was 15 metres from the house, was just for us. We were not bothered almost by anyone (with the exception of few polite vendors who also attracted attention of Elswhere security guards);
- the place is permanently secured by the guards hidden in the bushes who monitor the area during the day and night without affecting your privacy;
- the house was clean and comfortable;
- the food was WONDERFUL and very tasty. We had breakfasts, lunches and dinners every day there (did not want to try other locations);
- the service was very polite and helpful;
- it is a very silent place which is perfect if you want to relax from noise and enjoy the nature and beautiful sunsets;
- finally, you can observe a lot of different batterflies around the beach houses as well as hawks eating fish during the day (pretty amazing).
Comparing to other locations along the beach (we have seen some during our walks) it is the best place to be in that part of GOA beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Elsewhere is an amazing space, a great idea extremely well executed! Lovely staff and great service and food! The beach is quiet and very special due it's location and the staff are very good at arranging excursions and access to other spaces in the area!

The entire space is extremely well maintained and a very different side of Goa. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morjim
9.6 km away
Fort Tiracol Heritage Hotel
0.2 km away
Sur La Mer
Sur La Mer
#1 of 14 in Morjim
149 reviews
14.9 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marbela Beach Resort
Marbela Beach Resort
#11 of 14 in Morjim
220 reviews
0.9 km away
L'Amore Beach Cottages
L'Amore Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Ashvem Beach
189 reviews
5.9 km away
Siolim House
Siolim House
#1 of 7 in Siolim
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsewhere - The Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsewhere - The Beach Houses

Property: Elsewhere - The Beach Houses
Address: Ashvem, Morjim 403716, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Morjim
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Morjim
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Beach Villas and three luxury tents on one of the most beautiful, tranquil beaches in Goa. Very comfortable and clean, Elsewhere runs like a little hotel with full service and great food available at the little in-house restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elsewhere - The Beach Houses Hotel Morjim
Elsewhere - The Beach Houses Goa/Morjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing