We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff but bad sleep rating!”
Review of Paros by Amarya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paros by Amarya
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Morjim
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and staff but bad sleep rating!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We visited Goa for a week for New Years 2016/2017. We booked into the luxury tent. The location is very good - walking distance from the Morjim beach. The only issue is the hotel is far away from the main road. So you either have to walk 20-30 minutes to the nearest shop or take a taxi which is expensive. There were a lot of parties on and pretty much every night you could hear them and we were not able to sleep properly. The staff are fantastic - the best part and very helpful. The tents were a bit dirty and looked like they needed a bit of renovation. They are taken down in April so the whole hotel feels like it is temporary. The food and breakfast was great. I would recommend the hotel but if you like to sleep maybe not book it during Christmas/New Year. The tents make the rooms very noisy. There is good WIFI though although it did go off a few times.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    25
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
48
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at Paros by Amarya for 4 days between Christmas and the new year’s eve. I must confess that we spent 4 wonderful days. The tents are spacious, clean with an impeccable decoration. The restaurant just before the beach offers fresh dishes with amazing seafood. All the staff but particulary Martin, who manages all of Paros has been a particularly friendly and helpful host.  I truly recommand this place !

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianhoarau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I think this has to be my first negative review on TripAdvisor. I travel a lot and rarely complain. From my extensive travels and a career in hotel PR, I feel I have a good idea of hotel standards.

Given the rate we were paying to stay in a Mughal tent at Paros (approx 200 USD a night) my husband and I arrived with fairly high expectations. The tent itself was incredibly tired and dirty. I was told I was the only guest to complain about this.The standard of the room certainly did not align with its price tag - ripped and stained drapes, stained bed sheets, stained towels, dusty floors and rat droppings! Given the price of antiques and fabrics in India, earning's from one night would more than deck out the tent and bring it to the standard it needs to be at. The luxury tents had varnished wooden floors and wooden finishes, perhaps we would have been happier there. The mughal tent (the more expensive of the two) just has concrete floors and surfaces. On top of this - breakfast wasn't included in the rate.

In addition to the poor standard of accommodation, we barely slept during our 3 night stay due to the constant beat of house music from nearby raves. When I mentioned this to management, I was told it was out of their control and there was nothing they could do. Granted, they can't shut the clubs down but they could have handled it in a much more gracious manner. It's out of their control but it is still their problem. They are marketing themselves as a serene and peaceful tented camp. HAd we known it would be like this, we wouldn't have come. Little gestures like ear plugs for guests or offering a complimentary breakfast would have gone a long way. Something to compensate for the fact you're paying a lot for tired room that you can't even sleep in!

Aside from this, the restaurant was good and the food was delicious - focusing on fresh seafood and local flavours.

Room Tip: Opt for Luxury Tents over Mughal Tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ercb1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Stayed for a couple of nights in the Luxury Tents. It's a great place to go and relax while exploring North Goa and enjoying the beach.

Take a bike and ride up to Fort Tiracol (if the ferry isn't running ask for Sheshe who can take you across on his boat) and check out the 'scene' in La Plage.

The tents are comfortable and clean, the food excellent and beach service attentive. But the service is what makes this place great. Shout out to Martin, who was outstanding in finding restaurant recommendations for us and organising a bike and taxi with minimum fuss, even when the bike got a flat and had to be changed.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silehnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Hidden gem in Morjim! Super nice and stylish luxury tents almost directly on the beach but still in the serene surroundings. Service is great. Cuisine is excellent. The ambience is very relaxing. Looking forward to coming back. Thanks Paros!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morjim hotels
2.5 km away
Sur La Mer
Sur La Mer
#1 of 14 in Morjim
150 reviews
0.8 km away
Montego Bay Beach Village
0.4 km away
La Vaiencia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
MAP5 Village Resort Morjim
1.1 km away
FabHotel Retreat Morjim
FabHotel Retreat Morjim
#12 of 14 in Morjim
14 reviews
2.5 km away
Marbela Beach Resort
Marbela Beach Resort
#10 of 14 in Morjim
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paros by Amarya? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paros by Amarya

Property: Paros by Amarya
Address: Temba Vaddo, Morjim 403512, India (Formerly Paros)
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Morjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Morjim
#1 Spa Hotel in Morjim
Hotel Class:3 star — Paros by Amarya 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To cater to the demands of their growing clientele in Goa, The Amarya Group acquired the intimate oceanfront resort on Morjim beach, "Paros", bringing with them their imitable style and dedicated service to this charming property. "Paros by Amarya" opens its doors to guests on November 23rd Set on a secluded and pristine property on the picturesque Turtle Beach, Paros by Amarya offers an enchanting beachfront hideaway with eight tented guest accommodations and a three-bedroom converted Portuguese villa. The interiors of the tents and the beach villa are designed in distinctive Amarya charm, artfully blending ethnic Indian textiles and regional antique furniture with modern design aesthetics and vibrant color palettes.Guests may enjoy the alfresco elevated restaurant-lounge that offers sweeping views of the Arabian Sea. The lounge offers a Nespresso bar as well as a complete breakfast, lunch and dinner service featuring the freshest produce and finest ingredients. Intimate, charming, and always stylish, Paros by Amarya offers another unforgettable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Paros by Amarya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paros By Amarya Goa/Morjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing