We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property, great location, excellent service - perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sur La Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sur La Mer
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Morjim
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely property, great location, excellent service - perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We came here for a long weekend in a big group and this was the perfect venue for the occasion! Sur La Mer is a delightful mix of old-world charm and modern facilities. Colonial facade, large, airy rooms with everything you need - a chilling air con, comfy beds, free wi-fi, fridge, tea/coffee, TV, movies, pool - the works. Breezy white muslin curtains for privacy - even for the bathrooms, which have no doors!

Just a few minutes from the beach and many fabulous restaurants and bars in this area - a must-try. Tho' for great cuisine and hospitality you never need to leave here - the food is absolutely fantastic - try the wild boar vindaloo and the wasabi prawns.

What makes this special is that the owners - a lovely, gracious couple - are there, and ensure everyone is well looked after. The staff here is always smiling and happy to accommodate your requests, even at your laid-back hours well past regular mealtimes.

Beautifully located - minutes from great beaches, shacks and restaurants. The beach in this part of Goa is lovely - wide expanses of pristine sand.
Totally recommend this!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
44
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just thoroughly enjoyed our fourth dinner at Sur la Mer during our stay in Goa. As always the restaurant continues to serve consistently excellent food. The ambience of the hotel and the outdoor dining area enhances the enjoyment of the wonderful food. We never look at the menu but rely on the excellent advice and culinary skills of the owner Aneel who is a world renowned chef and great raconteur. If you are in North Goa and want absolutely the best food then I can highly recommend the dining experience at Sur le Mer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had great many recommendations to go eat/stay at Sur La Mer .. so we decided to try it out for lunch.. being a veggie in goa does have its perils but i had managed to get delish food at most shacks and resto ..till i came here.. at first we were sitted on one table then asked to move because the people who had booked the table came (never happened to be in a resto before) then we were told in veg it was pasta in red and white sauce honestly not something i wanted to eat... tried the caprese salad which had green chutney which they thght was pesto.. i dont even wnt to talk about the rest of the lunch with the paneer gravy tasting like package food and raw naans...just a terrible experience... and we paid as much as our yummy meal that we had at Fiesta in Baga....not worth it at all...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VaiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I have been going to Goa for 11 years now and have always stayed in the same part of Goa (Candolim) and have always been weary to try any other place.
We decided to be adventurous and stay in Sur La Mer in Morjim and were we pleased!!!
The owners of the hotel are so friendly and we spent every evening out by the pool, enjoying each others company. The pool is in the middle of the courtyard and you can walk out of your room and just jump straight in! That had to be the best part.

The rooms are large and spacious and very tastefully made. The whole place has a very adobe/Mediterranean feel and it is a great getaway from mainstream Goa.It is only a 5 minute walk from the beach and the famous restaurant, La Plage.

The entire hotel has wifi connectivity and their chocolate dessert and pineapple juice was amazing.

Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something comfortable and relaxed in Goa.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KismetJewellNakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We found this treasure just by luck, hotels.com had a mix up with our reservation at another hotel and found this for us last moment. We had been traveling in India for 6 weeks on a holiday and this was our last stop before returning home.

We were very impressed by the hotel, the rooms and the staff. Sur la Mer is a family run hotel. The staff also feel part of the family as the owners Aneel Verman and wife wonderful wife Nayann treat the staff as family.

The staff take pride in taking care of the guest and go above and beyond to meet every need of the guest.

The hotel rooms are huge and excellent bathrooms. They are beautiful decorated in antiques and very comfortable.

Food..yum... Some of the best food we ate in India specially when Aneel cooks for his guest. He is a master chef. And he cooked twice for us and it was finger licking delicious food.

In fact I have to say that our hosts Aneel and Nayann were absolutely excellent people. In fact they became life long friends, family members. Aneel is the life of Sur la Mer. Every evening he mingles with his guests making sure that all their needs are being met. He even makes and serves drinks. My favorite "whiskey sours". His signature drink!

Aneel never measures his drinks and one of our favorite things was that one doesn't have to rush to get up in the morning for the breakfast that is included in your room price. One can have breakfast at anytime of the day that one chooses. And the breakfast is awesome always fresh and delicious.

We though we stayed in some of the very fancy hotels in India I have to say our stay in Sur la Mer was the best one of all.

The hotel is barely a 5 min walk from the beach but has its own wonderful pool. Since we had already spent about 15 days on the beach earlier we took full advantage of the pool.

When our daughter came by for a couple of days from Mumbai Aneel made sure they put an extra bed in our room for us without any extra cost.

We even noticed that the hotel food is so famous that people that were not staying at the hotel made reservations to come and eat at Sur la Mer

We highly recommend Sur la Mer. And we would ourselves be returning there in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noor700929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morjim
1.7 km away
Montego Bay Beach Village
2.5 km away
Paros by Amarya
Paros by Amarya
#3 of 14 in Morjim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.1 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Marbela Beach Resort
Marbela Beach Resort
#6 of 14 in Morjim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.6 km away
Treebo Turtle Beach Resort
0.5 km away
La Cabana Beach & Spa
La Cabana Beach & Spa
#6 of 11 in Ashvem Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur La Mer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur La Mer

Property: Sur La Mer
Address: Morjim-Ashwem Road, Morjim 403512, India
Region: India > Goa > Morjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Morjim
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,919 - ₹ 24,310
Hotel Class:3 star — Sur La Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Sur La Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur La Mer Goa/Morjim
Sur La Mer Hotel Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing