We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mountains, river, and sea - what more could you...”
other travellers have booked this property
Fast flowing mountain river Aventino bordering the 5 acre garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fast flowing mountain river Aventino bordering the 5 acre garden.
View of kitchen with terrace through the window. View of kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Fast flowing mountain river Aventino bordering the 5 acre garden.
View of kitchen with terrace through the window.
View of kitchen.
Main bedroom with large double bed.
Mosaic tiled shower room.
Dining room with wood burning stove.
Lounge with L-shaped leather sofa and wood-burning stove.
View of house from terrace.
View of house from garden.
Single bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
South-facing sun terrace with BBQ.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Civitella Messer Raimondo, Province of Chieti, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adjph
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mountains, river, and sea - what more could you want?”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stewart & Ruth are the most gracious and helpful hosts in an absolutely amazing location. We went to places we wouldn't have thought of or found without their help,
and had the most wonderful stay. Swimming and rafting in the river at the end of the garden, and walking in the nearby mountains in the Majella National Park were an absolute highlight. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed having you and your family as guests, you were great fun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
636emma
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most brilliant, beautiful, place to stay.”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Casa del Fiume is in a lovely location; an unspoilt undiscovered part of Italy.

A river runs through the garden - heaven when it's hot.

Hosts Stewart and Ruth are completely wonderful and a mine of information.

The beaches are gorgeous; the food delicious; tons of walking in mountains; beautiful villages and towns to explore. Just a perfect holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review! You packed so much into your time here and we really enjoyed having you stay with us. We look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max1630
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you are looking for something to get away from the noise and hubbub of daily life stop looking you have found it.”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A little piece of Italy just off the edge of the national park, with stunning views of the mountains from your bedroom window, if you want a short but steep(ish) walk down the garden you find the river that is used by local rafting organisation for white water rafting, maybe a bit cold and fierce for swimming but relax in the hammocks and just listen to the river… sublime.

The house is a beautiful old place tastefully and calmly decorated and it makes a great starting point to go and see what is just on your door step, 15 minutes by car you are at the caves 35 minutes the other in the mountains, or if you want probably the most unspoilt shingle beach I have ever seen ask Stew for directions… it’s a bit of a drive but only a bit

The owners Stew and Ruth are the perfect combination of neighbour, travel guide, and local font of knowledge. Who are passionate about ensuring that you have the best holiday you can. And we did thanks Guys

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for such a good review. We really enjoyed having you here and we hope that you come back soon. Grazie mille!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIchael N
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The perfect holiday”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A family of four with two children, we received an exceptional welcome from Stewart and Ruth for whom nothing was too much trouble. They were so patient and kind with our children, for whom the cats were a great attraction! They were incredibly generous with delicious offerings, advice and hand-drawn maps on the local area and even took us out on several wonderful trips. A particular highlight was the excursion to a local vineyard with lovely hosts.
The house is beautiful (with more than enough room for four people), as are the grounds with the hammocks and river. Rafting was great fun. The immediate locality is breathtakingly stunning and we loved our beach trips. Naples, with Pompeii and Herculaneum, proved a great hit as a day-trip.
We have no hesitation in recommending this property and only wish that we could give more than five stars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for this review. We really enjoyed having you stay here and showing you our part of Abruzzo. We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie H
1 review
“Mountain escape”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Stew and Ruth were lovely hosts with an equally lovely property.
They accommodated our needs, from providing a cot and other baby items to drawing local maps and arranging a wonderful evening of wine tasting.
The house has all you could need and we enjoyed exploring the grounds and eating figs fresh from the trees.
The Abruzzo area was beautiful and we explored the mountains and visited the coast, which were both within easy reach of the property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Thank you for this review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 134
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing