We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,780)
Filter reviews
1,780 results
Traveller rating
1,286
308
91
60
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,286
308
91
60
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ayung river pool villa birds nest duplex villa our honeymoon river front private pool butler service la view restaurant personal butler romantic dinner mango golf cart every hour spent nights white water rafting afternoon tea amazing place
Filter
Updating list...
1,078 - 1,083 of 1,780 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at Kupu Kupu for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our time there. The staff are lovely and friendly and they make you feel very welcome. We stayed in a River Pool Villa which was fantastic. It had a great big bed, a huge bath and a nice outdoor deck overlooking the valley and the river with an infinity pool. The restaurant is very nice also - it's probably a little expensive but we weren't too fussed about that.

The hotel is about a ten minute ride into Ubud and there is a regular shuttle that is free of charge which you can take. If you want to do your own thing or be a little more spontaneous the front desk will also arrange a taxi for you.

The Mango Tree Spa is also very nice. We did a couples package that had a massage, bath and facial. I don't know much about these things so I can't say how good it was comparatively (as there are lots of spas in this area) but I certainly enjoyed it! Having a massage up in the Mango Tree was a nice treat also.

We had a lovely honeymoon here and I would recommend it to other couples looking to hide away from the rest of the world.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James_007_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Dear Mr. Jamesforde,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than satisfied to have your honeymoon with the hotel, its facilities and related services.

On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.

We believe that you have a deeply relaxing body and mind after spoil your body in Mango Tree Spa by L’Occitane as we only use top range body treatment from L’Occitane and professional therapist.

We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

A friend recommended the Kupu Kupu Barong. What a beautiful place to spoil oneself. The accommodation was absolutely superior and the service unbelievable. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than safe and satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and related services.

On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.

We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I can't recommend this place enough. My wife and I stayed there for one week over the new year's period and I can't fault any aspect of the place. The staff are great, the food is superb and the view is jaw dropping.

The only thing I will say is that this resort is in a forrested area of Bali. So, you will see bugs, frogs, lizards etc. If this is a major stress for you then I would suggest you stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multiben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than safe and satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and related services.

On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.

We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Here you find excellent service, care, dedicated staff, outstanding views of the jungle (yes it's BEAUTIFUL), an Occitane Spa, very good villas to stay, with a personal butler...

It's a piece of heaven in the tropics :)

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
Thank João F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Dear Mr. Fernandes,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and related services.

On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.

We believe that you have a deeply relaxing body and mind after spoil your body in Mango Tree Spa by L’Occitane as we only use top range body treatment from L’Occitane and professional therapist.

We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Having never been to Bali, this trip was special to us. We narrowed down to Kupu Kupu Barong after reading a lot of reviews, even right before we left for Bali.

The place is awesome and the service levels are five star levels. The rooms are well kept and serviced twice in a day. Food quality in the restaurant is good - only wished they had a wider choices. The staff is very hospitable and ensures that your stay is to your comfort - just like home.

The hotel is far away from all the action that takes place in Kuta or Jimbaran; but the shuttle bus which takes you to Ubud Central is good enough to keep you busy for few days. Ample tour options in and around Ubud if you are game for it.

The SPA is well kept and offers a variety of massages to pick up. Highly recommended to try one (though the prices are on the steep side)

On the flip side - the tours, taxi rides from the hotel are expensive - suggest you book it through alternative options. Even the hotel staff kept suggesting to book from outside.

We took up the new year gala dinner since it was part of the package we took up - it turned out to be disappointing - sparkling wine on the menu was not served, not many guests stayed back till the countdown. Something, Kupu Kupu management needs to revisit if they plan another gala night for next year. I guess part of the fun was spoiled due to the rains.

Overall, a place you must go and park yourself in.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prabhvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR975478, Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2011

Dear Mr. Prabhvir,

We would like to dedicate our deeply heartfelt thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate it while also being very happy that you were more than satisfied with the hotel, its facilities and related services.

On behalf of the management of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, we would like to extend our greatest gratitude for your compliment towards our team service and room; indeed what's more important is that you have been treated well during your stay with us.

We have passed on your comments to our team who are always happy to receive such wonderful feedback and we’ll take concern for your notion.

We are gladly welcoming you back at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, Ubud in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ratih
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews