We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kupu Kupu Barong is a magic place: elegance and warmth hidden in the tropical forest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Kupu Kupu Barong very much. We had our private pool and taking a swim at sunset time was such an incredible experience! We also had a romantic dinner on the Bird Nest and it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegracemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 971 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2010

The hotel is a located outside the main tourist area. Its perfect if you are looking for some quite time. The staff is exceptional (and I don't say this often) - helpful and polite. It is not the most ideal place if you are in Bali for the nightlife. There are free shuttles to Ubud town and back during the day but if you want to go out at night you will have to make your own arrangements. The rooms are spacious, private, well furnished and comfortable. There is also free internet. Breakfast food has reasonable variety and is good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Quiet hideaway, with lovely private rooms, Awesome Food, Gorgeous Friendly Staff, Relaxing Spa with lovely products, gr8 gardens, lots of stairs but is ok have golf carts!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Our very first stop in our honeymoon. As soon as we took a left from the main street, into the narrow alley leading to Kupu Kupu Barong, something was already changing. We walked into the open-air lobby with the breathtaking view to check-in, and were greeted very warmly by the staff, who invited us to relax with a few minutes on the nearby couch, overlooking the amazing pond with a majestic jungle backdrop. Once done with the smooth check-in, our buttler drove us by golf cart to our Ayung River Villa. A fascinating scenery from our terrace, which had an intimate overflowing private pool, chaise-longues, and an outdoor bed with a hut-like ceiling. The room has a big cozy colonial-style double bed, and although the whole setting dictates simplicity and primitivity, the room is well equipped with technology (A/C, LCD TV, DVD player, iPod docking station, minibar...etc). A mixture of glass and marbel constitue an amazing tub at the center of the bathroom area (which is an open space together with the rest of the room, but separable by curtains), with two sinks next to it, closets, a standing shower and a toilet. Overall a very comfortable villa, with 100%-glass facade that lets you see the majestic jungle from almost any point inside the villa. Buttlers were available all the time to cater to our needs, be it regular hotel requirements, driving us up and down by golf cart, anything, always with a very friendly smile and pampering attitude. We dined at the hotel's restaurants a couple of times, exquisite dishes, great service, quiet and romanitc outdoors. In addition, you can book private romantic dinners at the pond or a the bird nest (I think that's its name), unforgettable experience. We also had a massage at the Mango tree spa once, which turned out to be so relaxing and so purifying. I'd say everything was more than perfect in our three-night stay there, and most of the times things were better than we would expect, be it the level of service, the food or anything. The only disadvantage we had was staff coming to our villa to change towels past sunset, which was our siesta time, but that was minor, all else was fantastic. The ambiance/atmosphere from the moment we walked into the hotel was so relaxing and captivating that we completely lost any sense of time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OAM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a Club River View Villa (34) . The room was simply amazing and the view glorious . There is a butler appointed to look after you during your stay and we would just ring "6" and the buggy would be there waiting for us to take us to the lobby, Bar or restaurant . The food in their restaurant was outstanding. We met the young Belgium chef , who has worked at some of the top hotels and restaurants in Bali. The Chocolate Fantasy on the dessert menu was out of this world. I had wanted to stay at Kupu Kupu Barong for years and I was not disappointed. The Mango Tree spa was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
3.9 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 198 in Ubud
1,320 reviews
3.9 km away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 198 in Ubud
1,063 reviews
4 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.2 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.2 km away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range: ₹ 8,737 - ₹ 15,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Kedewatan, Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa's inviting ambiance and unparalleled service provides the ideal home away from home for travelers. The resort, enclosed by three hectares of lush tropical gardens overlooking the spectacular Ayung River valley and the rice paddies, invites for an amazing true Balinese experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa Bali, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing