We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,763)
Filter reviews
1,763 results
Traveller rating
1,271
308
89
60
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,271
308
89
60
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsayung river pool villabirds nestduplex villaour honeymoonprivate poolriver frontbutler servicela view restaurantromantic dinnerpersonal butlergolf cartmangoevery hourspent nightsafternoon teawhite water raftingrice
Filter
Updating list...
1,080 - 1,085 of 1,763 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The hotel is a located outside the main tourist area. Its perfect if you are looking for some quite time. The staff is exceptional (and I don't say this often) - helpful and polite. It is not the most ideal place if you are in Bali for the nightlife. There are free shuttles to Ubud town and back during the day but if you want to go out at night you will have to make your own arrangements. The rooms are spacious, private, well furnished and comfortable. There is also free internet. Breakfast food has reasonable variety and is good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Quiet hideaway, with lovely private rooms, Awesome Food, Gorgeous Friendly Staff, Relaxing Spa with lovely products, gr8 gardens, lots of stairs but is ok have golf carts!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Our very first stop in our honeymoon. As soon as we took a left from the main street, into the narrow alley leading to Kupu Kupu Barong, something was already changing. We walked into the open-air lobby with the breathtaking view to check-in, and were greeted very warmly by the staff, who invited us to relax with a few minutes on the nearby couch, overlooking the amazing pond with a majestic jungle backdrop. Once done with the smooth check-in, our buttler drove us by golf cart to our Ayung River Villa. A fascinating scenery from our terrace, which had an intimate overflowing private pool, chaise-longues, and an outdoor bed with a hut-like ceiling. The room has a big cozy colonial-style double bed, and although the whole setting dictates simplicity and primitivity, the room is well equipped with technology (A/C, LCD TV, DVD player, iPod docking station, minibar...etc). A mixture of glass and marbel constitue an amazing tub at the center of the bathroom area (which is an open space together with the rest of the room, but separable by curtains), with two sinks next to it, closets, a standing shower and a toilet. Overall a very comfortable villa, with 100%-glass facade that lets you see the majestic jungle from almost any point inside the villa. Buttlers were available all the time to cater to our needs, be it regular hotel requirements, driving us up and down by golf cart, anything, always with a very friendly smile and pampering attitude. We dined at the hotel's restaurants a couple of times, exquisite dishes, great service, quiet and romanitc outdoors. In addition, you can book private romantic dinners at the pond or a the bird nest (I think that's its name), unforgettable experience. We also had a massage at the Mango tree spa once, which turned out to be so relaxing and so purifying. I'd say everything was more than perfect in our three-night stay there, and most of the times things were better than we would expect, be it the level of service, the food or anything. The only disadvantage we had was staff coming to our villa to change towels past sunset, which was our siesta time, but that was minor, all else was fantastic. The ambiance/atmosphere from the moment we walked into the hotel was so relaxing and captivating that we completely lost any sense of time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OAM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a Club River View Villa (34) . The room was simply amazing and the view glorious . There is a butler appointed to look after you during your stay and we would just ring "6" and the buggy would be there waiting for us to take us to the lobby, Bar or restaurant . The food in their restaurant was outstanding. We met the young Belgium chef , who has worked at some of the top hotels and restaurants in Bali. The Chocolate Fantasy on the dessert menu was out of this world. I had wanted to stay at Kupu Kupu Barong for years and I was not disappointed. The Mango Tree spa was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigerbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Kupu Kupu Barong was the best hotel experience we had in Bali. It is beautiful and secluded. The rooms are luxurious and the outside deck with its small pool is pure bliss. The view over the Ayun River Canyon and the tropical rain forest is wonderful. It is set on a cliff so be prepared for a lot of climbing although the hotel has a butler service which is ready to assist with golf carts if the climb to reception porves too stenuous. It is definitely a place I want to go back to some day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teresatrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews