We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed 4 nights of our honeymoon at Kupu Kupu Barong. We booked a deluxe pool access room and mistakenly thought we booked a pool villa. They were at full occupancy but helped us upgrade one of the nights so we could stay in the treehouse villa as we envisioned (pictures included). The deluxe room was still more than nice and spacious - just a more traditional room.

The staff, specifically the butlers, were so gracious and helpful! The property is stunning and we enjoyed the daily breakfast view! We dined there for the Indonesian night and Indian night - the food and drinks were ok but service was excellent. It was nice to not be in the heart of the city but with the shuttle, a cheap taxi or a scooter for the adventurous, access it in a few minutes! We tried all 3.

We'd absolutely recommend the spot to other honeymooners!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CiaoDownBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KupuKupuResorts, Resort Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear CiaoDownBella,

Thank you for staying with us at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa by L’OCCITANE and thank you for your wonderful review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive service during your stay. Their commitment to take initiative with selfless sincerity and thoughtful courtesy has allowed them to fully recognize the needs of our guests.

Thank you for your nice review towards our service quality. We do try to please all palates and preferences. Furthermore, as you discovered, the resort is set inside green jungle, blessed with mesmerizing Ayung river valley view

Please do recommend us to family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to Ubud-Bali. If I may be of further assistance, please do contact me via kadek@kupubarong.com, my team and I remain at your service.

Kind regards,
Kadek & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

My stay at the Kupu Kupu Barong was indescribable. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were given amazing welcome drinks and leis (so cute!). It was pretty late at night and my friends and I were exhausted, so we just went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. I wasn't expecting much but WOW! The food at this hotel is some of the best, if not the best I had in all of Ubud. The breakfast was also fantastic, and the view from the restaurant is absolutely breathtaking! All you can see is beautiful green palms all around you.. so heavenly! The rooms were also great, we upgraded to have a two story room with an indoor jacuzzi. It was gorgeous and I think it's worth it to up it up a notch because it really enhanced our experience staying in this type of room! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KupuKupuResorts, Resort Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Leila A,

Thank you for staying with us at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa by L’OCCITANE and thank you for your wonderful review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive service during your stay. Their commitment to take initiative with selfless sincerity and thoughtful courtesy has allowed them to fully recognize the needs of our guests, we are very happy that you also enjoyed our food at our La View Restaurant.

Thank you for your nice review towards our service quality. We do try to please all palates and preferences. Furthermore, as you discovered, the resort is set inside green jungle, blessed with mesmerizing Ayung river valley view

Please do recommend us to family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to Ubud-Bali. If I may be of further assistance, please do contact me via kadek@kupubarong.com, my team and I remain at your service.

Kind regards,
Kadek & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Nice romantic getaway or serene retreat. The room and grounds were quite spectacular, as were the views from the villa. We felt like we were living in a village on the edge of a gorge, overlooking the Ayung river.

Breakfast was somewhat ordinary and was disappointing. We decided not to try the restaurant. There are plenty of restaurants in Ubud and the resort does provide a free shuttle every hour.

One of the reasons we booked this resort was because of the free late check out promotion to 4pm. However, when we checked in, we were advised that it was subject to availability and we had to check out at the standard 12pm. So consider this when making your plans.

Note that there is construction currently on the Ayung river, right below the resort. Quite a lot of noise during the day and it does obstruct views of the river. Staff advised us it was local government building a dam. Doesn't ruin the stay, but something to consider if you are booking in the near future.

Overall, enjoyed the stay, though nothing overwhelming to convince us not to try another resort next time in Ubud.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank weLEFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KupuKupuResorts, Resort Manager at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear weLEFT,

Thank you for staying with us at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa by L’OCCTIANE.

Your feedback is most encouraging and comes much appreciated. I am pleased that our associates took good care of you and delivered friendly, helpful, efficient and attentive service. Their commitment to take initiative with selfless sincerity and thoughtful courtesy has allowed them to fully recognize the needs of our guests. Concerning for day use time will not guarantee on the high season and subject to availability.

Please do recommend us to family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to Ubud, Bali. If I may be of further assistance, please do contact me via kadek@kupubarong.com, my team and I remain at your service.

Kind regards,
Kadek & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Our trip was not romantic at all as we were 3 friends just looking to have some down time and enjoy a beautiful view although this was possibly one of the most romantic places you could stay.
Our butlers were wonderful and were on hand for any need or requirement that we wanted. Our room was magical and had a great feel to it. We liked that we were in a quieter area but still had access to lots of things. We loved hearing the joy of the rafters coming down the river too. This would be a good sport to base yourself from if you wanted to do those types of activities like white water rafting, bike riding or treking as one it seemed many of the companies were based only a few hundred meters away.
We loved our time at Kupu Kupu Barong and we are definitely planning another stay there very soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different. Ours was a River Front Villa and it was spectacular!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KupuKupuResorts, Manajer Umum at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Alison G
Thank you for staying with us at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa by L’OCCITANE and thank you for your lovely review.

We're glad that you love your stay with us and enjoyed the activities. We're especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive service during your stay. Their commitment to take initiative with selfless sincerity and thoughtful courtesy has allowed them to fully recognize the needs of our guests.

Please do recommend us to family and friends as well and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to Ubud-Bali. If I may be of further assistance, please do contact me via kadek@kupubarong.com, my team and I remain at your service.

Kind regards,
Kadek & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Heavenly experience. The staff were excellent, kind, and helpful. My short stay exceeded all my expectations and I will definitely be back when I travel to Bali again. Made my 30th birthday one I will never forget. Thanks again for the surprise birthday cake.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Zetah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KupuKupuResorts, Manajer Umum at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Zetah Y,

Warmest greetings from Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa by L'Occitane!

Happy Belated Birthday!
Thank you for staying with us at Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa by L’OCCITANE and thank you for your lovely review.

I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us which even exceed your expectation. Your satisfaction towards our resort's hospitality is our pleasure.
Additionally I am especially happy to hear that our associates delivered friendly, helpful and attentive service during your stay. Their commitment to take initiative with selfless sincerity and thoughtful courtesy has allowed them to fully recognize the needs of our guests.

Please do recommend us to family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever you plan your next visit to Ubud-Bali. If I may be of further assistance, please do contact me via kadek@kupubarong.com, my team and I remain at your service.

Kind regards,
Kadek & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
3.9 km away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,039 reviews
4.2 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.9 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.9 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
2,094 reviews
4.0 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Spa Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range: ₹ 9,305 - ₹ 17,504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Kedewatan, Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa's inviting ambiance and unparalleled service provides the ideal home away from home for travelers. The resort, enclosed by three hectares of lush tropical gardens overlooking the spectacular Ayung River valley and the rice paddies, invites for an amazing true Balinese experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Prestigia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa Bali, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing