We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Ubud experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My girlfriend and I came to Ubud to enjoy the great hospitality, relaxed vibe and beautiful surroundings it's so renowned for. We found it all during our three nights at the Kupu Kupu Barong!

The hotel offers all of the services one may expect of a hotel of this class but in such a way that you instantly feel at home. A 'butler' is assigned to each room/cottage for anything you may require or want to ask or arrange. The surroundings of the hotel are maginificent, especially the views from the restaurant and the 'bird nest' make you wish you could stay around a whole lot longer! The staff is extremely attentive and the 'golfcart' service is really useful if you dont feel like walking the potentially many steps to or from your room (even though it's like walking through an old jungle temple with great views - really cool!).

Things that could be better: the breakfast is a la carte. The quality is really good but it has to be your thing. All extra services offered by the hotel (e.g. tours, dinner, taxi's outside regular shutlle service) are charged in USD and very much on the steep side compared to when one arranges it in Ubud.

Things that were exceptionally good: the rooms were beautiful and fitted with the latest audio/tv equipemnt, the premises and views are amazing, the location is 10 mins by car outside of Ubud which gives it a really 'zen' feel but isnt too far away but best was the service: impeccable and extremely kind.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evert-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 833 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

I was shocked when I saw the lobby faceing the valley. I was reservde the Ayung river view villa. Every morning I could sit in the balcony or walked in the valley, hearing the sound of the water running, looking at the beautiful scenery. I was enjoyed it very much. The sevice of villa was also very comfortable

Room Tip: all room is good thanks hehe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisnahtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We lived in a Ayung river pool villa and it was outstanding. Really quiet and private, nicely furnished, good stereo equipment. From the very first moment in this hotel we were surounded by attentive staff. They have a great ability to be there when you need them and to be invisible when you want privacy. They always ask what you are going to do today , but dont be annoyed by it, it has a purpose:this way they know where you are going to be at any given moment and thus helps you to avoid any troubles. For example, if your pick up to some tour is late, they call the company and ask about the situation so you wouldnt have to move a finger. They try to clean your villa twice a day and make sure you have enough drinking water suplies. But when you hang a privacy note it's really like you are alone in a jungle. At night there are a lot of jungle voices but we loved it. Though if you're not a nature fan, choose another hotel that offers rooms and not private villas. The only thing that really should have been better is food. I do not recommend eating there cause it's really overpriced and not so deliciuos. The same can be said about mango tree spa. It's not really worth it cause prices in comparison with ubud spa's is 10 times higher (I'm not joking). The best spa in Ubud is "Bali Botanica". Try it!!! If You want to book a tour do it in the city, it's going to cost half the price that hotel is offering, same goes to hiring a car for long distances. Overall a really great experience in Kupu kupu barong(which means big buterfly:) I cannot imagine anything better in Ubud. Just magical!

Room Tip: The Ayung river pool villas. Especially the ones that are far downhill. Very private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AisteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at kupu kupu in October and it exceeded our expectations. The staff are incredibly friendly and super helpful. The food was amazing and the setting beautiful. Nothing was too much for the staff and we never felt like we were asking too much. The location is just far enough out of town to be quite, yet central Ubud is only 5mins by car. We'll definitely be back hopefully sooner rather than later. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so relaxing and special.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is just outside Ubud which is perfect if you want to get away from it all but still have the ability to go into Ubud for dinner etc.

We stayed in 'Village Duplex' room which was huge with all the facilities we needed, very big bathroom.

The staff were really friendly. Our one complaint was the food was never hot enough (temperature) and was not as good as we got in town...this was a good thing as it meant we got out and about more than we might otherwise have done.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
3.9 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 196 in Ubud
1,316 reviews
3.9 km away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 196 in Ubud
1,059 reviews
4 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.2 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.2 km away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kedewatan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range: ₹ 8,679 - ₹ 15,507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Kedewatan, Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa's inviting ambiance and unparalleled service provides the ideal home away from home for travelers. The resort, enclosed by three hectares of lush tropical gardens overlooking the spectacular Ayung River valley and the rice paddies, invites for an amazing true Balinese experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa Bali, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing