We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 Star Standard!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We have just returned from our honeymoon spending 9 nights at the Conrad Bali in Nusa Dua, 4 nights at Kupa Kupa Barong, Ubud, and ending our trip in KL Malaysia before flying back to Dublin, Ireland.
.
We had booked a deluxe pool villa in Kupa Kupa Barong. Our reception on arrival was v impressive, however, once we got to our room, we realised that our "pool villa" was in fact a plunge pool!!. Conseqently, we decided to laze by the main pool when we realised that there was construction work going on adjacent to it. We had not been informed about this. Also the grass around the pool was overgrown and the pool was filthy. We complained and eventually were moved to another villa with a private pool the following day. This was the same type of room as what we had originally paid. If we wanted an upgrade we had to pay 50 USD each per night! The pool attached to our villa was also filthy and was never cleaned during our stay.

As the breakfast was v dissapointing we decided not to eat dinner there. Every morning and afternoon you were constantly being asked "what your programme is for the day"!

Ubud centre is about 4km and the free shuttle from the hotel ends at 5.20pm.

Be sure to go river rafting and use Suri Profit. They are located beside the hotel and are cheaper than the hotel's rate. They will also collect you. It is great fun and well worth it.

Kupa Kupa Barong is situated in a beautiful part of the world however that and only that is what you pay for. From our experience in travelling the world and staying in luxorius hotels, it definately does not offer the level of management, food or cleanliness expected of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mayo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 867 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have just ended my delightful two day stay at the beautiful Kupu Kupu Barong Spa. All in all this is a fantastic hideaway resort where you can relax and enjoy the peaceful jungle environment.

Pros: sensational bathroom (and bigger that the bedroom)
Amazing views of the jungle and river
Peaceful and tranquil
Fantastic staff
Amazing pool (hidden away!)

Cons: 20 mins from ubud town centre (but free shuttle service)
Last shuttle service pickup from ubud at 5:20pm therefore arrange own taxis after this time
Hotel food was average. Expected better
Wifi was intermittent and required constant relogging in
Pool bar didn't seem to have bar staff

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We took the 2D/2D at Kupu-kupu Jimbaran and Barong Ubud package. Having read up the various reviews on Trip Advisor, we were quite attuned with the expectations (plus and minuses).
Having experienced the two hotels ourselves, we were very satisfied with
1. The service and hospitality of the staff. They will try to accomodate most of our requests, and is very responsive.
2. The facilities at our Villa. Great privacy too. Our villa overlooked the hills and Ayung river, and just so beautiful. Coupled with the near-full moon day of the month, the view at night was so romantic.
3. The food. At both hotels, the quality and quantity of food exceeded our expectations.
4. The cooking class and the village walk - very fun, good learning and bonding experience for us couple.
5. The way the Ubud hotel co-existed with the environment. The villas seem 'sculpted' around the natural terrain, without glaringly disturbing the landscape. Amazing construction.

If there's any significant drawback on our experience there, it is:
1. The 'unofficial' commission charged by the hotel for transport is a bit too high. The chartered van marked up at least 30-50%, compared to what we would be paying if we were to approach the van drivers directly. We have no complaints about the drivers themselves: they drove safely, were polite and warm, and we genuinely felt taken care-off when visiting the tourist spots. Hence - other guests: please take note of the quoted price and negotiate accordingly.
2. We were recommended The Cavier Cafe for a sea-side dinner at Kedonganan (15mins ride away from Kupu-kupu Jimbaran), and the restaurant would provide return pick-up transport from the hotel. The meal (just basic package, without any add-ons) cost nearly USD100 for a couple's dinner (which I didn't mind paying, since we're on a honeymoon anyway) - and was subsequently let-down by the quality of food (expecially the freshness of the prawn, shell-fish and fish, and the quantity). I could get a very posh dinner for that price back in Malaysia, with equivalent ambience, and better facilities and facilities.
I would caution other guests, and recommend that they walk around Jimbaran's seafood stretch for a better deal.

All in, Kupu Kupu has delivered on their promises, as depicted in their official website. Please keep it up!

Room Tip: The Ayung River Villa we stayed in was just wonderful - roomy and spacious, loaded with facilities s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eu Chieh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Well 25 years later a revisit to our favourite destination in Ubud – Kupa Kupa Barong named after a large butterfly - a grand old lady by Bali standards originally conceived by an Australian architect for an Australian client with a design brief ‘make it blend into the landscape’ and this property does this so well even today – Go to the website the pictures do not lie, some of the best valley views in Bali over the Agung river looking over virgin bush left untouched by negotiations with the local land owners who have been paid by the hotel owners in the area to leave it as is .
The villas are currently owned by French investors who have introduced L' Occitane Spa which met the pampering standards required by my better half.
The original restaurant has been extended with a second lower level seating area both spaces interact well and encompass those breath taking views – Breakfast was delivered by an old friend Ibu Sritami one of the longest serving staff members still graceful as ever always concerned that your meal is perfect always charming remembering your name and special needs on your repeat visit.
We had a chance to stay in two villas – Villa 21 a double story villa with a circular staircase sadly this one needs updating – vintage TV old tiles in the bathroom and the split section is a little inconvient
The plunge pool and outdoor area works the views are restricted from both levels
We moved the following day to Villa 1 – nicknamed the “Bill Cosby villa’ as it was home to the star on his visit to Bali – The huge canopy bed is at the view end of the suite which is impressively large with an open bathroom at one end featuring a circular freestanding bath and a beautifully rustic vanity and twin basins with large wall mounted mirror that reflects the view and increases the visual space of the room - you also have a large shower and private WC.
This room has been upgraded with Plazma TV mini bar furniture twin air conditioners on either side of the bed – the outdoor area is large and has a Bali bale thatched roof pergola with lounger cushions built for two – the view is outstanding the Villa is located near the Spa and the reception also the restaurant very quite I assume Villa 2 was similar and Villa 3 had a huge kidney spaced pool in a large garden area
I asked our Butler what was considered the best Villas and in typical Kupa fashion he arranged to show them to us – Villa 34 and Villa 36 located down the bottom a short Golf Buggy ride to the front of the complex touch distance from the river and with fantastic corner window views – You have to book the Agung club suites to get to these The Director Sales and Marketing is a Gorgeous young lady softly spoken elegant and very good at her job I assumed from are conversation that she had been with Kupa Kupa Barong from the Start but she still looks very young Ibu Darmiyati
There lots of flash properties in Ubud these days many well known brands - But I do not think you will find a better package than this-In particular the outstanding staff from the village of Sayan the best views and a resort that is intimate enough to get to know you and deliver world’s best practice service - We highly recommend this place and cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Best Rooms Villa 34 and 36 Villa 1/2/3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Visited on May, 2012 - excellent experience, including hospitable services and people!

Room Tip: Choose with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
3.9 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 196 in Ubud
1,316 reviews
3.9 km away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 196 in Ubud
1,059 reviews
4 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.2 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.2 km away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kedewatan
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range: ₹ 8,679 - ₹ 15,507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Kedewatan, Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa's inviting ambiance and unparalleled service provides the ideal home away from home for travelers. The resort, enclosed by three hectares of lush tropical gardens overlooking the spectacular Ayung River valley and the rice paddies, invites for an amazing true Balinese experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa Bali, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing