We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveller rating
1,286
308
90
60
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,286
308
90
60
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ayung river pool villa birds nest duplex villa our honeymoon river front private pool butler service la view restaurant personal butler romantic dinner mango golf cart every hour spent nights white water rafting afternoon tea amazing place
Filter
Updating list...
992 - 997 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have just ended my delightful two day stay at the beautiful Kupu Kupu Barong Spa. All in all this is a fantastic hideaway resort where you can relax and enjoy the peaceful jungle environment.

Pros: sensational bathroom (and bigger that the bedroom)
Amazing views of the jungle and river
Peaceful and tranquil
Fantastic staff
Amazing pool (hidden away!)

Cons: 20 mins from ubud town centre (but free shuttle service)
Last shuttle service pickup from ubud at 5:20pm therefore arrange own taxis after this time
Hotel food was average. Expected better
Wifi was intermittent and required constant relogging in
Pool bar didn't seem to have bar staff

Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We took the 2D/2D at Kupu-kupu Jimbaran and Barong Ubud package. Having read up the various reviews on Trip Advisor, we were quite attuned with the expectations (plus and minuses).
Having experienced the two hotels ourselves, we were very satisfied with
1. The service and hospitality of the staff. They will try to accomodate most of our requests, and is very responsive.
2. The facilities at our Villa. Great privacy too. Our villa overlooked the hills and Ayung river, and just so beautiful. Coupled with the near-full moon day of the month, the view at night was so romantic.
3. The food. At both hotels, the quality and quantity of food exceeded our expectations.
4. The cooking class and the village walk - very fun, good learning and bonding experience for us couple.
5. The way the Ubud hotel co-existed with the environment. The villas seem 'sculpted' around the natural terrain, without glaringly disturbing the landscape. Amazing construction.

If there's any significant drawback on our experience there, it is:
1. The 'unofficial' commission charged by the hotel for transport is a bit too high. The chartered van marked up at least 30-50%, compared to what we would be paying if we were to approach the van drivers directly. We have no complaints about the drivers themselves: they drove safely, were polite and warm, and we genuinely felt taken care-off when visiting the tourist spots. Hence - other guests: please take note of the quoted price and negotiate accordingly.
2. We were recommended The Cavier Cafe for a sea-side dinner at Kedonganan (15mins ride away from Kupu-kupu Jimbaran), and the restaurant would provide return pick-up transport from the hotel. The meal (just basic package, without any add-ons) cost nearly USD100 for a couple's dinner (which I didn't mind paying, since we're on a honeymoon anyway) - and was subsequently let-down by the quality of food (expecially the freshness of the prawn, shell-fish and fish, and the quantity). I could get a very posh dinner for that price back in Malaysia, with equivalent ambience, and better facilities and facilities.
I would caution other guests, and recommend that they walk around Jimbaran's seafood stretch for a better deal.

All in, Kupu Kupu has delivered on their promises, as depicted in their official website. Please keep it up!

Room Tip: The Ayung River Villa we stayed in was just wonderful - roomy and spacious, loaded with facilities suitable for a couple on honeymoon.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eu Chieh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Well 25 years later a revisit to our favourite destination in Ubud – Kupa Kupa Barong named after a large butterfly - a grand old lady by Bali standards originally conceived by an Australian architect for an Australian client with a design brief ‘make it blend into the landscape’ and this property does this so well even today – Go to the website the pictures do not lie, some of the best valley views in Bali over the Agung river looking over virgin bush left untouched by negotiations with the local land owners who have been paid by the hotel owners in the area to leave it as is .
The villas are currently owned by French investors who have introduced L' Occitane Spa which met the pampering standards required by my better half.
The original restaurant has been extended with a second lower level seating area both spaces interact well and encompass those breath taking views – Breakfast was delivered by an old friend Ibu Sritami one of the longest serving staff members still graceful as ever always concerned that your meal is perfect always charming remembering your name and special needs on your repeat visit.
We had a chance to stay in two villas – Villa 21 a double story villa with a circular staircase sadly this one needs updating – vintage TV old tiles in the bathroom and the split section is a little inconvient
The plunge pool and outdoor area works the views are restricted from both levels
We moved the following day to Villa 1 – nicknamed the “Bill Cosby villa’ as it was home to the star on his visit to Bali – The huge canopy bed is at the view end of the suite which is impressively large with an open bathroom at one end featuring a circular freestanding bath and a beautifully rustic vanity and twin basins with large wall mounted mirror that reflects the view and increases the visual space of the room - you also have a large shower and private WC.
This room has been upgraded with Plazma TV mini bar furniture twin air conditioners on either side of the bed – the outdoor area is large and has a Bali bale thatched roof pergola with lounger cushions built for two – the view is outstanding the Villa is located near the Spa and the reception also the restaurant very quite I assume Villa 2 was similar and Villa 3 had a huge kidney spaced pool in a large garden area
I asked our Butler what was considered the best Villas and in typical Kupa fashion he arranged to show them to us – Villa 34 and Villa 36 located down the bottom a short Golf Buggy ride to the front of the complex touch distance from the river and with fantastic corner window views – You have to book the Agung club suites to get to these The Director Sales and Marketing is a Gorgeous young lady softly spoken elegant and very good at her job I assumed from are conversation that she had been with Kupa Kupa Barong from the Start but she still looks very young Ibu Darmiyati
There lots of flash properties in Ubud these days many well known brands - But I do not think you will find a better package than this-In particular the outstanding staff from the village of Sayan the best views and a resort that is intimate enough to get to know you and deliver world’s best practice service - We highly recommend this place and cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Best Rooms Villa 34 and 36 Villa 1/2/3
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Visited on May, 2012 - excellent experience, including hospitable services and people!

Room Tip: Choose with a pool
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

visited February 2012 on a honeymoon. we had room 28 which was amazing. Unfortunately we had a tick tack animal in the room (looks like a small lizard). it was great that the hotel changed our room to villa 26 which was safe from tick tack. it is a very different experience in the jungle.

Room Tip: choose villa 26
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews