We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second time here & loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kedewatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was our second stay at the Kupu Kupa Barong Villas and loved it just as much as the first time. As it was our return visit they made us feel even more extra special. They had a cake baked for us and brought to our villa personally by our butler along with plates, cutlery & linen serviettes all set up on our coffee table.

The lovely thing about this resort is that every villa is different & unique and have a warm, welcoming feel but also elegant and all magnificent views over the valley & down to the river. So each time you come its exciting because you get to see a different villa & it doesn't become boring.

The bedding, linen & pillows are extremely comfortable. The service is fantastic and the high tea each afternoon at the resort bar is lovely. We loved the breakfasts (the best pancakes I have had for a long while) all with stunning views over the valley.

We ate at the restaurant a couple of times, again with wonderful service with a feel of 5 star dining. The only problem we found was the food was a little too westernised for our liking but it was still nice and not too overly expensive for such a classy resort.

We joined into the a free morning yoga session which was great.

We will most certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingwellAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 877 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

After spending 5 days in Kuta area we headed to Kapu Kapu Ubud, we where treated like King and Queen the whole time of our stay, we saw great scenery, had a great time rafting and met some very nice locals like Made Prog our guide who took us to some fantastic places,
You must experience this place at least once, it is great,
Kim & Julie
Perth
Western Australia

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuzzyPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was great! The villas are located on a bit of a slope but not to worry as they have buggies to transport you around the resort when required. With free shuttle service to Ubud, you get to enjoy everything Ubud has to offer whilst still able to get away to a place where there are no roosters, no sounds of motorbikes and only the relaxing sound of the river whilst having amazing panoramic views of the jungle and river. The restaurant is more pricey than restaurants in Ubud but it's worth a try. I had the steak and it was cooked to perfection. There is lots of staff everywhere to help you and they go well out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay.

Room Tip: Definately have to get a room with a Dip Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j3lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

In Kupu Kupu Barong Villy & Tree Spa we spand 4 days.Every day we enjoy our staing there.First of all I prepare to tell about marvelous view that we have out of our window.To sum up I supouce this hotel is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vira16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

was there with my wife for 4 nights and i must say it was one of our most relaxing holiday. The food at the restaurant was great, the service staff excellent, the room was amazing with the huge bath tub by the class window. the whole resort has this wonderful ambience which relaxes your senses. though wonderful, there are a few areas which we felt the resort can do better:
1. the pool water was too cold. would be great if it was heated by a few more degrees
2. the privacy of the villas can be better by planting some plants to cover the areas which can be seen by guest and service staff outside the villa
3. the tv in the villa is too high up. had a sore neck after watching a movie

but overall it was a wonderful stay. highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTSheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kedewatan
3.9 km away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#40 of 199 in Ubud
1,026 reviews
4.2 km away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.9 km away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.9 km away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#42 of 199 in Ubud
2,046 reviews
4.0 km away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Kedewatan, P.O. Box 7, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Kedewatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kedewatan
#3 Spa Hotel in Kedewatan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kedewatan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kedewatan
Price Range: ₹ 9,055 - ₹ 18,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Kedewatan, Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Spa's inviting ambiance and unparalleled service provides the ideal home away from home for travelers. The resort, enclosed by three hectares of lush tropical gardens overlooking the spectacular Ayung River valley and the rice paddies, invites for an amazing true Balinese experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas & Tree Hotel Ubud
Kupu Barong Hotel Tree
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas And Tree Spa Bali, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing