We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mulranny, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LizRehm
1 review
“Great holiday”
Reviewed 30 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Acorn cottage is a comfy, warm house. Lots of space. Big bedrooms and a well equipped kitchen and utility room. Fantastic views of clew bay.... even in the rain!! 5 minutes to Dohertys pub for lovely pints of Guinness and Mc Loughlins for great food and views. We will be back. Ps : thanks Karen for the gorgeous homemade brown bread- we all want the recipe!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2019
We are very pleased you enjoyed your trip to Mulranny.
Thank you for your very positive review and look forward to seeing you again
Patrick and Violer Shortt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matrudman...
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 14 August 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Lovely place to stay. I came with my dad and my 3 boys. The boys first time in Ireland. Karen the caretaker met us on arrival and kindly put us some bread and milk as well as some chocolate for the boys... little things make a big difference. Great views and good location.
Place was clean and perfect for 5 of us. Highly recommended

Date of stay: August 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2019
Thank you for choosing Acorn Cottage, and we're very please you liked the house, and the homemade brown bread too. We'd like to see you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricky H
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Mulranny is a lovely village with fabulous views over Clew Bay. The cottage is fine but you need the heating on when indoors otherwise it gets very cold and can be expensive as you pay extra for heating and electric. TV also wouldn't work and although there was a contact number for help unless you have a network that works in Eire it won't do you much good.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at Acorn Cottage. We'd love to have you back again in the future.

Just regarding your comments, there is an efficient oil-fired central heating system in the house which is thermostatically controlled. Given it was late Decemeber, we were expecting that the weather would be cold for you, so we preheated the house for two days before you came.
A new TV with satellite channels and also Saorview (Irish TV stations) was installed in the house in 2017. The aerial must have been disturbed by the stormy weather.

Patrick Shortt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highhopes...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Comfortable stay with plenty to do and see nearby”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a very pleasant stay at Acorn Cottage. The house is very clean and has good facilities. The kitchen is large and has everything you need for cooking, washing etc. We have a toddler and found the house very child friendly with a high chair and full wooden cot. The house also has lovely views of clew bay and croagh patrick mountain.

The house is located at the edge of Mulranny village. It is a comfortable stroll to the Mulranny Park hotel which has lovely food in the bar and a great leisure centre. There are also a few pubs and small grocery shops in the village and quaint shop that sells rare books!

The house also runs very close to the greenway and we used it to cycle to Newport and Westport with our child on the back of the bike.

Overall we had a great stay would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Thank you for your kind review. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards,
Patrick Shortt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.