We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superlative seaside hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property
plenty parking right at the door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
plenty parking right at the door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
plenty parking right at the door
a 4 star VisitScotland property
a warm welcome awaits
a large comfy corner sofa
be sure to read previous guests comments and leave your own tips for future guests too
all fuel supplied, perfect for a cosy winter break
light airy hallway, with lounge, main bathroom and master bedroom
quality DENBY tableware
great welcome hamper so you needn't worry about food for your first night and breakfast the next day
great welcome hamper included, tailored to every guest
fully fitted dining kitchen with quality kitchenware by DENBY and your very own NESSPRESSO machine
fncy a coffee?
your very own NESPRESSO machine with a great variety to choose from
family bathroom with separate shower, separate bath, underfloor heating
DUCK ISLAND toiletries throughout
waterfall head and flexible hose in shower
super-king master bedroom with feature stone wall, Egyptian cotton sheets
super comfy super king sized, with Egyptian cotton bedding
ensuite with large walk in shower
oak finishing's throughout
upstairs hallway
snug with sofa bed
full sized single beds x 2
relax in our lovely 6 seat, 1 lounger hot tub
picnic table or bench depending on what your doing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Portknockie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frimz1973
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superlative seaside hideaway”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

No review on earth could do this wonderful holiday home justice. Seriously. We have stayed in so many different places around the UK, from a hundred pound hovel in Yarmouth to an executive apartment in Edinburgh, but Failte sets a new barre to which all holiday lettings should strive to follow.

We booked almost a year ago for our family of four - mum and dad and kids aged 8 and 11 - and set about saving for two precious weeks by the sea.
After a complicated two day journey (don't ask) we felt instantly at home from the moment the key went in the lock. No weird, musty holiday house smell or a measly portion of instant coffee here. Instead, this Tardis of a lovingly restored home brought fabulous surprises galore. Fresh flowers; a welcome hamper of epic proportions, stuffed with local delicacies; a nespresso machine with all the pods you could shake a stick at; chocolates on the pillows and fluffy robes to relax in.
A super kingsize bed in a bedroom twice the size of ours at home downstairs and a kingsize and twin upstairs. The mattresses and pillows were dreamy, something that is sometimes lacking in other places we have stayed.
Fixtures and fittings are all of the highest quality. Heck, even the solid wood doors were a wonder to behold. It was too warm to light the woodburner, but if we had needed to there was enough wood on the woodpile to keep a small power station going for a good couple of weeks.
Not so much as a speck of dust or a smear on the shower screen, cleanliness was second to none.
On the days when we did manage to drag ourselves out of bed and into the open air, we discovered a few things that we think everyone should do when staying at Failte.
1 Go on a 58 North Sea Adventure at Findhorn. We went on a two hour boat safari (not for the faint hearted) and were lucky enough to sail alongside a pod of dolphins
2 Brave the cliff walk from Portknockie to Cullen, discovering rockpools, hidden coves and beautiful, empty beaches
3 Take the picturesque Keith and Dufftown Railway, The Whisky Line, our son fulfilled a lifelong ambition to drive a train!
4 Drive to Portsoy for the ice cream parlour
5 Buy fish and chips from Portknockie chippy at least once. You have never tasted fish so beautifully cooked, with chips to die for and deep fried macaroni cheese. Food from the gods. Honestly.

Last, but by no means least, a special mention to our hosts - Wullie and Alison . They really have created something special at Failte and are such thoughtful, caring people. We hope your business goes from strength to strength. Thank you. We hope to be back some day.
Lang may yer lum reek.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
thank you for your lovely comments, we're chuffed you had a great 2 weeks at Fàilte and enjoyed a lot of the great things to see and do in the local area, be great to see you all again sometime too
haste yi back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W
1 review
“An amazing week!”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

There aren't enough superlatives in the English language to describe Fàilte! From the moment of booking til the moment we left Wullie,Alison & family were brilliant,nothing is too much trouble. The house is kitted out to the highest standard, the welcome pack just wow! the photos don't do the house justice! We had an amazingly comfortable & enjoyable holiday made all the better with the hot-tub! This was our 5th trip to Portnockie and was definitely the best! 5 stars not enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments Karen, so glad you all enjoyed staying at Failte and hope to see you again sometime soon,
best regards,
Wullie & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
em_l_will...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as a luxury hotel experience with the bonus of feeling more homely & practically set up for a young family!”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This trip to Portknockie was our second family trip to the area. Our first was in 2014 when we welcomed our little girl into our lives. This trip was to mark our sons arrival as we liked the idea that both our kids would have the same first staycation.

Travelling and holidaying with a 3 year old and a 6 month old was never going to be easy, however we all felt instantly at ease as soon as we opened the door to Failte. Allison and Wullie have thought about everything from the welcome pack that included all the usual essentials and a whole lot more (biscuits, tea, crisps, bread, chocolate, jam, butteries (a personal fave!), rolls) Not to mention a nicely stocked fridge (Coke, bacon, pizza, cheese and butter) as well as a plentifully stocked fruit bowl. We knew we were on to a winner!

Failte smelled amazingly inviting as well as looking the part too!

On paper I was sold on this particular cottage due to the promise of a BBQ and a hot tub. Simple pleasures. My plan was that we would enjoy a couple of family BBQs in the glorious sunshine (it wasn't as abundant as it could have been but it was still there!) and that once our kids were in bed we could relax and unwind in the hot tub which was sheer bliss. One evening our son woke up just minutes after delving in, but only once!

There is nothing which appears to be 'missing' from the cottage. In fact there were an abundance of things which went above and beyond any expectations we had. It really was like a home away from home and I thoroughly enjoyed all the little touches of luxury Failte offered e.g. Netflix and Napster as well as luxury toiletires and the Nespresso machine for a much needed caffeine hit.

As for what we enjoyed doing during our stay. We enjoyed lots of fresh sea air with visits to Spey Bay (sadly no dolphin spotting during our visit), Sandend beach, a hike over to Bow Fiddle, we walked the old railway line between Portknockie and Cullen, we visitied Buckie and we also enjoyed lots of beautiful food. The stand out fayre being fish obviously which was thoroughly enjoyed from the local chippy and Rockpool in Cullen. A visit to Portsoy Ice Cream was also a must as was some Cullen Skink on one of the more dreich days!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
thank you for your lovely comments, we're so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Portknockie and had a great time discovering the little extras inside Fàilte
sure future guests will appreciate your tips to try around our local area too
haste yi back
Wullie & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeeves194...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning, relaxing home from home”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Owners very friendly and extremely helpful. Fabulous welcome pack on arrival. House perfect, full equipped with everything you need. High quality furnishings through out. Plenty to do rain or shine. Hot tub was great to relax in after a day of walking. House situated in an ideal occasion. Definitely should be rated 5 stars.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it's great when folks enjoy Failte and our local area as much as you all did and makes the hard work worth it, thanks again, Wullie & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Carluke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This little cottage has recently been totally refurbished. The standard of workmanship and finish are amongst the highest I have seen. Technology features througout the cottage with control of sound, vision and more by wifi or remote control. The cottage is provided with all you need and all you might wish for in the kitchen, whilst copious towels and a fluffy robe for every bedspace make the outdoor hot tub a must! I can't even begin to list the items that the owners have provided but suffice to say you should find that all you need to take is yourself and the family. A great cottage with very friendly owners.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for such a lovely review.
Fàilte is increasing in popularity all the time and guests like yourselves make all our hard work so very worth it.
We are chuffed that you found the cottage had everything you needed plus more & we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Wullie & Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing