We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very peaceful enjoyable holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Salen Cottage

Salen Bay .The arrow is Salen Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salen Bay .The arrow is Salen Cottage
The cottage from just outside Salen hotel the bay is just 1 minute from here Salen Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Salen Bay .The arrow is Salen Cottage
The cottage from just outside Salen hotel the bay is just 1 minute from here
Salen Bay
Salen Jetty
View from front of cottage Tide out at this point
Through the house
View from bedroom
Another view of the bay
Through the front door
Bedroom
Really cosy lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen Dining Room
Salen Cottage was built in1853 and was the old police station and the room on the left was the jail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ardnamurchan Peninsula, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
arthur101...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very peaceful enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely holiday at Salen Cottage, it gave us much more than we had imagined. It's light, spacious, well furnished and very cosy, and we certainly intend to return one day. The location in Salen is perfect for holidaying in Ardnarmuchan. From Salen you can go north, east and west and there are beautiful walks and places to see in all these directions. We ate at the hotel a few yards away, the food there is superb if you don't feel like cooking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Hi Arthur
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
Hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,
Graham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with breathtaking views !! Perfect Easter break 🐣”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic cottage with beautiful views of salen bay , the cottage was well equipped with everything we needed .
Even had Easter eggs left for us !
Graham was very helpful throughout from booking to knowledge of the area , even took the time to pop past and introduce himself and make sure we was happy .
It's in a very good location as you can visit many beautiful places ....
We would definitely recommend this cottage and area just wish we had longer to stay.
Thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Hi Sandra.
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Salen Cottage and hope to see you again soon.
Thank you very much for your lovely review,
Regards,
Graham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneHer...
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Riddled with damp & black mould!”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
5
people found this review helpful

The cottage is in a beautiful location and is spacious but that's where the good news ends. We arrived to find damp staining all over the walls and ceiling of the kitchen and living room and the bedroom was so damp that a dehumidifier had been left running by the owner .. the bedroom also stank of damp and mildew. The clothes cupboard in the bedroom had black mould growing on the wall. Mould was also present on many of the window frames, the inside front door frame and all round the bath. This cottage could be lovely but it is a health hazard in its current state. It needs a proper damp proof course and the roof has obviously previously leaked. The bathroom needs to be completely renewed and the whole place decorated throughout. the area is lovely but you would not want to stay in this cottage. We were glad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
We were deeply shocked and disappointed at this review left on Trip advisor especially as the visit concerned involved a four day stay and not one word r.e " The health hazard"
There was a problem two weeks ago with water penetration on gable end bedroom wall and a new drain has now been installed hence the dehumidifier in bedroom.
The cottage has been occupied since the. problem was addressed and arrangements are in place for paiintes to redecorate.
We noticed the slight damp staining on kitchen ceiling and had a slater inspect it. He is coming week commencing Feb 20th to rectify problem.
A new white bathroom suite was installed 3 was ago.
We are very proud of our lovely cottage and as you can see from previous reviews this is the only negative one we have had.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueBear6...
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stays here for six days in August, the cottage is in a beautiful position in the village with excellent views over the bay and a thirty second walk to the Local hotel for food and drink.
The cottage has good sized rooms with an excellent bed and lovely kitchen, there is a large wood burner and electric central heating but we did not need to use them.

I would absolutely recommend this cottage, it is a great base for exploring around the area while being hand for food and drink in the hotel and supplies at the jetty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna D
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely cottage and surroundings!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Cosy but spacious cottage with great views out to loch sunart. Enjoyed the log fire after long walks in the wind and rain! Stayed 4 nights over new year with my partner and dog we had a super time. Such a beautiful part of Scotland we walked around sanna bay, ardnamurchan lighthouse, loch shiel and glenfinnan.
Thanks Graham C.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing