We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
10
12
1
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
12
1
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongariro crossing hot pools thermal spa gail units stopover
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2015

This is an older style motel. Has everything you need for a long or short stay. We stay here for about three nights every winter, just to relax and enjoy unlimited use of the private thermal pools. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. If you need access to shops, Turangi is only a short drive away. The cooking facilities in the units are perfectly adequate, and all the basic kitchen equipment is provided. The motel is also reasonably close to the Whakapapa ski fields and the Tongariro crossing. After a hard day's work in the cold, it's lovely to come back to the motel and warm up in the pools.
We have always found the rooms clean and warm, and owners are always happy to help if needed.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jokebrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

Very low standard. Needs cleaning. Un serviced rooms for a long term stay. Very substandard accommodation. I wouldnt stay here again. Local backpackers are better. Needed to rewash all utensils before using them. The drawers were dirty. Cant change an empty toilet roll because of the gaurd thingy. Shower is one of the worst if had. More outside the shower than in it and on me. Its a cold hole. No tv availability in the bedroom. No shelves. Doesnt even have a smoke alarm.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank shockingplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

A dirty, shabby room with cobwebs above the beds and more rules than a boarding school. Dead bugs/weta are everywhere that have been left uncleaned for some time. Stay away from this motel! Dont waste your time!

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2014

We love this place and come as often as we can. We've stayed here several times over the last few years and have always found the units clean and comfortable. Of course the thermal pools right outside your door are a major plus point, but the location is so lovely and peaceful and the balconies outside each unit are just great to sit on in the afternoon sun. The gardens are well cared for, the units are well equipped with heat pumps and convection ovens and there are thoughtful touches like a toast rack, which you'd never think you'd need but when you do it's great that there is one! Prices are appropriate and affordable, the owners, Mike and Gail, are friendly and approachable. We have read the previous reviews for this place and I think the cleaners have now changed and so past comments about cleanliness would seem no longer valid these days.

Room Tip: The mossies also like this place but they're not super insistent and if you come prepared with repellents, they leave you well alone.
Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TaumarunuiHoliPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 for 2 days it was meant to be for four days, The pool area needs more attention to it as it is covered in spiders and cobwebs, We were also charged for the usage of the pool. The dinner table in the unit was covered in white fluff like stuff and had been covered over with a stained table cloth, the chairs don't match either they were conference chairs. The television is very out dated some channels were louder then others.The owner Gail was very nice but told us her illness history which kind of put us off. The one good thing about this place is the cleaning staff were very helpful and knew where the best place to eat was, one of the young ladies booked us into a restaurant a few minutes down the road and the food was excellent. If it wasn't for them i think we would have only stayed one night.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the entrance its more quieter and there is more sun on the back deck.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank demoticom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews