We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Willow Holt

200 year old cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
200 year old cottage
Spend some time with your family, not shut away in the kitchen! Comfortable downstairs area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
200 year old cottage
Spend some time with your family, not shut away in the kitchen!
Comfortable downstairs area
The comfy lounge area
Unwind after a busy day in the forest
Comfy king-size bed
Twin bedroom
Shared garden, viewed from the back of the property
Why not visit in winter?
Catch some sun at the front of the property
View of the garden from the landing
Welcome to Willow Holt
Enclosed seating area, accessible from the lounge.
Your welcome tray awaits!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hockwold cum Wilton, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dippychic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic host , we got fresh flowers and cake .. Tanya had supplied the basic like tea, coffee and milk .. Which was gratefully received .

The cottage was perfect for 6 ladies in a horse riding holiday . We had a lovely BBQ , sat outside in peace and quiet after a busy day ..

Rooms were a lovely size .. And plenty of space for our luggage

It was a pretty quaint cottage

Lots of hot water morning and night .. in fact overal the cottage was 12 out of 10 !!! Thank you x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am glad that you found the cottage to your taste.
I hope you found Thetford Forest a great place to visit with your horses, and that you might come back and explore some more another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A filthy, damp ,hovel”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The photos on the website are not reflective of the cottage, very disappointed,everything was shabby and dirty. The windows were dirty inside and outside, the yard was dirty and overgrown.
The house looked delapidated. Inside the bedroom had black mould on the walls, cobwebs were hanging from walls,lights curtains and blinds. The fire blanket was thick with grease, as was the sides of the cooker. The bathroom had large cracks in the wall, more mould and spiders webs under the toilet, and on the ceiling. We left after 2 nights of our weeks booking, the ants and foisty smell were too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent holiday. As explained to you already, I had a friend get the cottage ready for you after other guests departed, and I am sorry that the cobwebs were not removed. I am afraid that in a two hundred year old property the outside of the cottage will not look like new.
If you had told me of your concerns when I met you, I could have rectified many of them while you were enjoying the local amenities. As you know, I have refunded your entire week's payment, despite the fact that you did stay for two nights.
My guests who stayed both immediately before and after you both commented on what a nice time they spent here at Willow Holt, and I am sorry that you did not have the same experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danielgre...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay in Norfolk countyside”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Enjoyed a great short trip at this lovely cottage down a quiet country lane. Cottage was modern-looking inside, had a cosy feel, but also blended in as a rustic country cottage. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet, tranquil stay out in the middle of the country, where you will probably not meet a soul. A car is in an essential if you want to go anywhere as the nearest village of Hockwold is 2 miles away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern yet rustic feel of the cottage
Liked least: The pitch black outside at night!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithy198...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderfully peaceful location”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed for one night in the adjoining Bluebell cottage. The cottage itself is clean and comfortable and well presented featuring a large rear garden which was brilliant for our dog.

Great location on a quiet country lane, very peaceful.

Would definitely recommend and stay again if in the area.
Thank you Tanya from Matt and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Thanks very much for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you will consider us again for a further visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uksarahf
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, Comfortable Cottage in Peaceful Countryside Setting.”
Reviewed 23 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Willow Holt is a very pretty cottage which felt like home as soon as we arrived. It is very well equipped. The beds were really comfortable and there was plenty of choice of pillows and extra blankets. The kitchen is excellent with many utensils etc, good appliances.
The open plan living area is lovely with good size farmhouse table and cosy sitting area. There were plenty of dvd's and books etc.
The shared garden was very relaxing to sit in and the children enjoyed playing in it.
Only a short dirve away were many great places for day trips, including Thetford Forest and Oxburgh Hall National Trust.
I would highly recommend a sta here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home comforts.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2011
Thank you for your comments. We have aimed to make the cottage feel like a 'home from home' and are pleased that you have experienced this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing