We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
25
5
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
5
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit mill bay gastro pub east prawle lovely spot shower block millbrook inn powder room composting toilets two nights short drive nose walton campers field sawdust farm
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Upon arrival we received a warm greeting from Paul and John and given lots of useful info about the campsite, walks and surrounding area. We found a lovely spot on one of two available fields and found other campers very friendly and respectful. The open skies at night were a treat as we sat round the fire pit and found four planets and an abundance of star to gaze at. The little farm shop is great - lots of fab essentials. Showers were hot and both shop and showers rely on honesty boxes which we found refreshing as it says a lot about those who run it. The Millbrook Inn is a walk down the hill - an amazing buzzing gastro pub with a real eclectic mix of people young and old with Charlie the owner at the helm giving lots of helpful tips and places to visit! An hours walk to Salcombe passing a cottage selling an abundance of home grown vege and small pots of the most amazing jams such as gooseberry and redcurrant at really reasonable prices was a great find! The Venus Cafe overlooking Salcombe sold delicious icecream which was much appreciated as we arrived! The small NT beach, Mill Bay allows dogs at certain times and has a wonderful view across the estuary. We had a wonderful visit and shall be back again!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stumbled on Wilton Farm by chance when looking for somewhere remote but with things to do nearby. What a great find this was. The site comprised of two very large fields had around 20 tents in each field and could easily hold ten times this amount - so there was plenty of space.
Great views over the Salcombe valley and rolling Devon hills. Plenty of walks nearby - beware the walk down to the estuary is partly along a very steep lane - but worth the walk for the views.
The supplies held in the small farm shop were welcomed when we arrived late and needed to throw together a BBQ. It had everything from BBQs to hire, a few ice creams, fresh sausages, milk and an array of vegetables as well as some wood and charcoal for the fires.
We went for days out to Salcombe and to the nearby beach at Mill Bay which is a NT car park site (£7.50 for the day). The site is about 25 minutes to Kingsbridge and other spots easy to access from here on.
Loved our stay and the kids enjoyed roaming free and gazing at the stars on the clear nights.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Be aware this is quite primitive camping, but that's the best thing about it.

Paul has set up a great place here, nice laid back environment, dark skies, South Pool and its fantastic pub nearby.

Had a wonderful week here with my young family feeling perfectly safe. Composting loos and showers clean an well looked after.

Will be back next year

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ronnie_Edgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton F, Owner at Wilton Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review. Really glad you enjoyed Wilton and the peace and quiet it has to offer. Looking forward to seeing you next year. Lots more to see and explore around here :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at lovely Wilton Farm for 4 nights and what a gorgeous spot it was! Beautiful unspoilt views down over Salcombe and the surrounding open Devon countryside. Two enormous fields with plenty of space even though it was pretty busy with a mix of families, couples and solo campers whilst we were there. No light pollution so star gazing by the fire every night was top! The showers and compost toilets are kept clean throughout the day and as a lady I loved the added touches of bunting and pretty bits in the bathroom/wash up. The farms owner Paul is such a nice helpful man, took the time to show me the little honesty box shop which is super handy and made sure we had everything we needed. The local pub is within walking distance and apparently does great food too. All in all if you’re looking for off-grid, chilled camping with awesome views where your kids can run free and your dogs can too (obvs well behaved ones!), near stunning beaches and lovely walks then this is definitely the place for you! See you next year Wilton Farm!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank caugarde_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton F, Owner at Wilton Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! Always appreciate having feedback - good or bad - but especially pleasing to hear that you enjoyed Wilton Farm so much. Certainly sounds like you had a great time and that you made the most of the open fields, wild countryside, beaches and pubs. Really hope you can come again. Thanks again for staying with us. Kind regards, Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

If you like campsites that specialise in calm, peace, amazing views, understated facilities then this is the place for you. If you prefer to shower in your own rustic shed / shepherd hut lit by fairy lights, rather than a moppy shower block then pack your bags and head to Wilton Farm. If you like nature and hedgerows full of butterflies and snails (like my two your old daughter Evie) then Wilton is a must visit.
Ok we were blessed with the most amazing weather when we visited in July this year (2018) but this feels like a special place whatever the weather - that view of Salcombe really is to die for.
Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: So much space to choose from but the second field has the best views of Salcombe.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimgreayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton F, Owner at Wilton Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi there, thanks so much for the kind review! More importantly, we are glad you had a great time here and that you enjoyed the stunning countryside in and around the farm. We are so proud to live in such a beautiful spot and it's always nice to here feedback from campers who have enjoyed their stay. You are of course welcome to come back anytime! Kind regards, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews