We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
23
21
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
21
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south sands great campsite nice site shop on site toilet and shower hill side winking prawn narrow lanes clean facilities lovely location pizza hope cove campers toilets pitches camping salcombe
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Not the best of stays but partially due to very bad weather. The campsite is nice and there’s no packing people in tight like some other sites which is great. The children’s undercover areas are a very good idea and the staff were very helpful.
Unfortunately the pitches are levelish and grass with a slope up to them. In our camper which was quite heavy, we were unable to get on to the majority of pitches as the grass was too slippery and waterlogged. The owners were really helpful and found us an alternative but we were next to an older family who were up giggling until after midnight each night and then up with the dogs and whistling early in the morning.
Showers are 20p for 4 minutes and are warm and in large cubicles. Water pressure is limited though. Toilets are in a separate block which is fine but they weren’t very clean - again, this could be due to the poor weather.
The approach to the campsite is down a VERY narrow lane and hill which might be challenging in a caravan but the location is great, being a short (20mins) walk from the local cove and 30 mins from the local village. It’s a little out of the way but nice if you like peaceful locations.
Disappointing stay but this could all be down to the crummy weather and having been very spoilt at our previous campsite in Cornwall (which arguably was a lot more expensive).

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Visited for a week with a family of 4 and a tent. The site is lovely and has such a nice atmosphere. The facilities are clean, easy to use and help give a personable feel to the campsite. Only thing is was a surprise to find the only routes to the beach and local towns were via extremely steep hills on foot or bike. Whereas if you drive a car, it must be small as roads are tight and difficult to navigate - can’t be changed by the campsite itself. Would recommend this site as it is fresh, friendly and the south sands cove nearby is beautiful despite being hard to walk back up to camp! Cannot fault the customer service and guidance from the lady at reception regarding the local area.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Absiclez C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

This is a good site - with a few minor reservations.
Staff seem welcoming - but very limited opening times on reception.Lovely location and well maintained site.
Toilets appear to have been recently smartened up - and so are pretty good.Just a minor issue with having to carry 20pence pieces.
Nice walk down to South Sands where you can get ferry into Salcombe if you like. - but it is a real trudge back up for people like me!
Access is a bit tricky - very narrow lanes - but we didn’t have any problems
Overall - very nice and we would go back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank topper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Feel I have to review following previous comments. We have been coming to this site for years & no member of the owners family have ever been rude. Far from it, they have always helped us out if we needed advice or practical assistance. Yes it was very swelchy underfoot, but it has been a very wet winter in Devon. Even some of the lanes were running like streams. Sue messaged us in the week before Easter to let us know the ground conditions were not good for camping so we booked our 2 campers into a b& b. We had a lovely relaxing week & enjoyed the peaceful site.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank 574EllyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We booked a family holiday (5 nights camping over Easter) for two families 3 months before arrival. Booking was Great and Sue was very helpful throughout.
On the morning of arrival we were “greeted” on the site by a very rude man who said we were Brave to be here due to the weather, he said “it hadn’t stopped raining here since September” He said we could pitch up where we liked and wandered off, though all of the pitches were very badly waterlogged. I feel that if the pitches were as bad as we found them the owners should have at least contacted us to advise of the situation therefore giving us the choice to pursue with our holiday or not.
We chose to holiday elsewhere luckily finding somewhere much much more appropriate and very close by. (Alston Farm/HIGHLY RECOMMENDED)
I can’t comment on any of the other facilities as we didn’t hang around long enough thankfully.
But if customer service was anything to go by I’m glad we didn’t stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank DayTrip763981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews