We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cottage

Captains Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Sea view to Criffel and Dumfriesshire from decking area
Sea veiw from decking area in garden
Our nautical but nice house sign
The roaring wood burner in the lounge area
Bedroom one with Kingsize bed
One of the beds in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
The other bed in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
Sunset view from Kitchen/Lounge window
kitchen/lounge window with sea view
walled courtyard next to decking platform with sea view
Captains Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LittleMrs...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful cottage!”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a lovely beach side cottage with a nice sea view from the living room. We loved the feel of this place, and all it's quirky little touches. The owners have clearly thought about styling the property and the beach theme is done perfectly. We absolutely loved the artwork in Captains cottage, each piece was stunning! We also really enjoyed the open fire which we used a lot especially after blustery walks along the beach.
The cottage was exceptionaly clean (and I am fussy!!) and they provide all the necessities to make your stay comfortable.
We would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write your review we really appreciate your lovely comments and would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thankyou so much for taking the time to review our cottage it is much valued and appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChorleySl...
Chorley, Lacashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I visited captain's cottage for four nights with my husband, 4 year old twins and two dogs. This is the third cottage we have stayed in within Allonby and is by far the best yet. Great location.

The cottage had everything you would need, was very clean and spacious. The garden was very secure for children and dogs. The view of the sea was relaxing. Booking was easy and communication with Anna was excellent.

We would have loved to stayed longer and will definitely be booking in again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Thankyou we really appreciate your lovely comments we love to hear such feedback makes our hard work worthwhile
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simonbyth...
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Seaside Cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage bright and sunny and tastefully decorated. It was ideally located by the beach and park. The sea views from the window were stunning. Would definitely stay there again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thankyou so much for your kind review we really appreciate it, we will be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawnloyne...
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely perfect break.”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A fantastic holiday cottage, home from home. So peaceful with an ideal garden and decking for lazy days. Fabulous views and virtually on the beach. Great walks from the doorstep. Our 3 dogs were welcomed by Anna and Ian and had a fab time on the beach. (In fact they are sulking now they are home) . It is a beautiful coastline. We wanted a relaxing break and we definitely had one and didn't move the car the full 4 nights. We will definitely be returning. Thank you Anna and Ian.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments they are much appreciated we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing