We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Captains Cottage

Captains Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Captains Cottage
Captains Cottage
Sea view to Criffel and Dumfriesshire from decking area
Sea veiw from decking area in garden
Our nautical but nice house sign
The roaring wood burner in the lounge area
Bedroom one with Kingsize bed
One of the beds in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
The other bed in the third bedroom (it has two single beds)
Sunset view from Kitchen/Lounge window
kitchen/lounge window with sea view
walled courtyard next to decking platform with sea view
Captains Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Allonby, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gaz1892
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic weekend
We booked into the cottage as we were attending a gin and whiskey soul night at the food festival in cockermouth
The weather was great all weekend, we enjoyed the festival at cockermouth but the cottage just made it a perfect weekend
Everything we needed in the cottage, we had, even sunbeds in September, which we used twice.
Sadly it was to warm to make use of the wood burner.
The new bike path, that takes you right along to Maryport had just been opened, we should have taken our bikes.
If you are looking for a base for visiting the lakes and making the most of this sea view, then I couldn't recommend anywhere better

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location and the relaxed feel of the place
Liked least: The dog-walkers' attention to hygiene, but that's not Captain's Cottage's fault.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breakfast on the deck looking out at the beach.
Liked least: Having to leave and come home !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Liked best: Sea side theme in rooms.
Liked least: It might be an idea to have a pull down blind in the picture window for early morning bathroom visits, due to beach dog walkers.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Murphy24...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage. Fabulous views.”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed here for a week in march. If only the weather was as good as the accommodation. Great cottage in a nice little village. Handy location to explore Cumbria and lake district.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing