We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
29
21
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
21
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local community community run continental breakfast the pub bit dated couple of nights well worth a visit warm welcome north wales ffestiniog dog village snowdonia welsh tv furniture
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

You’re guaranteed an enthusiastic welcome in this village-run country inn which was apparently brought back from the dead when the original owners couldn’t continue. Customers, whether locals or travellers, are given the best attention and seem genuinely valued. The rooms are simply furnished but clean, comfortable and great value if you don’t mind the lack of superfluous frills. (Would perhaps suit men guests more than women who tend to look out for the finer details of accommodation!) The hotel bar is well stocked if a little threadbare in places, and attracts a loyal crowd with local brews and regular live entertainment. The food menu of home-cooked dishes may not be a gastronomic experience but again is well supported by local customers especially, which says something. Only one criticism I must make is no hot water from the bedroom sink. I had to fill the sink for a shave from the adjacent electric showerhead. I think I understand why but surely a lavatory sink must provide hot water? Some visitors may consider some aspects of the service amateurish but it’s honest and unpretentious and most worthy of support in a district which cannot boast many inns offering good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the hotel are likely to be above the bar which could offer noise issues when especially busy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Mrpaull2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Y Pengwern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your honest review. We are doing the best we can on a small budget with the rooms, I hope that your experience is that your room was clean and comfortable?
I am concerned at the hot water issue, I am aware that there is an intermittent fault with one of the boilers occasionally cutting out, did you report this problem to a staff member? And if so, did you get a satisfactory response?
I can only offer my sincere apologies, and will arrange for someone to look at the offending boiler again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beautiful views, bed and breakfast, pub (with great Ales and Whiskies), good food and great people running the place ! Thank you Pengwern for all my happy times I come up from London and visit beautiful North Wales ! Keep up the good work !

Room Tip: Great views !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Y Pengwern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to see you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped in a holiday cottage up the road, when we found out this place was brought by the local community in 2010 we thought we would check if they where still going. They where! And very welcoming and look to be doing well, friendly welcome and dog friendly too. great local ales and a selection of others beers. They also serve great home cooked food and was brilliant value for money.
Cheers guys keep up the good work.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank H2ORNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Y Pengwern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you very much H2ORNLD for a lovely first review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Y Pengwern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus W, Manager at Y Pengwern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews