We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used restaurant only but very good”
Review of The Blue Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blue Boar
Ranked #1 of 1 Abridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

When we went to this venue it was only to use the restaurant during a mid week lunchtime visit.

The venue is central in the small village and has its own car park which is useful considering the small size of the village.

We were provided with a table quickly and given another choice when we did not want the one we were led to, no fuss at all.

There is a specials lunchtime deal but we both went for dishes from the main menu, nothing wrong with the specials menu, we just had a preference for some main menu items.

Drinks arrived quickly.

Starters did not take long to arrive and they were well portioned well flavoured dishes.

The main dishes came promptly and the only item that had any negative comment was the vegetarian main dish having salad on the side instead of a cooked vegetable option. If others give this the highest rating for the food for here I would not disagree but on the vedge dish my comment for improvement is above.

All food was well presented, well flavoured and showed that an effort had been put into the preparation and cooking.

The service here was particularly good with good anticipation, friendliness and efficiency among the staff. The staff really do make this good place even better.

This place is recommended and we will go back and if the comment on salad with a vegetarin main is taken on board we will up the rating next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoughtonEppingForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for The Blue Boar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at the Blue Boar and would certainly stay again.
The rooms are very designer, no corners have been cut.
The bar is great, lively, good friendly staff and the menu is extensive, had a good meal.
It has a decent size car park, so even better.
One warning, if you intend to stay it is not suitable for disabled guests, but the bar and restaurant has suitable access.
It's suitable for couples and certainly for meeting up with friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I went here with seven friends for lunch. We were given a very warm welcome to the restaurant and the attention and service remained good throughout. The food was excellent and the portions just right. We were spoilt for choice for dessert. Excellent value for money. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and you could view the kitchen which was equally clean and organised. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonsilverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for a night in a lovely clean room. It felt homely, had a comfortable bed and nice en-suite. We weren't affected by traffic noise, however we did ask for room 4. The bar staff were friendly and helpful , they also sorted out a taxi for us. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank livelife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stay here on business quite frequently. The food is fantastic always freshly cooked and served with a smile. There are only 5 rooms, all individually and tastefully decorated with huge comfy beds and great showers. They are all very spacious although no hair-dryers (you can borrow 1 from reception but get it the night before). There is traffic noise when staying in the front rooms (1, 2, 3) but a couple of drinks from the very well stocked bar helps! Value for money is exceptional considering location

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SuzanneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abridge
9.1 km away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
6.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
7.1 km away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woodford
94 reviews
6.2 km away
Travelodge London Chigwell
11.9 km away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar

Address: Market Place | Abridge, Abridge RM4 1UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Abridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Abridge
Price Range: ₹ 5,847 - ₹ 8,705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blue Boar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Boar Abridge is a boutique gastro pub and hotel. It comprises a large dining area, a private dining room capable of tables up to 11 people, The celebration room which is ideal for either a sit down meal for up to 36 people or just as a function room for a buffet. We also have a large terrace and 2 decked outside areas. There are 6 en-suite double bedrooms each with there own unique decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Boar Hotel Abridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing