We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic restaurant/bar with 5 star rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Blue Boar
Ranked #1 of 1 Abridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant/bar with 5 star rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed at the Blue Boar and would certainly stay again.
The rooms are very designer, no corners have been cut.
The bar is great, lively, good friendly staff and the menu is extensive, had a good meal.
It has a decent size car park, so even better.
One warning, if you intend to stay it is not suitable for disabled guests, but the bar and restaurant has suitable access.
It's suitable for couples and certainly for meeting up with friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    39
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
31
45
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I went here with seven friends for lunch. We were given a very warm welcome to the restaurant and the attention and service remained good throughout. The food was excellent and the portions just right. We were spoilt for choice for dessert. Excellent value for money. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and you could view the kitchen which was equally clean and organised. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonsilverlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for a night in a lovely clean room. It felt homely, had a comfortable bed and nice en-suite. We weren't affected by traffic noise, however we did ask for room 4. The bar staff were friendly and helpful , they also sorted out a taxi for us. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livelife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stay here on business quite frequently. The food is fantastic always freshly cooked and served with a smile. There are only 5 rooms, all individually and tastefully decorated with huge comfy beds and great showers. They are all very spacious although no hair-dryers (you can borrow 1 from reception but get it the night before). There is traffic noise when staying in the front rooms (1, 2, 3) but a couple of drinks from the very well stocked bar helps! Value for money is exceptional considering location

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzanneDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I’ve been a regular resident at the Blue Boar since September 2010, stopping since then, an average of 1.5 nights per week. The value for money on both the room and food is amazing, especially when you consider the hotel is in the middle of ‘The Only Way is Essex’ land.
The service is above average, always quick/efficient and always with a smile/joke (a bonus after a 12 hour working day). The rooms are to a high standard, good showers and freeview TV/free wifi plus they are always impeccably clean. The breakfast, although it has to be consumed in the room, is more than acceptable for the price. The recent addition of the fruit salad, a definite winner.
I was the company guinea pig for the hotel last year and have ended up being its ambassador, recommending it to many colleagues because of the standard of the rooms, service and general value for money (in these belt tightening days). This speaks volumes as I normally hang back on recommending anything to anyone unless I’m convinced they will agree with me.
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to all, if you can, request rooms 4/5 (unless I’m already in situ) as these are my preferred rooms. My only disappointment during my time here has been the removal of the GBP 14.50 meal deal, although the house curry has definitely filled that gap.
Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Book early and rooms 4/5
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abridge
6.3 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
6.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
7.1 km away
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel
0.0 km away
Elmcroft Guest House
Elmcroft Guest House
#1 of 3 in Epping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
8.2 km away
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
Premier Inn Waltham Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waltham Abbey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar

Property: The Blue Boar
Address: Market Place | Abridge, Abridge RM4 1UA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Abridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Abridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,640 - ₹ 8,103
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Blue Boar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Boar Abridge is a boutique gastro pub and hotel. It comprises a large dining area, a private dining room capable of tables up to 11 people, The celebration room which is ideal for either a sit down meal for up to 36 people or just as a function room for a buffet. We also have a large terrace and 2 decked outside areas. There are 6 en-suite double bedrooms each with there own unique decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Boar Hotel Abridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing