We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Janet S
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in April/May, 2 couples for a walking week. We had La Corona and our friends were in El Lujar. Robert and William work very hard to ensure that everything is to a very high standard and it certainly was. The gardens, location and views are fantastic - really beautiful. We had a cooked evening meal one night - great meal. We used a walking pack that the owners have out together, very helpful with lots of books, maos and walk direction. We are planning our next trip back there. This is our 3rd visit to the Alpujarras and it gets better every time.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you all and we are pleased that you liked Cortijo Opazo. Look forward to seeing you again when we hope to have a few more routes for you to follow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fitlikema...
Inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cortijo, lovely gardens, fantastic location”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent Christmas 2013 at Cortijo Opazo. The location is great and the gardens are very beautiful. The owners pay great attention to detail and you feel very welcome. The wood burning stove made the apartment very cosy and we had a grand Christmas dinner courtesy of the great kitchen facilities. It is a very special place in very special surroundings.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, I well remember the tempting aroma of your turkey roasting in the apartment oven. Hope to see you here again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishNi...
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location and apartment both for walking and for relaxing”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Cortijo Opazo for our first visit to the Alpujarras, and had one of our best breaks for a long time. We were initially looking to stay in Bubion or Capileira as a good location for walking, but chose Cortijo Opazo based on other reviews, and a bit more reading about the Taha villages. It proved just about the perfect location. We walked every day we were there, mostly straight from the door - just driving on two days. The villages and landscape of the Taha are captivating, though be prepared for some stiff gradients everywhere! Linking paths to the Poqueira valley and Trevelez are close by, so most locations could be walked directly, but these are only a very short drive if needed. Having visited the larger villages, we are really glad we chose to stay here.
Communication was excellent, from the first enquiry, directions to the Cortijo, local information, and advice on our subsequent short break in Granada.
The Cortijo and garden are lovely. We stayed in La Corona. Facilities excellent, clean and beautifully presented. Robert was there for any advice when we needed, but unobtrusive. We did all our own cooking, so didn't take up the offer of their home-cooked meals, but all reports of these from the guest book were excellent.
The garden is a lovely place to wander around. The weather was quite cool when we were there, so we only sat out a few times, but it was beautiful.
All in all, a lovely break, both invigorating and relaxing, and I'm sure we'll be back to see more of this amazing area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Liked least: Leaving...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you found our corner of this special region.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful walks, complete relaxation and excellent food”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Cortijo Opazo in early November with a friend. We opted for the fully-catered self-guided walking holiday. As a result we were treated to William's bistro-quality home cooking every evening. Robert did an excellent job of tailoring the walks to our requirements and was very kind about collecting us on the occasion when we underestimated the time and were late back. The area is truly beautiful and varied: each walk had a distinct character. We were lucky to get fantastic weather and particularly appreciated the spectacular autumn colours. The accommodation is very well set out for two with a variety of indoor entertainment for the odd rainy day, and we particularly appreciated having our own private patio area as well as access to the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very hard to pick one thing! The owners' care and attention makes this a very special place to stay.
Liked least: The wifi signal was so weak I couldn't use it
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
“Stunning views combined with great hospitality”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed in El Lujar for 7 nights in October. Everything was perfect - accommodation was delightful, views were stunning and ambience hugely relaxing. After our first delicious meal cooked by William and Robert and served by candlelight on the terrace in the pretty garden, we treated ourselves to 2 more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything!
Liked least: Pillows - bit softer would have been better
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing