We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cortijo Opazo

Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Cortijo Opazo - former Alpujarran farmhouse.
Well equipped kitchen - apartment la Corona
Comfortable sitting room - apartment la Corona
Double bedroom - apartment la Corona
Out door dining for the apartment La Corona
Open plan living area of apartment El Lujar
Apartment El Lujar sitting area with french windows leading to patio
Bedroom of apartment El Lujar, facing the morning sun.
Log burning stove to supplement underfloor heating.
Outdoor dining for the apartment El Lujar
Great views in every direction
Situated in the countryside, but close to the village.
Exceptional garden for you to enjoy
Great vistas in all directions
Plenty of outdoor space
Garden full of charm, a veritable oasis in the Alpujarras
Our walking guides will take you to enchanting places
Garden full of delightful surprises
Home cooked food available on request
Delicious menus to suit all tastes
Extraordinary scenery and views from the house
Lively village fiestas
Our home grown fruit and veg usually available for you to buy
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portugos, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Levelis68
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Lovely place, lovely hosts, lovely Ella and Oska, lovely view. One negative thing: the weather was not on our side, and neither was the temperature. The lovely walks were a little on the demanding side for people our age.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Things beoynd our control : climate
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Thank you for your comments: Yes, weather in March can be little hard to rely upon but we are pleased that you were cosy and warm in the accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
65scratch
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in February 2012

I thought I'd posted a review some time ago, & I'm embarrassed to realise that it hasn't appeared. So, belatedly, can I strongly support all the good things others have said, and add that Robert and William were exceptionally helpful to us, from helping with a problem with our hire car on day 1, to resolving a credit card problem with a local restaurant after our return. I cannot imagine how we'd have sorted out the latter without Robert's help - as we were back in the UK, this was definitely above and beyond our expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Pleased to be of help, glad you had a good stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBDUB
Dublin,Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A haven high in the hills”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for a week in mid-April. We must have walked right past the Cortijo a few times during our previous perambulations in this lovely part of the Alpujarras, so when we spotted its website we were keen to try it out. And we were very pleased with the result. We stayed in the ground floor apartment (one of the two that make up the property). Opening its doors we walked into a spacious, well-appointed, book-lined living-room/kitchen, off which was a short corridor to bathroom and bedroom. What strikes you at first glance is that this does not feel like a holiday rent: it's like the kind of home you'd like to own if you lived here yourself.
Co-owner William (Robert was away) made us very welcome (as did the two dogs, Ella and Oska). We arrived about 8pm off the bus from Granada, and sat down almost at once to a dinner of cordon bleu quality cooked and served by William. (We had been able to pre-order this from the menu he'd e-mailed to us). It was a memorable meal (and nicely priced), which we enjoyed as we watched the huge stars come out over the valley and the dimming hills, as drowsy tinklings lulled the not-so-distant folds.
The week passed all too quickly, but we got in a few good walks, aided by our hosts' informative guides and maps. The only downside was the fog that came in on the last two days, but we still got out and about, having come equipped (as they advise) for mountain weather

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location, the welcome, the comfortable accommodation
Liked least: The spoilsport fog.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
transpare...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible views from a magical place”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Cortijo Opazo and it was just as wonderful as the first. The views as you arrive at the property are just amazing. Being there in Spring, all the wild flowers were out making the views especially enchanting. The drive from Malaga airport is about 2 hours and it was great to arrive to find cold beer in the fridge and everything set up for our stay. Its position in the high Alpujarra make it ideal for exploring and although remote, you can walk to either of the nearby villages easily. As we were there for a friend's birthday we opted to have a meal cooked for us one evening, and it was totally fantastic. The food was superb and beautifully presented. The wine was wonderful and just sitting out on the patio enjoying a meal with friends was priceless. For a special break in a truly unique setting I sincerely recommend Cortijo Opazo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Although in a very rural location, it provided all creature comforts.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
Thanks for your comments, it was good to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh S
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will definitely be back!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at Cortijo Opazo in the middle of Feb and would definitely recommend it. Beautiful location (best view of anywhere I've stayed) and the accommodation was very well- appointed and comfortable. Just as importantly, Robert (sole host while we were there) was very friendly and incredibly helpful but without being intrusive. He's very knowledgeable and you got the impression nothing was too much effort.

The Alpujarras is a great place for walking and we only scratched the surface so we'll definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2013
There's plenty more to see, we look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing