We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (826)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset restaurant french polynesia sliding glass door mosquito coils grocery store ceiling fan rooms are big white sandy beach star hotel le petit village whale watching tour roosters crowing book tours temae beach public beach small beach scuba diving
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I'd been here in 2002 and thought dinner here would be a great revisit. I wasn't disappointed! Sunset dinner & cocktails. Food was huge, and of great quality. Their pizzas are also phenomenal (we ate there several times!).
Lunch there is also a spectacular view, as the lagoon turns that eye watering turquoise blue throughout the day. Nothing to fault.

Room Tip: Great restaurant
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atiaoa, Directeur général at Hotel Hibiscus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Richard L ,

Thank you very much for you comment , and hope to visit us again to see the spectacular view .

See you very soon .

Best regards ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We were early for our reservation at a nearby restaurant so we stopped at Hibiscus for a drink. They were as welcoming to us as if we were staying for a full meal. We took a table right by the water and the server brought us a gratis bowl of olives to enjoy with the bottle of wine we ordered. Given this lovely service we will come back for a full meal or two on our next trip.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 1SFOSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Excellent location and the best sunset in Moorea! The hotel conditions are quite good, the rooms are big and comfortable. You can book tours in the hotel reception to see the island, like Super Mario Tours, one of the most amusing in the island!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natália C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We spent several nights at the Hotel Hibiscus in a bungalow, and we would definitely come back in the future! It is not fancy, caveat. The bungalow is large and looks a little like a summer camp dorm, and the kitchenette is lacking a lot of stuff that would have been nice, like a pan or a cutting board, etc. but it does have a fridge and small hot plate, cups, small plates, forks, it is clean and minimally appointed, and it is across from the Petite Village, so you are within walking distance of basically everything in Moorea.

The cost is unbeatable. Also, the beach is, after my personal favorite, Temae Beach, the best in Moorea, I think. It's pretty close to the reef, so be prepared for warm, placid water and a million rays and coral covered in sea urchins (watch out!) as well as being able to see the sunrise. They offer free snorkel gear and kayaks!

Front desk staff is very sweet and thoughtful, although it's not 24-hours.

You will be woken by roosters, but that's true no matter where you stay in the South Pacific. The bed is a bit hard, and truly, try to stay a bit back from the road; it's noisy. The bathroom is clean and has hot water but is no frills.

The grounds are nicely kept.

Speaking of sunrises, there is a very good restaurant on the premises, either the Sunrise or the Sunset, plus perhaps ten or more other restaurants one can walk to and a number of snacks. In Moorea, this is a good feeling.

It feels like a "budget resort" meets summer camp. It's hard to explain, but that's the best I can do; it doesn't fit into most accommodation categories I can think of. We had a pleasant stay there, absolutely, although I think it would not suit some sort of people whereas it would better suit others, so know yourself a little before booking.

Taxi is a bit expensive to the airport, by the way, at about $45 USD, which was the one thing we were not expecting to be quite so much, so just a heads up there.

I would think this would be a perfect place for a family, by the way. Our room had an extra bed and could have slept three, easily.

WiFi works okay but has better and worse spots, and it's not going to win at the races anytime soon.

Room Tip: Pick a bungalow further away from the road and more towards the beach -- but not next to the restaurant -- for quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

This is a family owned property, been here for many years. Family welcomes you. They will pick you up local. Great seaside restaurant. Le sunset resturant. Great quaint villas very southern France atmosphere. Thank you. Phillip.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews