We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday at Brick Bay.”

Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Discover a new world as you gaze down on The Glass House, hovering like a coloured jewel beside the vineyard, cantilevered over the waterlily-fringed lake. This unique building is open daily year round, where you can choose to taste our range of wines, enjoy a glass as you relax on our generous decks or simply purchase bottles to take home. We're excited to offer you our fresh new menu, showcasing local produce and seasonal ingredients. Do come and experience dishes that we love and flavours we are passionate about. Download the Menu> This is truly a building for all seasons as you watch the birdlife on the lake on a summer's afternoon, or feel the fury of winter as the rain lashes the lake and sends the overflow beneath you in a veritable waterfall. Metres away are the vines, with the building's transparency letting you possibly observe the pruning process, leaf-plucking, fruit thinning, and if the time is right, the harvest itself!
Reviewed 27 August 2018

My mum is visiting us from the UK and I’m always looking for nice places to take her. It was her birthday, so we wanted somewhere special to go that also had a kids menu, as we have four children. Brick Bay hit the mark. The service was great, and the staff where very nice about arranging a birthday cake to be brought out as a surprise for Mum. Lots of people joined in singing Happy Birthday, and she was suitably mortified . We sat on the deck, because we had our dog but it was covered and had heaters. Lovely warm atmosphere. delicious food - my lamb shank in particular- and I ordered the raw raspberry and coconut cheesecake which was divine! The Sculpture walk afterwards was a nice way to walk off the desserts and my 8 year old loved being in charge of the map and reading out info about the sculptures. A lovely family day out.

Thank 307clareg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thanks for choosing Brick Bay for your Mum's birthday celebration, and thanks for the amazing review! We really appreciate it :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Visited Brick Bay for a birthday lunch with my wife and son (1). My son loved walking the sculpture tour before a fantastic lunch. A big thanks to Barry who served us, he went above and beyond fit us in to a busy restaurant. I had the parfait and squid which were both top notch. Would definitely recommend this for those looking for a great activity and meal in an awsome setting.

Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thanks so much for choosing Brick Bay to celebrate your birthday, we love sharing this very special place with our guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

What a lovely vineyard in a beautiful location. Great wine and great food. Child friendly, CLEAN high chairs.
The menu is good but could probably improve by adding another veggie/vegan option. The food is delicious.
Will definitely be coming here again!

Thank NZlover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you! Do come back again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Took our Wellington friends for lunch on the spur of the moment. Even though it was busy they found us a table and we had a lovely lunch - try the rose!

Thank Keith_Carmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thanks for choosing Brick Bay for your spur of the moment lunch with friends, we're so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

My friends and I dined for lunch to celebrate a birthday and were really impressed with the extra effort taken by our Server to find an option that was GF, DF and contained no Garlic. A bespoke chicken salad was produced and all the while the server was speedy, efficient and friendly. Thank you so much!

Thank Loz006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for your great review - we aim to please :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing