We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We absolutely loved cuckoo chalet”
other travellers have booked this property
Chalet Cuckoo - Secluded and Romantic
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Cuckoo - Secluded and Romantic
Chalet Cuckoo - Romantic
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Chalet Cuckoo - Secluded and Romantic
Chalet Cuckoo - Romantic
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Cuckoo Comfort - underfloor heating, log stove and sofa bed
Chalet Cuckoo - in the sun
Enter a caption for your photo
Huge double bed inside the Raccard
Cuckoo Character - a Raccard
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Ayer, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lauane
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“We absolutely loved cuckoo chalet”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Wonderful place, great decoration, very clean and well-maintained. We felt like we were in our own chalet.

The location is spectacular: beautiful mountains a grand pine tree in front of the chalet, , and, to our surprise, a lovely little stream besides the chalet.

This is a special place and perfect for those who seek contact with nature, peace, silence and the beauty of overpowering views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Difficult to say, but if I have to pick one: location;
Liked least: Everything was perfect;
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarrius_S...
San Agustin de Guadalix, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very good holiday house at Anniviers Valley”
Reviewed 28 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

The house is sunny and cosy. It's perfectly equiped and in a very quiet place, with good views and near the village of Ayer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked everything
Liked least: The only thing to be aware about the house is that there is a 30-step stairs to the parking place
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood49
Boulder Creek, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Swiss Alpine Experience - Great Hiking”
Reviewed 8 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This property is perched in the eastern slope of the spectacular Val D'Annivier, above the quaint village of Ayer. The owner was extremely gracious and provided helpful information for use during our stay. We found the Chalet Cuckoo to be a comfortable and welcoming place to return to after our many daily walks in the surrounding area. The location is visually stunning, highlighted by a chain of snow-covered peaks, glaciers, and waterfalls at the south end of the valley beyond Zinal. There is a small grocery in Ayer, but nearby Vissoie has better facilities, including a food market, bakery, and butcher shop. Our late summer stay happened to coincide with the Désalpes de Nava, a celebration of the annual return of the cows from the high pasture in anticipation of winter. Lots of cowbells, raclette cheese, and local wine at the village festival! The road up from Sierre and the Rhone valley is a challenging drive, but seems to have provided a filter which has enabled this part of Switzerland to remain less touristed despite its incredible beauty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spectacular location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanBates...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to relax and enjoy Valais region”
Reviewed 18 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We've just had a lovely week in Chalet Cuckoo. Absolutely everything we needed in the chalet, lovely patio looking out across the vlley to Grimentz and receiving sun throughout the day.
There are lots of walking and mountain biking trails. With several options straight from the chalet door, butterflies and wildlife in the valley are wonderful. Zinal has everything you need in terms of groceries, we only left the valley for one day to visit Zermatt. If you're going to eat out in Zinal I'd recommend Hotel Besso.
The bigger mountains are so accessible from Zinal (less than 10 minutes drive) and from Moiry (20 minutes drive).
Would love to go back some time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, peace
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quofan
Darlington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peace & comfort”
Reviewed 26 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I have just spent a week in Chalet Cuckoo & had a wonderful time. If you enjoy peace & quiet & want to see a piece of "real" Switzerland then this is the place to be. A car is essential & the roads are "interesting" but once there you won't regret a minute.

We found Chalet Cuckoo to be a real home from home. We had everything we needed & it was both warm & comfortable, although we were very lucky with the weather so the warm bit didn't really matter!

It's a brilliant place for walking & on two occasions we left the car & just walked from the front door!

The only downside was the lack of facilities in the village. There is only one small shop & no eating facilities (there is a hotel which is up for sale & a small cafe which wasn't open) but we didn't find this a problem as we just drove to either Vissoire or Zinal.

If you are looking for a peaceful holiday in a spectacular setting, I can certainly recommend Chalet Cuckoo

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 140
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing