We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest and recreation in Dordogne”
Review of Chateau de Pitray

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Seurin-de-Prats
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Pitray
Reviewed 15 January 2014

September 2013 we were invited with my fiancé to a friend’s wedding in Dordogne, France. The journey by TGV the French train was not too comfortable but once we arrived the change of climate was a bonus. We had booked a superior room directly at the venue - the Chateau de Pitray which turned out to be a rather spectacular 17th century renaissance castle. The Chateau is located in a 3 acre park right next to the Dordogne River - as it was still warm we even took a swim.
The rooms had a very refined look thanks to the oriental decoration and ours was very comfortable with a nice view over the river.
The welcome of the owners was kind and helpful and this gave the place a relaxed and homely atmosphere.
Eventually we decided to postpone our return journey and stayed one more day discovering the village of Saint Emilion and making a wine tour on bikes in the surroundings.

Room Tip: Most superior rooms have a either a view over the river or the park but there are also nice rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry5Sutterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2012

Together with my fiancée we had been invited to a wedding end of august 2012 and we truly enjoyed our time there. Because we wanted to discover the region we had decided to extend our stay by 3 nights. Of course the location was very well suited for a wedding but, as we discovered after the week-end, it is rather lovely and quite place.
Located next to the Dordogne river, within a three acre park, Chateau de Pitray is a beautiful blend of classic French architecture and interiors brought from travels to Asia and the Arab World.
Of course this place may not be right for you if you are looking at a typical 5* -hotel service. But it might just about be the right place if you enjoy the quitness and opulence of nature, a homely atmosphere and a good comfort of living.
The region is absolutely spellbinding and worth seeing and the food over there is just great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryDurix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

What a wonderful place for our private wedding ceremony with family and friends, and what a careful way, Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin arranged it. Starting in the early morning mist with a flower-ornated boat on the river Dordogne for the wedding couple and Mr. Benjamin as ceremonymaster. Then breakfast infront of the wonderful warming cheminee. All day long our international guests could use the whole place for the performance of their wedding gifts as for example sending out balloons, performing capoeira fights, playing piano, singing, dancing etc.. There was a coffee break in the afternoon and in the evening we had a delicious wedding meal including amuse gueules and champaign in the yard and then again infront of the cheminee.
It was at all times possible to cook special meal for the attending seven mostly small children and the children much enjoyed running around in the garden with its many adventourous corners and in the chateau. All our guests very much enjoyed living in one of the tasteful decorated rooms and strolling around the surroundings.
We were so lucky during these terrific four days / three nights stay and are very thankful for all the owners have done for us.
Great recommendation for the performance of ceremonial events.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielaBurkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I attend a 4 day wedding at this venue and have very mixed feelings about this venue.
So lets start with the good points:
• I had a newly renovated room which was clean and well presented with a nice bathroom
• The venue is very photogenic for stunning wedding photos
So lets consider how the following points would impact you if this was your wedding or your were a guest at the Chateau for a 4 day break:
• Not all the rooms have fans and given when we were there it was over 35c it made sleeping almost unbearable – and when I enquired about spare fans were told there weren’t enough, if you have a full venue you must have fan’s in all the rooms! Beware if staying there with young children.
• I got up late for breakfast and was told my one of the managers I could not have a plate or knife or fork until lunchtime even though I had my own food with me and on one evening the water was actually turned off in the kitchen so you we couldn’t wash up any spare glasses or plates for reuse.
• For the wedding breakfast they didn’t have enough for at least 1 champagne glasses per guest (there were only 70 of us – so not a massive wedding) so it meant you had to hold onto your glass all day long – This is completely unacceptable for a wedding venue!
• The morning after the wedding the management team had decided tidy the venue at 10am despite dancing until 4am. This had not been requested as it was to be done by the wedding party and then demanded payment for clearing up! Watch out for sneaky hidden extra charges.
• The venue only has iron chairs outside with no cushions and in France summer heat this is ridiculous and there were 3 very tatty deck chairs. If you are there for several days to relax you will find no where other than lying on a towel on the grass – This would be easy to fix with a few nice rattan sun loungers and comfortable outdoor seating
• If you are at the venue for any period of time and may want to take a visit to the surrounding areas don’t expect any information to be forthcoming from the venue staff – when I enquired about and flyers or information was informed that the Chateau was a venue not a hotel and walked off – so do your own research in advance.
• The management team appeared to make life as uncomfortable and un-customer friendly as possible during the 4 day stay . My friends who got married had enough and left the venue and their guests after day 3 due to the unpleasantness experienced with dealing with the managers – that should represent the impact they had on their experience – so be warned it may not all be smooth sailing!
• All in all this venue is stunning – but the managers had no concept of what makes “Good Customer Service”

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Luke2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My company went here for a senior management corporate retreat - and all I was told about the venue was that we were going to a "Chateau" in the countryside - and I figured it would be all business. While much planning for our company for the coming year was accomplished during our two day stay, the thing that will stay with me for a lifetime is the simplistic beauty and peaceful setting that Château de Pitray.

The owner Michel looked after us personally throughout our stay and was an incredibly gracious host.

The food and wine were overwhelmingly good, and the setting made it even more enjoyable.

To top it off - the Château is located just a short drive (10Km?) from St. Emilion!

A true French Château experience that I will never forget. I cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toddmckellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Seurin-de-Prats
22.3 km away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
944 reviews
19.0 km away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
405 reviews
3.1 km away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Chateau Fleur de Roques
#1 of 1 in Puisseguin
208 reviews
19.0 km away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
414 reviews
18.0 km away
Chateau des Vigiers
Chateau des Vigiers
#1 of 1 in Monestier
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Pitray? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Pitray

Address: Dordogne Valley, 24230 Saint-Seurin-de-Prats, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Seurin-de-Prats
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Seurin-de-Prats
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private Castle for rent. Very suitable for groups or families, who wants to have private meetings, or conferences. It's also a great film location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing