We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kemps Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 East Stoke B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Fantastic service, great food and very accommodating. Would definitely go back,and recommend to others with or without children. Thank you to Tim and all the staff :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    96
    37
    13
    8
See reviews for
50
175
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cobham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a lovely 3 days here with my 6 year old son. We had an enormous ground floor room in the Annex, the kingsize bed was very comfy and the dark curtains keeping out the light in the morning led to a wonderful nights sleep! My son had a pull out sofa bed.
The staff were very friendly and polite and although the setting and service is quite 'formal' (invited to drinks in the Bar before dinner where you choose from the menu) and I was intially worried about having my small son in that environment - there were no issues at all, we felt relaxed, and I was delighted to see a childrens menu! This menu could have been a bit more varied and for any longer than 3 nights eating there it could be a problem. The food from the main menu was consistently a high standard. The Kemps is great for sightseeing the local attractions for kids (Tank museum, steam railway etc) but overall this is a place geared for Couples and business - there was a definate 'hush' in the dining room at times! However if you have well behaved children its a great option and makes you feel like you are getting the special treatment as an adult too!

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BusySurreyMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Perfect location for exploring Dorset. Beautiful hotel, very clean and comfortable and the staff were courteous and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a ground floor room in the garden annex and it was very spacious ... more like a small cottage. The evening meals and breakfasts were excellent. Would highly recommend Kemp's and can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had a most enjoyable stay, we choose one of the rectory rooms which was lovely, but unfortunately only had a view of the flat roof. Food was very good, with a varied choice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We'd actually stayed at Kemps before on a work trip involving the Tank Museum at Bovingdon years ago, so it was nice to come back and see the 'new' wing rooms. Our double room was at the far end from the hotel, and was very spacious, clean, with a large comfortable king size bed, just right for a weekend away.

After a slight mix-up with our pre-booked dinner (wrong night) and the effect Friday night traffic jams, we decided to eat in the first night rather than the second. The food was plentiful and tasty, but rather a triumph of quantity over quality for my chicken and my partner's lambshank. However, other guests clearly welcomed their large portions after a day of Dorset fresh air!

The cooked breakfast was excellent apart from the coffee, which was instant and stewed. We mentioned this to the very helpful duty manager, who said they did have a proper coffee machine, and all we had to do was ask - but how can you ask if you don't know?!. The whole breakfast would be so improved by offering the option of a cafetiere of coffee on the breakfast menu, so those who like proper coffee know it's available!

Kemps may not be in a particularly picturesque location, but it is very convenient for exploring this lovely part of Dorset and avoiding some of the traffic as a result. We decided to visit Lulworth Cove, and it was a joy to drive just six miles to and from this gorgeous spot back to the hotel with no traffic or queues, desite it being a hot (!) August Saturday.

We decided to eat out the next night and drove into Wareham (2 mile drive down the road), which was an adventure in finding somewhere serving plainish food (I was recovering from a stomach bug). As a result, we had to regretfully bypass two excellent looking seafood-based restaurants and chose the Olivio Italian, which was a bit of a mistake - again, lots of quantity and not a great deal of quality, as my spinach and ricotta ravioli turned out to be sheets of lasagna in a cheese sauce baked in the oven... rather odd!

The improtant thing to note with Kemps is that it is a five star guest house rating, not a five star hotel rating. As a result, it's clean, friendly, welcoming, relaxed, and you'll always have plenty to eat. If you want more space, book one of the new annexe rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRNCvillaseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stoke
9.6 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
4.3 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
4.5 km away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Wareham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
8.6 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
21.7 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kemps Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemps Country House

Property: Kemps Country House
Address: East Stoke, East Stoke, Wareham BH20 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham > East Stoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Stoke
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,175 - ₹ 14,632
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kemps Country House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Kemps Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemps Country House Hotel East Stoke
Kemps Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing