We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,102)
Filter reviews
3,102 results
Traveller rating
1,622
1,051
310
88
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,622
1,051
310
88
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel half board buffet food bottle of cava short stay good size total relaxation reasonable quality great variety san jose separate shower lobby bar school holidays almeria airport sun loungers young children relaxing holiday
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 3,102 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were allocated a room which turned out to overlook a car park at the side of the hotel upon request we were quickly and efficiently reallocated to a pool view room. The hotel is very nice with 4 pools set close to the beach. The adjoining beach is very gritty and hardly used. We would recommend going all inclusive if staying here, we were half board, but found the hotel to be remote with a small supermarket about 300 metres away and a slightly larger one about 1500 metres away. There are very few eating or drinking establishments in El Toyo and all a long walk away.
Hotel maid service was good, breakfast was best meal of the day, evening meal had plenty of choice but presentation of the hot food buffet could of been better and made more appetizing.
Our stay was at the end of the season and the hotel was winding down with 2 pools fenced off during our stay and restaurant table numbers reduced more in keeping with the fewer guests staying.
The animation team tried hard but with so few guests during the second half of our stay they had very few willing guests to interact with.
Whilst only 15 minutes from the airport we heard no aircraft noise.
Would we stay here again probably not but this is based on there being so little in El Toyo rather than a fault of the hotel. If you want a quiet hotel based break it's ideal.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adrian437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compass815281, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Adrian:

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Cabo de Gata was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Rafael J. Jiménez
General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed as two couples early September. Fantastic Hotel ,amazing service with the exception of the bar which could definitely do with more staff !! Reception and booking in very easy and helpful. As one of our party has mobility issues we requested easy access rooms and on arrival this had been sorted for us .
Food was delicious and plentiful, and even though it is primarily based on the Spanish diet , there was always a great variety available.
The hotel , pools and grounds were spotlessly clean . The beach was a little disappointing but as we are pool people this was not an issue .
We heard some other English people saying that it was too quiet but if you research your holiday when booking you would find this out !!!
All in all a fantastic holiday in a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location !!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank keithygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

Thanks to fantastic guests like you, all the team receives the warmth and love of a job well done, it fills us with satisfaction to verify that we have achieved that you have a magnificent stay and that you enjoyed to the fullest.

Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards

Rafael J. Jiménez

General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I really don’t write reviews but I really want to rant and rave about this hotel. First and upmost the cleanliness of the hotel is at a very high standard. My room 264 was cleaned daily to a really high standard, the 3 pools and surroundings was sparkling and the hotel in general was just clean.
As for the staff each and everyone of them should be applauded simply for there friendliness and the efficiency of serving drinks and clearing your table. English is well spoken by the staff so no problems if Spanish is not your language.
The food was again just superb. They do change it up every night and do offer a true variety. Granted not everything was appealing to my taste buds but there is plenty to go at. Pork is the main meat that is served but they do offer other meats and serve various fish such as swordfish and squid.
From speaking to most of the people staying in the hotel they mainly all come different areas of Spain which to me shows how good this hotel is. Naturally there is a sprinkling of us brits and other Europeans but this again is a great change from my usual holiday.
The hotel is located near a rocky/pebbly beach which is not so fantastic as the hotel but that’s not the hotels fault. Never the less a nice 15 min walk and you are there.
There is a kids play area and 2 pools to serve towards the younger members of your family. There are fun activities carried out daily.
Bravo to the hotel and I’ll be seeing you all soon.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Fearless624534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest:

Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Cabo de Gata; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best Regards

Rafael J. Jiménez

General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Overall hotel was excellent.Staff all very friendly and helpful.Room large bright very clean with bath and shower.Food great choice.Very close to beach. Suit all location on the flat.Walk for miles to Almería or Cabo de Gata but bring your walking shoes.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics

Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.


Best Regards,

Rafael J. Jiménez
General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We are a family of four (2 and 6yo) and we had a good time at the Barcelo over the Summer. Rooms are big, the facility is nice although architecture is basic, pools/sunbeds are great and the hotel is a 10 minute bus ride from the airport. However, there are a few things to know before booking: 1. this a Spanish hotel aimed at the Spanish market so some member of personnel will have difficulties with English which was not insurmountable. Also, you will have to live according to Spanish schedule that is no pool before 10am, lunch starts at 13:30h/dinner at 8pm and night entertainment is local and starts at 10pm. 2. There is not much to do around the hotel, that whole area was built to host the Mediterranean Games in 2005 and developed from there. There is Retamar down the promenade with a few cafes at night and a series of stalls where migrants are selling fakes. 3. If you have kids forget about the beach. It is a volcanic beach made of rocks and stones but actually once you reach the water it is really clean and almost wave-less. 4.Do not expect much of the hotel entertainment. Actually that is an advantage if you are looking for the most relaxing stay. There is a kids' club but it is 99% in Spanish. 4. Food is also Spanish-oriented so if you like pork you will be in heaven. Not much green but a small salad bar that never changes. You should not expect too much from deserts either. Although we will probably not go back there we had a very nice stay, apart fro the last day when they did not want to allow for late checkout although our flight was at 6pm.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AirBoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear guest:

We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always try to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal.

We first would like to extend our sincere apologies for the imperfections of service you describe in your review and although your comments do not seem to match the usual feedback we receive both onsite and online, we will make sure to discuss your review internally to avoid giving this kind of impressions.

Late check-out can only be made if there is availability at the hotel, on the date the hotel was booked, we apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your insights about your visit. We always look to improve, and your comments are crucial to our future success.

Best Regards,

Rafael J. Jiménez.
General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews