We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect....”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Butterwell Cottage

Butterwell South Wing entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Butterwell South Wing entrance
Perfect family cottage Views of the River Camel and the Camel Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Butterwell South Wing entrance
Perfect family cottage
Views of the River Camel and the Camel Valley
Lounge and log burner
Fully equipped kitchen
Kitchen / diner into lounge
Large, comfortable king-size bedroom with window seat and en-suite
Master bedroom with window seat and en suite
Upstairs twin and en suite
Downstairs twin with adjacent bathroom
Master en suite
Downstairs bathroom
View of Butterwell from the Camel Valley Vineyards
Bluebells in our woodlands
Kingfisher feeding and nesting at Butterwell
Cycle the Camel Trail from Butterwell
1 of 4 properties on the Butterwell Farm estate
Rare birds at Butterwell - The Greater Spotted Woodpecker
Peace and tranquility
Mallard Family at home at Butterwell
Far reaching views across the Camel Valley
At one with nature on the River Camel
Our flock of Jacob Sheep
One of the UK's top trout and salmon rivers - private river fishing - booking in advance
Low cost winter breaks in Cornwall
The Roe Deer in the Butterwell woodlands
The Kingfisher makes its home at Butterwell
Dipper at Butterwell
Greater Spotted Woodpecker at Butterwell
Juvenile Dipper at Butterwell
Grey Wagtail at Butterwell
Kingfisher at Butterwell
Southern Hawker dragonfly
Sea trout and salmon fishing on request at Butterwell
Otter at Butterwell
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply perfect....”
Reviewed 18 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Always know you are on to a good thing when, apart from the initial hello, you don't have any contact with the owners at all!. ....we stayed in south wing which had everything we wanted and more. ...lovely decor, comfortable beds, fab showers, log burner,well equipped kitchen, and a well thought out information booklet which answered all questions we may have had! .....and that's just the inside. ...the outside and grounds are simply beautiful...it was a perfect base for us to explore padstow, port isaac, Newquay,eden project, charlestown. It is hidden away in a peaceful area which we loved and would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maps81322...
1 review
“excellent holiday home”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

My family and I stayed in Butterwell South Wing and had a lovely 2 weeks in August despite the wet weather. Very clean, spacious, well equipped and well situated for Cornwalls resorts.Sam and Rachel was very friendly, always there if needed.Will recommend to anybody.Hope to visit again. Thankyou.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 19 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have had the most wonderful time in Cornwall, staying at Butterwell Farm. The accommodation was superb, in an amazing location and situated conveniently to many attractions and places of interest.
The Camel river and Camel trail run at the end of the property and are excellent for walking or biking. Another fabulous place to visit is the Camel Vally Vineyard, which is easily reached just off the Camel Trail. You can either tour the vineyard or just enjoy a glass or two on the terrace, overlooking some stunning scenery back to Butterwell Farm.
The accommodation itself was excellent. Plenty of room and furnished to a very high standard. It was a real home from home with everything you could want or need. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Sam and Rachel were on hand to help, if needed and Sam went the extra mile, helping us to fit a car battery after ours died. Nothing was too much trouble and it was great that they were just next door should we need anything.
You must try the fresh eggs from the hens. They were delicious!
This is without a doubt the best place we have stayed in Cornwall and we would not hesitate to stay again in the future.
Thank you Sam, Rachel and Jack.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellagoing...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing country retreat”
Reviewed 8 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This is a wonderful spacious place to stay for a quiet countryside retreat! It has nearby access to the Camel Trail for cycling or walking.For nature lovers there are mown paths near the river and in the woodland where we spotted bats, a hedgehog and a heron. Didn't see, but we did hear, an owl and baby otters. Butterwell's central location makes it 30-40 minutes drive to either coast for visiting the many attractions in the nearby area. We visited the Witch Museum at Boscastle, Eden Project, St Michaels Mount & Penzance, Kayaking at Cornish Coastal Adventures at Port Quinn, Tintagel Castle & Trebarwith Strand beach and cycled the whole Camel Trail from Bodmin to Padstow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie7210
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed in the South Wing back in April which we thoroughly enjoyed for the week. The location was excellent as it’s so close to Bodmin which has everything you may require from a town (7 minutes from cottage to be precise as I timed it).
The wing itself has absolutely everything you could think of to make it a home away from home, it was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and lots of information available to help you plan your visit. The massive Log burner and log shed was an added bonus.
The owners made us feel very welcome and the use of the driveway to unpack the car was very useful.
The cottage itself couldn’t be in a better location as it’s on the actual river Camel which is through the gate at the bottom of the garden and just over the river bridge is the famous Camel Trail for those walkers/cyclists which is great. Forgot to mention the Camel Vineyards are around a 10 minute walk from the cottage also for the wine lovers.
Overall we had an amazing stay and the location is ideal to be anywhere in Cornwall really with around 50 mins max. The famous Padstow and Rock are very close and I must say they were our favourite place we visited. You can also see Doc Martins house in the nearby Port Isaac.
We had an amazing Stay from start to finish and are looking at availability for next year for another possible visit.
Highly Recommend

The Towers Family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing