We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day”
Review of Adlington Hall

Adlington Hall
Attraction details
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We were just passing having never been before we had a look around the garden £6.00 (Aug 2917)
Maze lawns herd and rose gardens huge bee house log.
Fascinating to walk around the outside of the house which costs an additional £3.00 to visit.
Woodland walks looked interesting but we didn't have time on this occasion.
Friendly knowledgeable staff, tea room with people happy to bring tea out to you at tables on the lawn.
Will be back to see the house!

Thank timm586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful gardens and hall and very attentive staff. One of the most beautiful weddings I have been to and the food was lovely too.

Thank Cass W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Such a fantastic collection of architectural styles: so rare that they are left largely intact for us to enjoy century after century. So often an Anglo-Saxon great hall is blitzed by some Tudor lout only to have their pride and joy raised or hidden by the Georgians! Don't mention the Victorians and their heavy panelling...

Anyway, Adlington Hall is magnificent. The parking is good with level access. Pay for the guided tour, it'll reward you in knowledge and awe. There are live oaks trees involved (wink).
The gardens are charming and mostly very free form and natural. There are formal gardens with a maze etc. but these are surprisingly modern in origin.

Last be not least: The Tea Room. I hope you like CAKE.
An afternoon very well spent.

Thank seti_yeti_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdlingtonHall, General Manager at Adlington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous and thorough review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, it is always nice to hear when people appreciate Adlington Hall as much as we do.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards, Bridget.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

very interesting old house not one for guided tours but me and the wife like it great tour guide and beatiful gardens again not a big garden fan but nice to see

Thank neilwray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdlingtonHall, General Manager at Adlington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Hall and Gardens, even though you are not the biggest fan of gardens or guided tours.

Kind regards, Bridget
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

A very interesting house with Medieval,Tudor and Georgian Architecture.
The guided tour is very informative.
Beautiful gardens and godd tearoom with homemade cakes.
I highly recommend it to anyone interested in history or gardens

Thank 892tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdlingtonHall, General Manager at Adlington Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

Kind regards, Bridget
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adlington Hall also viewed

 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Adlington Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing