We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
249
188
118
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
188
118
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carvery lunch steam room abbey suite nelsons bar leisure centre bit dated overlooking the marina good size saturday night reception staff large room restaurant staff lovely view honeymoon suite great night staff were lovely function room
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed here recently to attend the Ulster Fleadh. The hotel is in a very good location overlooking the waterfront and the boats etc. Pretty. The hotel is a little bit dated and needs some freshening up, especially the bathroom which had grotty grout etc. The price was extremely reasonable for a weekend night.

The swimming pool and jacuzzi were very nice, especially the jacuzzi.

Breakfast was fine with boisterous friendly staff. The juices were from concentrate :(

The hotel did not appear to be supportive or encouraging the fleadh, despite most of the rooms being booked by supporters of the fleadh. There was a session in it on the Saturday night (not very late) and one of the managers told the musicians to end it!! And the bar staff next morning did not appear to welcome a few musicians who wanted to practice some great music before the competitions!

Bangor town was not at all encouraging or supportive of the fleadh, in fact if you were to walk through the town you would hardly have known there was a fleadh being held. I definitely won't be returning next year.

Room tip: Get a room with a view over the water
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank raffoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Wouldnt recommend marine court for lunch. We booked a table for 17, we were initally given 2 separate tables until a family member asked for us to be seated together as we had family visiting from abroad. The staff member was pretty rude and had an attitude when telling us 17 wouldnt fit at 1 table and the 2 we were given would have to do. The staff member did return 10 minutes later and said we could fit at the other side of the restaurant. Next we were told it was a carvery or kids meals, the normal menu was not available at all. Not really much choice, 3 meats, mash potato, roast potato, 2 pies and vegetables. We wernt told at any point that you could only go up once, infact we wernt spoken to at all after we gave our drinks order. You could of went for a swim in the gravy it was that watery, did ask if there was other gravy we could order but we were told that was the only gravy the chef had made, so swimming pool potatoes it was. I will say the potatoes were nice although i cant say i enjoyed anything else.The children were given colouring books but this wasnt until after wed all finished eating-helpful. We come here every year with a kbrge group and usually love it but this experience has put us off for good. Overall i wouldnt recommend!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Uni-girl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Just had a lovely break in the marine court hotel food and hotel where lovely warm clean friendly staff executive rooms are great with lovely views over the marina well worth a trip pool and spa area very good and clean

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ambfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Farcical. In Bangor for Ulster Fleadh, Nine of us including children in for a meal, waited 45 mins for first course despite being told of 10 minute or so wait. Service was rude and unhelpful, to top it all we were overcharged to the tune of £10. We pointed it out and as is our right chose not to tip (tipping = good service, right?) As we went to our cars on the seafront one of the waiters gesticulated angrily from a first floor window presumably on finding he didn't get a tip. We found it amusing, another customer might have been upset by this. Either way this man shouldn't be working in hospitality and this establishment should be thoroughly ashamed of how it treats visitors. Absolutely appalling. Btw food wasn't the worst.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank tireoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manager_125, Director of Sales at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear tireoin

Thank you for taking time to write your review of your recent visit to our restaurant. I am sorry that you found the experience fell short of your expectations. On the evening in question, when you dined with us, we were unusually busy for a Sunday evening and our team were a little stretched. When you arrived our restaurant manager explained that there would be at least a 25-minute wait for food. You and your party said that you were willing to wait and were seated accordingly. There was a delay with your food and again our restaurant manager expressed her apologies.

To further frustrate your party, you were charged for the A La Carte menu instead of the Early Evening menu which was immediately rectified when pointed out. For this we apologise – it was busy but I understand that you expected a level of service which we struggled to meet on this occasion. At no stage did our restaurant manager who served your party mention tips or service charges as this would always be completely at the discretion of the customer. We are at a loss to explain who you may have saw in the window; our team were so busy serving our guests that no one would have had time to look out the window! On a final note I am pleased that you enjoyed the food.

Kind Regards

Nora Douds
Group Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We got married here and spent a few nights. The staff where amazing. We felt we where looked after so well from start to finish. If anything went wrong behind the scene we where completly unaware of it. I would highly recommend

Room tip: suite it lovely
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debacalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews