We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real escape......and a special place”
Island cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide View of Island cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Island cottage
Causeway and jetty at low tide
View of Island cottage
Friendly neighbours
Wildlife on the saltings
Lake at the west end of the island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nellynood...
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real escape......and a special place”
Reviewed 3 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage over the New Year weekend with two other couples, my 10 year old and an 18mth old. We wanted a cosy getaway for relaxing, eating and the odd walk.....and we got it!
The cottage is lovely with a wood burning stove, simple and tasteful decor and great views over the countryside. The layout was great, good sized hall (flagstone floor) large enough for all our wellies and coats; good kitchen with everything you could be need; a lovely dining room with a big wooden table easily large enough for 8 people! The lounge is also a good size with a wood burning stove and lots of DVDs, games and books. Upstairs are 3 good sized rooms and a large bathroom, having the one toilet may be a problem for some people but it didn't seem to bother us.
The causeway is a bit daunting but with the sun just risen it looked magical driving on what is the sea bed with the sun glistening off the water pools. The island has that east coast bleakness to it and is a bit rough and ready, but that added to its charm.
Waking up to sheep in our "back garden" was wonderful and the walks around the island helped with the New Year hangover! Vicky and her family were very welcoming and even left us a couple of bottles of bubbles for New Year , which was so thoughtful.
Remember to take all you need for your trip if you don't want to leave the island, you can only drive across at low tide. But again this added to the magic of it all. My 10 year old wants to go back every year she had so much fun running around, jumping in puddles and playing with the dogs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel of the cottage.
Liked least: The mattress, could feel the springs. I always take my memory foam topper which helped.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 29 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings
Liked least: the causeway
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery, birds, outdoors, isolation, walking
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sirbalius
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Island isolation- perfect for birdwatchers”
Reviewed 27 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a weekend in February and came back for our main holiday in July as we loved it so much. The island is a peaceful retreat, very isolated, yet it's in Essex! It's a proper island, access is restricted to low tide and driving across is a real adventure. We spent our time walking, watching birds (including owls, harriers, waders and geese), enjoying the scenery and just chilling out. Oh and we did some Kayaking too! I can't recommend it enough if you want to get away from it all and are happy without easy access to a pub or shops! However it won't suit everyone, read the details on the web site and/or contact the owner before booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total isolation. Amazing birds.
Liked least: We loved everything & have been twice. It gets quite muddy!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing