We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
69
53
17
13
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
53
17
13
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yorkshire pudding the pub steak and ale pie hunters chicken late lunch kids sausage meal on saturday night great selection of drinks excellent sunday lunch dog friendly pub lovely meal flamingo land superb food yorkshire coast main road would stay again stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Kids were at Flamingo Land with friends so me and the missus decided to go for a spot of lunch.
I had the cheese burger and Karen had he scampi and chips. Good value off the classic menu and washed down with pint of Coors Lite, all in all decent value for the classic price....

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Simon42milner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

What a lovely place for lunch. The food was delicious, the staff were friendly and helpful. We shall definitely be returning for lunch again. The toilets were clean and comfortable. Dogs and children are allowed and it it a great stop off place when travelling to Whitby.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank AnnieFannie070773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Called here for few drinks and meal with hubby mum and dad both of us had a curry and mum dad had the chicken done in Stilton meal was absolutely beautiful large amount couldn't fault any of the mealgood price and nice hot food

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We visited the Black Bull twice whilst staying in Pickering. The Sunday lunch was fabulous, could not fault it. The meat was really lovely and the veg, potatoes, Yorkshire puddings were self-serve and very high quality ... so our plates were full. We all really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it.

However, having decided to go for an evening meal just a couple of days later, we were really disappointed with the food. We all had the steak and ale pie, one in a Yorkshire pud, the others in a pie. We were all really disappointed as the pastry was awful and the chips clearly old/refried. When paying, we were asked if everything was ok and we said how disappointed we were with the meal, particularly the pie lid. However, there was no apology or partial refund...just a silence. So why ask if everything was ok?

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank tateypan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Just been for family meal with my brother and are family ordered food wich most off it was eddable but order 3 portions of garlic mushrooms which tasted off vinegar politely asked if they could be changed second portion just taseted off pepper so they said they would try again 3rd lot were sour one owner's came over shouting there's nothing wrong with them stormed off into kitchen and throu the plates in the sink which was not very professional and in front my small children we spent just over hundred pound no appolagy very rude lady feel sorry for young girl who served us as she was polite and must say emmbassed will not be going there again very poor customer service and wouldn't say very hygenic allowing dog in restaurant eating area

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jasontattoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews