We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“IDILLYC”
other travellers have booked this property
Meadow`s Edge -One of the beautifully furnished ensuite bedrooms..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Meadow`s Edge -One of the beautifully furnished ensuite bedrooms..
Meadow`s Edge -Spacious ensuite bedroom with stunning views to Levisham Moor Meadow`s Edge -The characterful open plan living area with it`s feature fireplace and log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Meadow`s Edge -One of the beautifully furnished ensuite bedrooms..
Meadow`s Edge -Spacious ensuite bedroom with stunning views to Levisham Moor
Meadow`s Edge -The characterful open plan living area with it`s feature fireplace and log burner
Meadow`s Edge -The bespoke kitchen is compact and very well equipped
The south facing gardens burst into colour come spring
The landscaped central courtyard is filled with herbs and fragrant flowers
Stunning rural views over glorious countryside in the North York Moors National Park
Far reaching views over Newtondale from the open farmland behind the cottage
Wonderful walks from the door, forget the car!
We are surrounded by waymarked footpaths, Cropton Forest is open access so great walks..
Meet the neighbours!
Have a look at our other wonderful cottages -  Willows` End sleeps up to 5
Willows` End  - the inviting lounge with woodburner
All our bedrooms have fully fitted ensuite shower rooms - Middlehead has a family bathroom
Brock Cottage - pretty painted king size bedroom with ensuite shower room
Relax in the sunny conservatory reception
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pickering, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gaynor139
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“IDILLYC”
Reviewed 15 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This was our second visit to Cropton Forest Lodge and was just as amazing as the first time. We wanted a winter break in a place where it really didn't matter if we got snowed in! We stayed in Meadows Edge cottage and Sue and Ben really have thought of everything. Attention to detail is their speciality, we had fresh logs every day for the fire, tea lights, thermos flasks, a very well stocked kitchen and a lovely piece of fruit cake to greet us. The cottages are beautiful - Ben's craftsmanship is everywhere and Sue's flair with soft furnishings and pictures is delightful. We did have plenty of snow and Sue and Ben cleared the very long drive for us so that we got home safely after a day out. Add to all of this the boot room for muddy boots and wet coats and the beautiful conservatory for relaxing with a book and you really have the perfect place to stay. We are very much looking forward to our next visit - this place is worth every penny and is a rare find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the place is just beautiful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality of the property.
Liked least: Nothing, it was fantastic.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BASINGSTOKE
Reviewed 8 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bournemou...
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Six star accommodation in North Yorkshire - a really special place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This is the perfect place to relax. The accommodation is spotless and the careful attention to detail in decorating and organising it means that you will have everything you will need. The beds are beyond comfortable with the sort of sheets (scented?) that have forced me to go shopping for new linen as soon as I got home. As if by magic logs for the wood burning fire appear in the basket every day (although this might be Ben?) The surroundings are beautiful with ample opportunity for walking or strolling. So far so five star so Sawdays, but the things that makes me give Cropton Forest Lodge a six star review cannot be measured by The English Tourist Board, namely Sue and Ben. What follows is a personal story and recommendation from the heart. We had unseasonable snow during our stay which would have been a minor inconvenience and a chance to attack a board game had it not been for me going down that very day with suspected mumps. Ben personally led us down the road in his car, pushing our's out of the snow when it got stuck and would have taken me himself to the doctors in Pickering if necessary. Sue, ever so sensitively, took the time to listen to my partner's mother during a much needed break from caring for his father. This is a lovely place on the surface but it is the genuine warmth of Ben and Sue that make it an exceptional place. My only, rather selfish, fear is that in reading this you will book the week that we want next time we wish to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Customer service beyond all expectations!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing