We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
545
174
47
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
545
174
47
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hideaway room ginger pig honesty bar vintage room main building wine bar next door kedgeree homemade biscuits belly pork residents lounge big bath cosy bar underfloor heating wet room market town fish and chips the north yorkshire moors railway
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

This really is a hidden gem. We arrived on a chilly February day to a very warm welcome from the lovely Sarah, who showed us to our room. The room had everything we needed including Bath House toiletries, quality bedlinen, tea,coffee etc . We had a walk around Pickering and then returned to the warmth of The Bothy where the log burner was lit for us and we helped ourselves to complimentary tea and coffee. The food at The White Swan is exceptional, the only problem is deciding what to choose both for dinner and breakfast. All the staff are so helpful and efficient without being overbearing.We will definitely be returning soon.

Date of stay: February 2018
1  Thank sarahtuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Marketing at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Sarah, thank you for your kind and lovely review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.. Best wishes from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

I came upon this hotel whole researching places to stay with our dog, Sadie, as we find it hard to book somewhere good with a dog.We booked a 1 night winter warmer offer.
We arrived early and our room (rm 21) was ready for us. It was lovely and definitely suitable for us and our dog. Enough room for Sadie and her large dog bed. Plenty of parking close by and was able to park outside our room to unload the car.
Appreciated the scone and a good selection of Gin.
Dinner was served in the bar area and Sadie was able to be with us. The food was excellent and plentiful.
Had a drink in the Bothy after dinner which was very cosy, even though the fire had gone out. Honesty bar very nice touch.
Breakfast was again served in the bar area. Plenty of choice and very tasty.
The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was spacious with lovely bath products. Enjoyed a very deep bubble bath with half of bottle of champagne. What a treat. The room was very warm even without the underfloor heating on.
Overall we had a greats night stay and hope to return again one day. Great value for money.
We will be watching for further offers.

Room tip: Room 21 dog friendly. Probably no different in standard to all the other rooms
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bels171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Marketing at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for your great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you all back soon. Best wishes from the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We booked via secret escapes which gave us a stay in one of the hideaway rooms, dinner that evening, breakfast & late checkout. We found the hotel easily and there was ampful private parking towards the back of the building. We were checked in by a lovely lady who showed us to our room, telling us what we needed to know.

The hideaway room was really lovely. It was situated to the back of the hotel, separete from the main building which was just a few seconds walk away. The room was very spacious with a lovely stone floor & underfloor heating. The bathroom was very clean & had a good sized bath & a very good shower. The room also came with a television & complimentary tea & coffee tray with kettle.

The food we had for dinner was to die for. We had three courses & all were extremely tasty. The gin & beer went down a treat also & the service & staff were fantastic. The restaurant area is cosy & classy.

The breakfast was really good too, continental & cooked. We had lots of filter coffee & again the service was top notch.

The only thing that let us down was how extremely hot the room was. We turned the underfloor heating right down to its lowest but still had to open the door for at least half an hr before it became cooler. As we were going to bed we had to shut the door, so the room became hotter again which meant it was like sleeping in what I can only describe as an oven! We unfortunately didn't get much sleep but this would definitely not put us off coming again. We would just advise anyone to turn the heating off about 4 hrs before bed and to leave the window open a little. If we had done this b4 dinner, we would have probably had more sleep :)

We would more than recommend The White Swan. It had everything we needed for a lovely romantic stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joannasaunders38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Marketing at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you for your kind and lovely review; we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and can only apologise for the room temperature. The Hideaway rooms are warm and we do always try to advise people that if they don't like a warm room to turn the heating off or down before dinner. Next time you book please mention it and we'll turn the heating off before you arrive. The room will still be a comfortable temperature but it will prevent you overheating and allow for the kind of nights sleep that you deserve We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable relaxing stay, staffed by professional and natural happy humans with great personality and a great sense of humour.

Only booked on a whim and stayed the Saturday, booked direct and this was appreciated by the hotel. Sarah took my initial call and dealt with my request for a bed without a foot board (due to my very long body and very long legs) Upon arrival Racheal explained everything and showed us to our accommodation, again like Sarah she had a great personality and made it seem as if we were friends staying over rather than clients (corporate hotels do this) the room was really nice, clean and in good decor.
Breakfast was delicious with really quality ingredients, the male who served us was again a human and first class (sorry Sir do not know your name)
This hotel was one I was wanting to visit but never got around to it however now I have been I will be back soon.

There is a residents Bothy which is a lovely outbuilding with a real fire, nice furnishing and an honesty box for the drinks, perfect for when we returned at 11.00 pm.

I could go on giving a load of specifics but just book a few nights at the hotel, relax and I know the team at the White Swan will look after you and send you away with a smile on your face. This was our wonderful experience!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, other at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

HI Mark,
Fab review, we love guests just like you! It makes our job fun. As you now know we cater for all types, heights included! Bed end, no bed end just let us know. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The pub is delightful. The small bar serves a range of real ales plus an astonishing range of spirits (none of which I tried!) The restaurant serves excellent food and has a good and reasonable wine list. My room was very comfortable and warm with scented sheets, a generous tea making facility, windows you could open, and a lovely clean bathroom. My only irritation was that people in the floor above could be heard walking about. Wifi, TV with freeview, plenty of parking. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming. The highlight of my stay was breakfast with a choice of full English, kippers, smoked haddock or smoked salmon. Heaven.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeremySG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Marketing at The White Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Jeremy, thank you for your great review. We're sorry that you could hear the people above you, next time you book please ask for one of the upper Hideaway rooms at the back and this should not be an issue! We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews