We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food's fairly good but watch the prices!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Inn

Fortune Inn
Ranked #47 of 66 Restaurants in Pickering
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OPPOSITE TO FAMOUS NORTH YORKSHIRE STEAM RAILWAY STATION
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Food's fairly good but watch the prices!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Very welcoming hostess (a bit OTT if I'm honest) but service was fairly slow. Food was nice though if not quite spicy enough for daughter and I. Expensive for a Chinese though!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Planningmyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    42
    16
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

As the title says, excellent food and service, one the best Chinese meals I have had in a long while

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank welshdavies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Please visit, you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The food was good, the customer service second to none.....thank you Ming, we will be visiting again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, enthusiatic staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The food is good and varied, served promptly even for large parties, and the staff are great.
We've been back many times.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very disappointing, food less than average and decor depressing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

On reading other people's reviews I am wondering did I go to the same restaurant as those reviewers! I was really looking forward to our visit but came away disappointed. The decor is rather depressing, paper tablecloths (a bit mean considering it is not particularly cheap dining), we requested chop sticks which were brought without anything to rest them on between dishes. The prices are not cheap and cheerful so I expect better.

We had the combination starter and frankly it was horrible, prawn on toast ( the prawn on a thin slice of processed white bread with a thin layer of prawn paste), the won ton parcels were overcooked as were the bbq ribs. I had chicken and sweet corn soup which was fine as was my husband's won ton with vegetable soup. The main course was sizzling plate chicken with ginger and onion with egg fried rice this was very average.

The service was efficient and pleasant but I would not be returning.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mercury50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fortune Inn also viewed

Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fortune Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing