We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
99
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea garden cake steam train babbling brook little gem trains pass great hosts stream running bed was very comfortable golden wedding little touches added bonus fresh flowers biscuits north yorkshire moors railway fantastic stay breakfast was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2017

The new hosts are 5 months into their transformation of this listed building and the results are already clearly on display. The peaceful environment marries well with their attention to detail in all aspects combined with their overwhelming hospitality bodes well for their future endeavours for this site. The continental breakfast was a superb selection of cold meats & cheeses and the cereal & fruit display was impressive (including plain yoghurt!). The double bed was most comfortable and the pillows were the best! Great to be woken early by the dawn chorus..............

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldButNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you for the kind and encouraging review Alan & Eileen. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was restful. Sorry that due to your car problems you missed the oportunity to see the beautiful countryside around us and visit the charming and delightful villages and country estates. Delighted that our continental breakfast, inclusive of natural yogurt pleased your taste. Enjoy the rest of your holiday here in the UK and trust that transportation hiccups will be resolved quickly. Best wishes John and Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night over the weekend and loved it. We got a complimentary slice of cake on arrival and sat in the garden for tea and coffee. We love walks and it didn't disappoint with the walk we went on being very enjoyable. The hosts were lovely people and the breakfast was very nice, only thing I would say is possibly adding another sausage to the breakfast as they were yummy and you only got one. Other than that I would definitely stay again, hoping to come again in summer!

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank Isla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Lowther House Isla. And, that you enjoyed the country environment around us. Rarely people could eat more than 1 sausage as well as all the other breakfast items, next time you visit let us know you would like 2, akways happy to feed our guest well for the long day ahead of them.

Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I did review this immediately I returned from our stay but it does not appear to have been published. I have stayed at Lowther a few times over the years and each time was very enjoyable with great hosts. However, this latest stay surpassed them all. Firstly, they have updated the house and the bedrooms and they are even nicer with more little touches that really add up to something wonderful. There is homebaked cake in the room on arrival - made by John who is a talented chef and baker. Also milk, coffee, tea and biscuits as well! John and Helen the hosts could not have been more welcoming or helpful - made us a pot of tea as soon as we arrived and very welcoming to our little Chihuahua as he nosied around their house. We stayed in the Orchard Room which had an ensuite. Bed was very comfortable and lovely views out to the back garden. So peaceful and relaxing. We ate in the House on the first night - first-rate meal, huge portions and entertaining chat from the hosts, what more could one want! In fact the meal was far better than the meal we had at the Forest and Vale the following night which was extremely disappointing in comparison and much more expensive. Helen and John lived in South Africa for a number of years before taking on Lowther HOuse and they had great stories to tell about that. In addition Helen displays a number of craft items made by the company she worked for in SA which employed people from the Townships. We bought some lovely candleholders and distressed framed prints. We must also thank John and Helen for the lovely pots of chutney which they didn't charge us for - homemade by John and absolutely delicious. Breakfast was one of best we ever had - I got a massive platter of fresh fruit, wonderful! And my boyfriend enjoyed the cooked full English. Absolutely fantastic and great value for money. Homemade cake every day which was most welcome after a day hiking up in the Moors.
All in all a wonderful stay, highly recommended. 5 star guesthouse in every way, couldn't recommend enough. Thank you again John and Helen, was lovely to meet you both.

Room tip: Orchard Room has ensuite and beautiful views out the back garden
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mb1981Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Wow! What a wonderful review you have given us Mairi. We are so so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You have been most kind in your comments, we aim to please all our guests so they go away with fond memories and want to return. We are doing some new upgrades and planning for further enhancements to our other services.

Visit us again soon.

Kind regards
John & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Beautiful and relaxing location. Plenty to do and see within a short walking distance. Our hosts Helen and John made our stay even more special, from the warm welcome on our arrival, the welcoming home made cake in our room, to the delicious meal, Moroccan Lamb was outstanding, and Vegetable Curry, were a welcome feast after a busy day. Be sure to leave room to enjoy one of John's mouth watering desserts!
Our room was comfy, and provided everything we required for our 2 night stay, to a high standard, with a beautiful view from our window, with Phil the pheasant making a regular visit, along with hearing the gentle toot of the steam train chugging by occasionally.

If you are looking for a base to go off and explore, look no further . A truly relaxing home from home, with excellent hosts in Helen and John, who go out of their way to make your stay all the more special!

Room tip: You won't be disappointed with any of the rooms, thoroughly charming
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamawoo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

We remember you well Bernard, so glad that you enjoyed the Veg curry & Moroccan lamb. Suprised you remembered the name of our pheasant, he now has 2 lady friends in tow, breeding season and all that.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay, do visit us again.

Kind regards
John & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Just returned from our overnight stay at the delightfull Lowther House.In a quiet lane with walks going right from the door is this lovely house,where we arrived early for our afternoon tea John and Helen greeted us very warmly and let us check in as our room was ready.We had our afternoon tea as a lunch to fit in with our plans,very fresh and pleantifull,choice of teas,we thoroughly enjoyed it.the dinning area was lovely,oldy worldy with book shelves and colourful deco,or you can eat in the garden,but it just wasn't quite warm enough for us.
The garden is lovely and the plans these new owners have sound great they have only been there a year or so,there is a glamping building at the bottom of the garden too.
ROOMS,We had the double with ensuite with a lovey big comfy bed,the room wasn't big but all the good points certainly for us anyway swayed this,the clean crisp lovely duvet,all soft furnishings are high spec,the window seat looking onto the lovely garden with magazines,welcome cake,choice of tea coffee hot chocolate,and even a little fridge with fresh milk and 2 bottles of water,I could have sat there ages with the binoculars they had provided but we had to get out to explore ,the bathroom is very modern,clean,well thought out use of the space,the shower is actually a wetroom style,but this worked fine for us,lovely towels.
This property is part of the dutchy heritage, and as they explained making alterations has to go through the channels,but hopefully their plans to put bathrooms in the other 2 rooms that at the moment share a bathroom will be up and running in the summer which will make this bnb even more appealing.
We would definitely go back,even on a day out to just visit the tea room and sit in the garden,if you time it right you can see the steam train go by.All in all a lovely stay,the breakfast we had this morning before we left was lovely and plentiful.Thankyou Helen and John.

Room tip: The double overlooking back garden with bathroom is lovely
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couplePonteftact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pidgeon57, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful -and very thorough - review. Our response seems so brief next to it!! Wishing your both happy traveling with your national trust membership. Kind Regards Helen and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews