We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place,Great view, Great holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glendale Cottage

Sun trapped deck overlooking the Sea and beyond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun trapped deck overlooking the Sea and beyond.
Lounge with log burner, patio doors opening onto deck with sea views Stylish modern Kitchen with everything you need
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Sun trapped deck overlooking the Sea and beyond.
Lounge with log burner, patio doors opening onto deck with sea views
Stylish modern Kitchen with everything you need
Bedroom 1 patio doors leading to deck and sea views
Bedroom 2, patio doors leading to deck with sea views
Twin bedroom, patio doors leading to deck overlooking the sea and woods
Dining room
Bathroom
Shower room
hot tub
Relax, enjoy and unwinde , or just have fun..
Deck with comfy seating, bbq and sun lounger.
Outdoor Boules pit.
Get away gazebo at bottom of garden
Swing at bottom of garden
Stunning sea views from the deck
mature garden
Beautiful Saundersfoot main beach - 2 minutes walk away
Pembrokeshire Coast path literally at your doorstep
Watersports galore
Tenby - 5 miles away
Pembrokeshire Coast Path at you door step.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Florence...
1 review
“Great place,Great view, Great holiday”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We arrived late at night on a wet November night and following the sensor activated lighting to the cottage, we were greeted by a wonderfully welcoming space a log fire that was set ready to burn and a bottle of wine with flowers.
We were all very impressed with the accommodation and the decking outside, which revealed the most wonderful view in the morning of the sea and surrounding forest.
The kitchen is well appointed and the decoration throughout the and garden very tasteful and very much to our liking.
There were six adults and two little French Bulldogs in our party, and we found the living
space more than adequate and a great space to enjoy each other's company.
Despite it being November, the weather was mild and so we spent a couple of evenings on the veranda, warming ourselves with a few snifters.
The log fired hot tub is a novelty, and was more than adequate for four adults, but a squeeze for six.
I note that previous reviewers have stated the hot tub is difficult to achieve temperature and a little temperamental. I suppose if you find it difficult to make a log fire , this could be the case, but we found no problems.
The garden is on three levels and is absolutely fantastic, with a "pagoda style" shelter at the bottom of the garden and a boules sandpit half way down.
The top end of the garden leads to the log store and gives access to the kayak ( although it was too cold to use it) and steps leading up to a path through the woods which leads directly to Saundersfoot beach.
The area was new to us all, but we found it captivating. There are several decent restaurants and eateries in the village ( we liked The Boathouse) and further afield in Tenby.
The dogs were very happy running around the gardens at the property, which was certainly dog proof enough for two Frencies.
I have no complaints, but would suggest that a wall mounted outdoor light over the balcony would increase the ambience, as the ground lamps were a bit too dim.
We only stayed a week, but have already booked a fortnight a stay for April 2017, and have been offered a 5% discount from the owners.
We really want to explore the area further and love Glendale so much, that this could be a regular holiday destination.
I would thoroughly recommend this as a family destination,and as a final comment would like to say that there didn't seem to be any damp issues in any of the bedrooms, although I will look when I go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of space in the property, the veranda.
Liked least: The bathrooms are a little small for my taste
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucieMJ
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing and comfortable.”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a spectacular place. We arrived with my mum, husband and 2 children. Found the property so easily from directions given.

On entering the cottage everyone's voices were rising with excitement. Even my husband who is quite chilled was becoming excitable. Fantastic decoration making the most of the space. Felt like a home not just a holiday cottage. I'm afraid to say there was only one disappointment and that was having to leave at the end of the holiday.

I rarely take time out to write reviews as sometimes they can be used as a form of complaints system. (Where not always valid or truthful feedback) but I feel the need to shout and scream about Glendale.
Well done and thank you for accommodating your guests so considerately.The television was almost redundant for us. With the children wanting to play outside. Or play draughts. Mum sat reading an array of books provided.

For 3 adults that have a very fast paced and busy work life. We had the most amazing balance of comfort to rest and be on our own or at such close proximity to outdoor activities.

Clear informative and relevant information.
Clean rooms.
All facilities provided. Excellent hosts.
What a gem of a place to stay.
Having taken a holiday a year around Tenby, Amroth area for the last 12+ years. We have never stayed in the same venue twice. Not through disappointment but in search for something different. Needless to say our search is over. We will be back. See you next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best UK holiday we have ever had!”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent communication leading up to the holiday. Superb location, easy walking distance to a great beach, lots of walks. Secluded gardens, wonderful hot tub, great views from balcony, peaceful and even the weather was kind! House was very clean, instantly felt relaxed. As it was our first visit to this area we were also surprised on how many excellent places there were to visit for all the family. Usually glad to go home at the end of a holiday, this was definitely not the case! Not even sure we should be writing this as it will be even more difficult to find a date for another booking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the property
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickyB60
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“This property is damp.”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A very well positioned holiday home with stunning views and good amenities. Unfortunately the third bedroom was very damp (mould on the walls, and a nasty smell) and made for very uncomfortable sleeping. The bedding felt increasingly cold and damp as the week went on. We were on a much anticipated family holiday (6 adults and a baby) and I didn't want to ruin our stay so we put up with it until the last night when we slept in the sitting room under our own picnic blankets. We contacted the owner on our first day home to explain. The bedroom walls were clean when we arrived but with occupation (ie 6 people showering in the shower room next door, which had no extractor fan) by the end of the week mould was growing all along the wall where the bedhead was and either side of the patio doors. We constantly opened windows to air things but nothing helped. The damp problem needs addressing properly. However when we contacted the owner (with 3 photographs) he explained that the cleaners had now cleaned the walls! and that there was no smell of damp. If cleaning the walls is how they deal with the damp then good luck to anyone else who books to stay here. I cannot recommend this property because of the response from the owner to a genuine complaint.

Liked least: The damp in the third bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you to Trip Advisor for allowing us to respond. This property is not damp. Glendale has been rated 5 star by the Welsh Tourist Board -you can see from the rest of the reviews that this property is outstanding and well maintained. In 5 years of renting this property we have never had a complaint such as this. We were notified by the guests that they had experienced a problem only after they had departed, and immediately, they asked us for compensation. We thought this was unusual as we had visited the property mid week, because they had locked themselves out, and nothing was mentioned to us. As soon as we received the complaint - we investigated thoroughly. There was absolutely no smell of damp in the bedroom. There was a small patch of mould found next to the window which was overlooked by the cleaner. This, in no way, effected the general atmosphere or smell of the room. We take all concerns very seriously. It is quite clear to us that this overly dramatic response, and the threat of a poor review, was an attempt to leverage compensation. We don't feel this is how the review process should be used.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandO83
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage, Great Location - Highly Recommend :-)”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner, I and our dog spent at week at Glendale in September. The cottage was spacious and had a good sized decking area with sea views and a BBQ. There was also a log burning hot tub, which was great. As with a lot of other reviews, we agree that it took a bit of getting used to with regards to how much wood is required and when to light the fire depending on what time you wish to use it, but none the less, after chopping the wood, you certainly feel like you've earned your soak in there! It's incredibly peaceful at night especially. The cottage itself is in a good location, 5-10 mins drive from Tenby, which is definitely worth a visit, and a 10 minute walk into Saundersfoot. It's quite a steep hill into Saundersfoot and there are a fair few steps at the property therefore it's probably not the best for people who have difficulty walking/less mobile etc. The garden is pretty, however it definitely wasn't secure. We therefore couldn't let our dog enjoy the garden which was a shame. Both Tenby, Saundersfoot and Glen beach were all beautiful and we were fortunate to have fantastic weather and were able to enjoy them. On the whole, we had a fantastic, relaxing time at Glendale Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing