We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb house , beautiful features, spacious and...”

Review of Newholme House

Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Set within a beautiful gardens, Newholme House is a luxurious and spacious 6 bedroom home that has p
Large Sitting Room
Double bedroom.  Suitable for one or two guests.
Extra large, open plan, fully fitted kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Stirling, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ebsudsy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb house , beautiful features, spacious and excellent standard.”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Newholme House from Saturday 21st December 2013 until Friday 27th December . We chose Newholme for a family Christmas and a 40th birthday party . We were a party of 12, 6 adults and 6 children and we were absolutely delighted with Newholme . The house offers plenty of space we never felt cramped . The bedrooms are very large and the linens and towels all of excellent quality . There was the lovely touches of quality toiletries in each room which made us feel as if we were in a quality accomodation . The bathrooms ( there are 4 in all ) are all very clean and have been updated to include two excellent showers . The two living areas are beautifully decorated with period features which also included two fireplaces which had coal / logs making it warm and cosy all day . The more modern living room included a tv and DVD player and made it ideal as a 'kids' living room . The sofas in both rooms were comfortable and there was plenty of seating for everyone . There was a large dining room which sat us easily for christmas dinner and had two smaller tables which gave us additional space when other family members came to visit . Our favourite room was the huge kitchen . It was warm , spacious and had every utensil that we needed . Cooking in it was a pleasure and I easily cooked for 15. It is well stocked with glasses , table ware etc and has a fabulous range cooker and american style fridge freezer.
We loved our lovely gift of cupcakes on arrival ., they were yummy ! .
We all loved our stay at Newholme. David and Nikki made us feel so welcome and well looked after , they even took our dogs for walks which was do kind of them . We had a small problem with sockets upstairs and David immediately got us an electrician who fixed the problem straight away ..this was much appreciated as it was Christmas Day . Both David and Nikki were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble . I would not hesitate to recommend Newholme house to anyone looking for spacious family accomodation of an excellent standard . Having rented many houses over the years this was one of the best and we hope one day we are able to return . Thanks David and Nikki .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2013
Dear Elaine, many thanks for your prompt and very kind review, I am currently just finishing the changeover, made so much easier by your kind efforts in cleaning and hoovering!!!much appreciated. We were delighted to have you as guests and so very happy that the whole family enjoyed their Xmas here at Newholme, and I especially enjoyed walking Bailey and Molly….or Marley and me as I now remember them..free home here at any time for either of the dogs!! We hope that you are able to visit again and with some luck with the weather and the time of the year will allow you to use the garden as well. Best wishes for the New year
Regards David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RKClarke
Oban
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfort and style”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

A family holiday - 8 adults, 2 babies, 2 young children and a teenager. Stayed for 2 nights, limited to circumstances at the time. Furnished and equipped to a high standard. All inclusive of all but food. Spacious and homely, two excellent lounges. Fully equipped kitchen etc., though the large cooker took a bit of getting used to. Great showers. Accommodation suited to all ages, and loads of room and space, though the rugs on wooden floors meant that kids running around (as they do) were skidding all over the place. Having said that we had no accidents or falls! Plenty of car parking space, and room to run off energy in the garden. What made this better than the usual self-catering: homely, lovely coal/wood fires, toiletries in all bedrooms, salt, pepper, cling film, foil, equipment, dishwasher - with tablets etc. etc. in kitchen, good quality bedding and towels, plenty of games and books,
Everyone enjoyed their stay here, and wanted to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of accommodation
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2013
we are so glad you enjoyed your stay..and I apologise for not saying that you can just lift the carpets in the hall to allow the kids to play hide and seek without sliding through the door!! I hope you all enjoyed your stay and it was great, as always to see families getting together, and it is becoming a recurring theme here at Newholme and we look forward to seeing you all again,perhaps for the extra night and as discussed with the extra couple.
A merry xmas to you all
David and Nikki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Newholme House. David and Nikki are such kind hosts and could not have made us feel more welcome. This beautiful, large house has a very traditional Scottish feel and, despite it's size, it is very warm and cosy. Our bed was as comfortable as any bed I have ever slept in! A great house in a great location with great hosts. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We so enjoyed having you and can't wait until you come back for a visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C
Cupar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just exactly what I had hoped for!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

If you intend having a family 'get-together' this house is quite perfect. There is plenty of space for a large group without feeling cramped and with two sitting rooms it is possible to have a 'quiet' room and one for television or whatever. We stayed at Newhome with four children under ten years of age and it was an excellent house for them too - Hide and Seek will never be the same again! Nikki and David made us so welcome, just as though we were family coming to stay for a visit. We would certainly recommend Newhome and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
We are so pleased that Newholme was part of your special celebration. It's a perfect venue for these lovely get togethers and we're so pleased that you and your family had such a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
811Nancy
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Amazing House!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this house for a week for eight people. The house offered tons of room. Each of the three couples had their own king-size bed with a sink in each room. The kids each had their own bedroom with a double bed, plus we still had a bedroom to spare! Having three bathrooms was a bonus! The house is truly amazing with beautiful gardens and plenty of room for three families. There is a huge living room and den, and the kitchen is large and spacious with all the necessary amenities. We invited family from Scotland over for dinner and had no problem seating 14 in the dining room.

The Newholme house is in the ideal location making it an easy walk into Stirling. Be sure to make your way to the Torbrex Inn for dinner. It's about a 15 minute walk from the house. The town of Stirling is very picturesque with many shops and restaurants. Stirling Castle was incredible! The house was our hub and we either drove or took the train to see other parts of Scotland. It was perfect!

Nikki and David were wonderful hosts. It was handy having them nearby. They provided suggestions and answered any questions that we had. David was very helpful in organizing golf for the men. We had a fabulous time in what I would call a mansion and would definitely enjoy another stay in the Newholme House in the future!

Nancy
CANADA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having lots of room and the beautiful gardens!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! I think we enjoyed having your group here as much as you enjoyed being here and we hope to get you back one day. Christmas is beautiful at Newholme or perhaps a golf tour based out of Newholme? David would love arrange something for the guys. We'd love to invite you back for a tour of our new house! I hope we'll keep in touch. Our best to everyone! Best wishes, Nikki and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing