We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
29
10
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
10
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones warm welcome city centre nevis cleanliness refurbishment tv
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018

A nice hotel, very relaxed feel and nice bar.
Room was very comfortable, parking at the rear was secure and great for leaving the car and walking up to the castle.
Nice breakfast and friendly staff.
Easy to find.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windymilla2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We only stayed here for one night which we regretted because this was by far the nicest place we stayed on our two week tour of Scotland. The beautiful restored building lies in a quieter street just outside the city center. Our room was in the basement but by no means dark or dingy . It was very spacious and decorated in a modern way but it still complemented the Georgian style of the building. Staff were all very friendly and spontaneous and the food and drinks were tasty.So definitely on our "return to" list. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: the hotel doesn't have a lift but staff is there to help if needed
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We chose this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and travelled from Nottinghamshire. Centrally located with a free car park. We were greeted in reception and checked in late afternoon on Saturday, our luggage was taken to our room called Nevis whilst we had a drink in the bar. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and very tastefully decorated with subtle Scottish notes of colour, pattern and artwork. The bar area has a vast amount of drinks available, the bar staff were very attentive, offering wines to suit my taste. We went to our room which we found to follow the decor of the bar and restaurant area, crisp white bedding, tv, tassimo drinks machine and hairdryer. In the bathroom were plenty of thick fluffy towels and locally made toiletries available, shower gel, shampoo/conditioner and moisturising cream. Before our meal we decided to take a walk round Stirling centre which is on the doorstep, lots of local independent retailers, a shopping mall. We decided to eat at the hotel, we had home made hummus, ciabatta bread followed by a marinated Perthshire Lamb rump with pancetta crushed potatoes and home made pesto with broad beans. I think the best lamb my husbands ever tasted. I had North Sea Haddock and chips, home made crushed garden peas, IPA battered haddock and twice fried chips with fresh mint tartare sauce. Richard the Manager was very attentive throughout our meal and really looked after us. Our overnight stay was very very comfortable, the hotel has kept its original sash windows (amongst other features )that i loved. Breakfast ran from 7am -12 so need to rush. My husband had poached eggs, cooked to perfection on french toast with fresh juice, i chose a traditional Scottish breakfast of egg, beans, french toast, locally sourced sausage, Scottish tattie, black pudding and a pot of tea. There's also cereal and fresh fruit available. We ventured out for the afternoon and visited Stirling castle, about a 15 mins walk away. I'd recommend this hotel and will definitely visit again. The refurbishment is incredible and no expense has been spared.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Warm welcome; small lounge area or bar to wait on friends before being shown to table; menu was OK; service was good but the food was uninspiring and very average and could have been better for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bugsgreen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We had a party of 10 in for afternoon tea, prosecco and cocktails. The food was absolutely fantastic and enjoyed by everyone. The manager was so attentive and ensured we had everything we needed. The only slightly negative comment would be that the drinks service could be improved.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews