We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,286)
Filter reviews
2,286 results
Traveller rating
778
832
393
173
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
778
832
393
173
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold schoolleisure facilitieshigh schoolspa treatmentssteam roomsteep hillpremium roomlovely hotellate checktown centreold buildingcourse mealafternoon teabirthday treatshort breakample parkingbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,286 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018

This is a lovely hotel in an 1885 schoolhouse that has been tastefully updated. The staff were warm and friendly and our room was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was stunning! It was just a few steps to the Stirling Castle and other historic Stirling sites. In response to a review that said there was no air conditioning, we didn't expect that there would be since it was in Scotland and temperatures are almost always cool enough to not need it. We were there during unseasonably warm weather and we just opened the windows to let in the cool evening breeze.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Definitely not 4 star rooms. No air con and if you have a baby, do not stay here. No where to heat your baby’s food and they won’t do it for you. The staff were friendly and the leisure centre was pretty decent. Breakfast is greatly over priced for what you get! Not worth the prices they charge, won’t be returning.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here many a time and was here for a birthday overnight , arrived early and got into our room. Room was ideal and good size some nice chocolates and proseco left out for us.
Used the pool and steam room etc and then had a fab dinner which included drinks in the deal , staff were excellent and looked after us all.
Breakfast in morning was full Scottish and was well presented and very nice.
Will be back .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank greggster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel has no air conditioning. So when we entered our room it was stuffy and the windows barely crack open. It’s summer in Scotland so the temperature is in the mid 60s, and it’s 2018 so having no air conditioning made for a hot nights sleep. To make matters worse the king sized bed has a thick duvet-no sheet. At least offer guests a desk fan. Slept with the windows and curtains open so it was loud (drunks, birds and traffic) and the worst sleep I’ve ever had. Not impressed....

Only plus-good location. Halfway up the hill to the castle and Main Street for Stirling.

Time to step it up!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Megfromb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights. Hotel formed from old school but bedroom decor and bathroom very dated. Great bar which is good value.... two g&t’s for £10! Breakfast very disappointing. Let’s say not good value for money. Good parking.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrewintheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews