We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,323)
Filter reviews
2,323 results
Traveller rating
789
845
404
174
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
845
404
174
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old school leisure facilities high school spa treatments steam room steep hill premium room lovely hotel late check town centre old building course meal birthday treat afternoon tea short break ample parking buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 2,323 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful day at the stirling highland hotel. A lovely building full of character. Spa area in the process of some work getting done to squash courts but all other facilities fine. Pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room all working. The staff were all great from the very friendly receptionist who was very helpful to the therapists both aimee's who again were brilliant and the waiting staff over at the scholars restaurant where we had a lovely 3 course lunch. A great day had by all. Would recommend and would return.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank nikknak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StewartBond01, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear nikknak,

Delighted that you enjoyed your spa day and that all the staff were great.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

All together a good and comfortable stay would recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful and attentive reception staff were helpful and welcoming

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C8890AFalexandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

The Stirling highland hotel is gorgeous old building. My friends and I were booked in for a spa day with lunch.
The staff on the leisure reception were very friendly. However when we went through to the changing rooms I could not believe how grubby they were. The surroundings are shabby and very dated. The pool area had lovely loungers but they lay against a mouldy wall at the Jacuzzi. We could not believe they are selling this as a relaxing spa. You didn't feel comfortable walking around the pool area as it was so dirty. So disappointing would not go back to leisure facilities.
The spa treatment we received was great, the therapist Caitlin was very friendly and excellent at her job.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank 217amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StewartBond01, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear 217amanda,

Please accept my apologies that your were disappointed after your spa day at the hotel.

The external work is almost complete and we will then start work in the pool hall and spa areas. I accept that the walls in the spa area are in a poor condition but I was surprised about your comments regarding cleanliness in the pool area, I have checked this today and it is spotlessly clean.

I was glad that you found the staff to be very friendly and your treatment was "great". I hope you will return when the internal improvements have been made.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Just got home from 2 nights at the hotel. Reading earlier reviews I wouldn't say that our room was tired. It was clean, and large with a separate sitting area. The only down side was the absence of a fridge/chiller cabinet to keep bottled water chilled. The view of the Ochil Hills from the room was very good. Breakfast was very good with a buffet selection to meet all needs I would think. The quality of the evening meals justified its star but the only disappointment was that both evening's menus although slightly different were not different enough to offer a real variation. The staff were very attentiveand genuinely wanted to be of help. Thanks must go specifically to Calum who offered us a trip round the hotel's very special Observatory yesterday evening, he is such a lovely guy, this part of the hotel should not be missed. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Stirling.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StewartBond01, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear Harris G,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review, delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

The observatory is certainly worth seeing, we probably don't publicise it enough.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

The standard of this hotel is similar to premier inn however it is sad because the building is amazing and would deserve an hotel with more charm...
However no disappointment...
I havent tested the breakfast...

Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
Thank Voirailleurssijysuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StewartBond01, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Dear Voirailleurssijysuis,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your opinion.

The bedroom product in a Premier Inn is very good, however, if you had sampled the breakfast, used our extensive leisure facilities or had dinner in our AA rosetted restaurant you would have started to see the differences.

All the public areas are in the grade A historic building that was the original high school of Stirling dating back to 1854, we, and the vast majority of our customers, think it has lots of "charm".

I hope that you will return at some stage in the future and enjoy the full experience.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews