We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great in an emergency” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Inn Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airport Inn Gatwick
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
West Sussex
Level Contributor
218 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great in an emergency”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just imagine ..... you've just missed your flight at Gatwick and can't get another flight out until tomorrow and now you're inTesco Gatwick carpark calling airlines, hotels, etc and working out what to do. A quick online hotel search tells you that Gatwick Moat House has rooms at a reasonable rate ... you collect Best Western rewards .... so rather than book online, you just pop over and see if they can help out .....

They can, it's £59 for the room, sounds good, we're in! Staff very helpful offering to print out new flight confirmations, car hire docs etc. Get to the room - beds are comfy, we even have a proper size bath, not just a shower, it's looking good and we're starting to calm down. We take a walk into Horley to work off the tension and then come back for a drink & snack in the hotel bar, all good. Lovely bar staff and a special mention to Magda who went off and got my son a colouring book and crayons pack which was really appreciated and then we were off to collapse in our comfy beds.

Up and out at 6am to make sure we didn't miss the new flight and onto the bus which does the rounds around all the local hotels and I guess this would be my only grump - £6 and it stops at the travel-inn next door, then over to the Holiday Inn and when it does finally get to North Terminal (having also stopped at South Terminal) you are dropped a fair way from departures - far from ideal with luggage and a 5 year old. I reckon a taxi from the hotel would be a good plan another time, and I am sure there will be another time because this hotel is what it is - an airport hotel, but not entirely faceless, as ever it is down to the staff who were charming.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aengusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    436
    298
    110
    100
See reviews for
186
514
115
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I arrived after midnight exhausted after a long flight but check in took only a few minutes and I was soon in my comfortable room enjoying a cup of tea. The bed was very soft and comfortable just what I needed after hours of airplane seat! The bathroom had toiletries and a soak in the bath was wonderful after my long trip. The breakfast buffet was really good with lots of choice of hot or cold items to give you a good start to the day.
A shuttle bus stops outside the door every 15 minutes to return you to the airport and takes only a few minutes. Cost is £3.00 each way.
This hotel is a good stopover if you have an early flight or as I did a late arriving flight. I will use it again when I need a hotel near Gatwick

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kowloonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We really weren't expecting much from this hotel given some of the other reviews, but found it to be exactly what we wanted for the night before our flight. Big, comfy room, AMAZING shower, friendly staff, fresh and tasty breakfast. I didn't think the hotel appeared tired as others had said, they seemed to be keeping up the decor and maintenance quite nicely. The staff seemed genuinely interested in keeping the hotel running nicely. The only surprise is that you can't walk there from North Terminal. On Google Maps it looks like it's right adjacent, which is pretty much is, but a load of fences and dual carriageway with no footpath stands in between. A taxi from the North Terminal on arrival was 9GBP (rip off!) but the hotel had a fixed rate taxi service of 6GBP for return to the terminal. Otherwise the shuttle bus is every 15 mins from the hotel and is 3GBP per person. It's a couple of minutes drive in the taxi (may be longer on the bus with stops). Anyway, altogether very happy campers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here en route to Mexico in Jan 2012. We chose this hotel because of reviews on tripadvisor and its price. We payed £43.54 on lastminutetravel.co.uk for our room including breakfast for 2 people and we think it's great value for money and definitely worth paying the extra few pounds to stay here rather than a Travelodge. On arrival, we took the bus to the hotel which was £3 each single and only took about 5 minutes. On the way back to the airport in the morning we took a taxi as it's £6 too and meant we could book it the night before and relax without having to worry about missing the bus. The reception staff who were very helpful and friendly booked it for us.
Check-in was quick and our room was really nice. We had a comfortable bed, the room was warm but not too hot and the maid had even left us some towel art - a swan on our bed - we thought we'd already arrived in Mexico! It was a lovely touch and made us feel special. The bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The inclusion of shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom meant we were able to pack away our own and just bring our hand luggage that night as we'd already checked in our luggage at the airport.
The availability of on site restaurant was one of the reasons we chose this hotel and we were really pleased with the quality and price of their food. The staff there are really friendly too. There was one waitress there (Magda) who was serving dinner in the evening and serving breakfast at 6.30 the next morning and still had a great smile for everyone! The breakfast selection was excellent - hot cooked breakfast buffet, fruit, yogurts, toast, croissants, cereal, tea and coffee - what more could you want? It really set us up for the day. Dinner in the evening was very good too - I had their lamb shank which was beautifully cooked and really tasty. I thought the prices were very reasonable for a London airport hotel - around £12 to £14 for main courses with daily specials too. There was a discount voucher in our room which gave us £7.50 off when we spent £25 or more so that was a real bonus!
We slept pretty well although I would have preferred a bit more sleep - probably a combination of road noise (probably not bad for its location but then we live in the country so we're not used to it! If you live in an urban area you might not even notice the noise) and holiday excitement - so that's not the fault of the hotel. If I was staying again, I would ask for the quietest possible room although it's beside a roundabout so there's probably traffic noise on all sides? The only negative thing I can say is that we asked for a wake up call which never happened - thankfully I'd set the alarm on my phone just in case.
Overall, we were really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We thought it was great value for money and would definitely use it again. I guess they know there's a lot of competition at Gatwick so this hotel just gives that bit extra to make a good impression so you'll recommend them and come again. Well it worked for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road (if possible - there may be roads on all sides!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We booked on booking.com and when we arrived the unwelcoming receptionist told us we had pre-paid, which was fine - what she omitted to mention was that without putting credit onto our account we couldnt get a drink or a meal. We'd travelled a long way and to have to mess about with cash/credit cards at the end of a long day was a real inconvenience. The food was expensive and average although all waitress was very pleasant. The room was clean and presentable but a tad jaded.

When we checked out the next morning a different receptionist was so polite, friendly and helpful - it made such a difference.

Wouldnt rush to stay there again, can see why it's a 'night before holiday' hotel. Not bad but not good eiher

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smudge382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
0.6 km away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.6 km away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
0.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
0.7 km away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Inn Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Inn Gatwick

Property: Airport Inn Gatwick
Address: Longbridge Roundabout | Gatwick, Horley RH6 0AB, England (Formerly Gatwick Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,270 - ₹ 6,295
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Inn Gatwick 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located less than a mile from Gatwick Airport and train station, the hotel has had a complete refurbishment and transformation in 2006 and in 2013 the public area was refurbished. Offering 125 non-smoking, air-conditioned bedrooms, all with wireless internet access. The hotel also benefits from having a new range of family bedrooms sleeping between two and seven guests. A shuttle service to the airport is available 24-hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Airport Inn Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gatwick Moat House Hotel Horley
Best Western Horley
Horley Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing