We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really average ”
Review of Ye Olde Six Bells

Ye Olde Six Bells
Ranked #13 of 121 Restaurants in Horley
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Six Bells in Horley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Really slow service at the bar, staff didn’t seem to know what they were doing.

Food was very average for the price, imagine lack lustre standard cheap pub food. Not the battered cod and triple cooked chips advertised on the menu.

Outside area lacks care needs attention all tables were dirty and tired.

Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Charlotte T, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our pub.
I will pass on your feedback to my kitchen team and carry out further re-training with my bar team.
Unfortunately we have not had the weather to enable us to clear up the garden just yet, we are planning to get this done as soon as we get a dry day.
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were encouraged to give this place a go as it is close to Gatwick and seemed to have had some decent reviews. We were in for a shock!
We were shown to the table and then abandoned before finally our drinks order was taken. Drink service was okay. We selected the sticky platter but they had no chicken wings so we agreed to have mushrooms instead. The dish was very poor being totally bland and lacking any real flavour, except for the mushrooms funnily enough.
The mains took an age to arrive and we realised that all tables were having the same problem, there was clearly a huge logistic problem in the kitchen. When the mains arrived they were served warm, except for the fishcakes which were very hot, but all of the food was pretty tasteless. How do you complain about bland food? We did not bother but left trying to put the experience behind us. Nice pub, good location and car park, shame about the rest.

Thank Nicked2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at 01293 825028 so we can understand your situation better in order to try and turn your experience around.
Thank you,
Ye Olde Six Bells

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed overnight at the Holiday Inn Gatwick for an early flight next morning. We walked to Ye Olde Six Bells for our evening meal, it was very good, the pub was busy but the food and service were excellent. Would definitely recommend!

Thank sjmills51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Sjmills51, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Ye Olde Six Bells!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had a meal here, five friends and found the restaurant to be cold. The beer was cloudy, the meals came at different times. We complained that the Morrocan lamb was just lumps of fat, and were told it would be passed on to the chef. We didn’t hear anything.
We filled in the online survey they sent us and again we didn’t hear anything. We can only assume their customers or ex customers don’t matter. We will not be returning, which is a shame as we live locally, but there are much better restaurants to go to.

1  Thank suzanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Suzanne f, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. If we have any complaints sent directly to us we aim to respond to them within 24hrs. I am sorry that this did not happen on this occasion. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01293 825028 to discuss this further. We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I don't usually write reviews, but felt I had to warn people about this pub restaurant.
My husbands beer was cloudy and our starters were served 20 minutes apart.
My main course was Morrocan Lamb, consisting of three lumps of fat in a sauce, it was the worst meal I have ever had. When someone appeared to enquire how we were enjoying our meal I explained that I couldn't eat mine as it was pure fat.
He said he would pass it onto the chef and hastily moved on.
He never came back to apologise or offer me something else. My husband filled in the survey The Six Bells send out to explain why we would not return and we have never heard from them. We can only assume they don't care.

1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Linda B, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. If we have any complaints sent directly to us we aim to respond to them within 24hrs. I am sorry that this did not happen on this occasion. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01293 825028 to discuss this further. We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Six Bells also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Ye Olde Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing