We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in the heart of the southdowns”
Review of The Angel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely hotel in the heart of the southdowns”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at The Angel for two nights after hearing such good reviews about the hotel. The hotel is situated on the high street in the centre of Midhurst, the easy access to shops and restaurants makes its location ideal. Parking is straightforward as there is a private car park just behind hotel, so you don’t need to spend time driving around looking for somewhere to park. If you enjoy walking you have definitely come to the right place, the hotel is situated in the heart of the Southdowns, with many beautiful walks right on your doorstep. It is also only a forty minute drive to the coast, where you will find West Wittering beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the area, so if you plan on visiting in the summer make sure you bring your swim wear.

All the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful, making us feel exceptionally welcome, nothing seemed too much trouble. Our room was fabulous, the cleanliness of the bedroom and bathroom was wonderful, and our large four-poster double bed was extremely comfortable. We especially enjoyed the home made biscuits that we discovered in our room on arrival.

We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant on our first night, and I’m so glad we did. The food was delicious and the presentation was fantastic, and even better is that all the food is all locally sourced. Being a strict vegetarian I felt the chef did a lovely job of going out of his way to cater for me, we enjoyed our meal so much that we chose to eat there again on our second night. Breakfast also failed to disappoint, being presented with a good continental selection and a choice of hot food.

All in all we had a wonderful time at The Angel Hotel, and would definitely recommend it. We hope to come back for a second visit in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    93
    42
    9
    13
See reviews for
39
151
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hi,
Just thought I would note that although we did not stay overnight at The Angel, it is well and truly open for business if you are looking for a very pleasant evening meal. The hotel restaurant area is many miles away from what is was in 2007. it has a relaxed modern style that sits well with the older style of the building. The staff that were on duty were attentive, helpful and knowledgeable on both the menu and wines that could accompany.. The scallops were a beautiful start and I plumped for a large ribeye for main and my wife had the beautifully tender lamb. Plumped being the word as there was plenty on the plate. Many thanks, I would happily eat here again in the future. Oh the courtyard parking was a bonus at the back as the high street bays were full when we arrived, although a walk back to the car may have burned a few of the calories gained
J&C

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyweasel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

What this hotel lacks in amenities with it's rivals (i.e. spa) it more than makes up for with their accommodating staff. We booked with a Groupon deal which was amazing value. The food was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They let us choose our room out of what was available which was very clean with goose down pillows and duvet. We came back after a night out in the village intending on getting some food on the way back but left it a bit late and everything was closed. Seeing our disappointment the staff member on duty 'Magic' went above and beyond making us a huge plate of gourmet sandwiches to enjoy in our room. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We really loved this hotel. Me and my boyfriend stayed there for just one night and I really wish it could have been longer. Our room was very clean and comfortable and also lovely and quiet. The staff that greeted us were friendly as were the staff that served the very yummy breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed a lovely walk around Midhurst during our stay and the town is lovely with lots of shops and places to eat. We didnt eat in the restaurant at the hotel but it looked really nice and when (not if!) we return in the future we will be trying the restaurant food as the breakfast was gorgeous! We would recommend The Angel Hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet, friendly, clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel staff at the Angel are very friendly, welcoming and efficient. The hotel is ideally located for exploring the south downs national park and even the Sussex coast.
The food in the restaurant is excellent.
Our only minor gripes were, the dressing gowns supplied for guest use were dusty; the hotel was exceptionally warm; and the TV had no DVD facility.
Apart from that a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the back, although the double glazing is effective, a room over the high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midhurst
0.3 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
3.9 km away
Park House Hotel & Spa
11.5 km away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,054 reviews
19.3 km away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
20.2 km away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: North Street, Midhurst GU29 9DN, England (Formerly The Angel Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Midhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Midhurst
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,785 - ₹ 12,466
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Restaurant and Hotel, ideally located in the centre of the old market town of Midhurst, West Sussex. It offers a unique blend of fresh, contemporary design while paying respect to the heritage of over 400 years of history.The recently fully refurbished hotel now offers 15 stunning bedrooms, a fine restaurant, a more informal coffee house and bar and private function room. Ideal for Goodwood, Cowdray Park, Petworth, Uppark, Chichester and South Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Midhurst
The Angel Inn Midhurst, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing