We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South
Nearby Hotels
US$ 174
US$ 141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 111
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 104
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 91
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Heathrow(Hounslow)
US$ 91
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 75
US$ 67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$ 75
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 78
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 99
US$ 95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 224
US$ 202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
159
303
156
53
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
303
156
53
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern linetube stationpub next doorleicester squaresofa bedcar parkper nightfree wifibreakfast was includedbudget hotelyogurthotel is situatedbusy roadmain roadduty managerhigh streetwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Renovations we underway in the front of the hotel as we came in. The location if you are coming from the subway is .... AWESOME. I couldn't have asked for a better place. Just make sure to ask for a quiet room because it is kind of party central. There is a restaurant next door which is up till hours of the night but it didn't both me. If you are used to having and ice machine on each floor you are sadly mistaken. The ice buckets and machine are found in the front lobby close to the computer area but a little walk was fine for me. For myself I liked using the stairs but there is an elevator if you need it. The staff here was also amazing from the welcome at checkin to the goodbye at checkout. The younger gentleman in the restaurant was very kind and curteous. I think I saw him there everyday for my 6 day stay. All the ladies on the front desk were very helpful from the internet access to me trying to cancel a couple forgot reservations. The one Romanian young lady and another with her at the front were especially very kind for my whole stay. The girls directions helped when my friend and I wanted to go out and get some food close by. Every morning when I came down for breakfast it felt like at home very inviting. I hope I get to travel back to London some day soon because I would stay there again.

If travelling on foot make sure you get an Oyster Card for travel because it's so easy and convenient instead of carrying cash. This works for the buses, trains and subways. Just look at what zones you will be travelling in. If you decide to go outside the prepaid zones for a day just add 5-10 pounds for that day because when you give back your oyster card you get the remaining balance back. I hope this helps and happy travelling.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are planning on going to bed early.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porsche711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Firstly thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback, we value all feedback received whether it is positive or negative, this allows are to improve our services

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff at the hotel, how proffessional they were, I am pleased that the travel information they provided to you was very helpful.

We are currently in the process of a refurbishment of the hotel which is due to be completed summer 2012, within this refurbishment all the bedrooms will be getting new carpets, case goods, furniture and fabrics.

The hotel is directly opposite Colliers Wood Underground station which provides easy access into central London within 20 minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We are here at present, staff very pleasant, from reception throughout but hotel very jaded, needs total refurb. Room 237 abysmal location, directly below a high voltage electrical pylon. Parking extremely poor.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abingto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we value all feedback received whether it is positive or negative, as this allows us to improve the services we offer

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the staff at the hotel being pleasant and helpful.

We are currently in the process of a refurbishment of the hotel, this is due to be completed early summer 2012, as a part of this all the bedrooms are getting new carpets, case goods, furniture and fabrics. As a result of the refurbishment we have lost some of our car parking spaces.

Thank you again for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I've read some of the very mixed reviews for this hotel and can agree - in part - with some of the comments, but overall this hotel offers a dependable place to put one's head down during those occasional periods when one event or another results in central London hotels raising their prices to stupidly high levels.

For me, the location can't be faulted - directly opposite the Colliers Wood tube station, which gets you to Bank (at the heart of The City) in about 25/30 minutes and being near the start of the line, I've generally been able to make the entire journey seated.

I've found the neighbourhood to be quiet, though I sense my Platinum Priority Club memberships has treated me to rooms overlooking the quieter "garden" sides of the building.

The hotel is currently beginning a major renovation project ahead of the Olympics, so I'm sure many of the building fabric issues mentioned by other reviewers will be addressed.

I've found the bedrooms and bathrooms to be fine - well within the standards of the Holiday Inn Express brand.

I do have to agree with the reviewers who've commented on the so-called "hot breakfast". The last time I stayed, none of the hot dishes were hot, not even luke warm. Given other Holiday Inn Expresses, with the same breakfast room facilities, manage to keep food warm, there is no excuse for serving egg and meat products at such low temperatures.

At first sight, the neighbourhood seems to lack restaurants, but I've now eaten twice at the local Italian restaurant, Corleone, a few doors up the street, which I'll be reviewing separately. This offers good value, tasty meals, from a wide menu, with pleasant service in a comfortable setting. And if you show your hotel room key, they'll give you a 10 per cent discount!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we value all feedback whether it is postive or negative, this allows us to improve the services we provide

We are locationed directly opposite Colliers Wood Underground station which gives you easy access to Central London within 20 minutes.

The hotel is in the process of completing a refurbishment of the hotel and this is due to finish early summer 2012, as a result of this all the rooms will be getting new case goods, carpets, furniture and fabrics

The Free breakfast which we offer at the hotel is Continential Buffet Breakfast with three hot items, which are Baked Beans, Sausages and Scrambled Eggs, as an Express hotel this is the Brand Standard Breakfast which we can serve

Thank you again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed overnight as it was my cousin's birthday party.

Check in - so-so.

Room. Ok, but then we noticed a leak in the bathroom,. So we were offered a different room. This room had no hot water so we were offered another room. So I guess nobody actually ever checks these rooms.

Breakfast - oh my goodness what a shambles. Cold bacon, rubber eggs and just one big mess.

I got a refund for my stay. This was the second Holiday Inn I stayed it and the previous occasion was just as much of a nightmare. Never again will I use this company

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ianhb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Firstly thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay with us, we value all feedback whether it is positive or negative as this allows are to improve our service provided

The hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment which is due to be completed early summer 2012, as a part of this all the bedrooms are getting new furniture, carpets, case goods, fabrics

The breakfast we provide is the brand standard required for an Express hotel, which is a continental buffet breakfast with three hote items which are scrambled eggs, baked beans and sausages.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel is, on average, OK. It is clean, comfortable and decently equiped. A big asset is conectivity with central london (Leicester Sq./Picadilly Circus) by tube in 25 minutes maximum through Northern line (no switch of lines). 3 blocks from hotel big Sainsbury's supermarket and Marks and Spencer store. Some isolated food options nearby (for instance, Burger King 100 mts, pub next door, etc), but obviouly, not enough to repetadly plan dinners there (only as an exception).

Hotel may easily improve service by giving guests free (or at least not so expensive) access to wifi internet, placing safety boxes in rooms (not only at the lobby) and extending the time to have breakfast (it closes at 9.30 sharp, too early if you had kids to get up, spent a long night in downtown, or a arrived late the day before). Finally, lay who cleans up breakfast area should be present during breakfast as to clean tables and help guest. It is very disgusting to have to clean somebody else rubbish by yourself to get a table to have breakfast every morning. Personnel only appears at 925 am to start final cleaning and, presumably, leave job on time. On average, good value but some issues to improve, as mentioned! Hope you do and offer better service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExHiWimbledonSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Wimbledon-South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Firstly thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us, we value all feedback whether it is postive or negative as this allows us to improve our services

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel being comfortable and clean, and as you have mentioned the hotel is situated directly opposite Colliers Wood Underground station with easy access to Central London within 20 minutes

Our Breakfast times are standard, if anyone was to come down after breakfast has finished we are more than happy to get some breakfast for you.

Once again thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews