We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedded Bliss!”
Review of Vincent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vincent
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedded Bliss!”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding at the Vincent on 5/4/12. Alan and his team looked after us so well from the moment we decided that it was our perfect venue - two years previous!We could go on forever telling everyone how wonderful the hotel is - but our guests were totally overwhelmed by the venue, staff, the food and how much they truly enjoyed it. One of our guests said that it was the best wedding he had been to - apart from his own! We did spend a lot of time planning and thinking of unique components of our wedding, but the staff really did make everything happen exactly how we wanted it. The comments we recieved from some of staff themseves were very complimentary and just wonderful to hear, such as all our family and friends were such lovely people and so polite and friendly towards them.We hope everyone who visits, treat the staff the same because they all work so very hard! This includes the girls who work in the Spa - the Ladies Pamper day is exquisit and highly recommended!
So thank you, for a truly wonderful and unforgettable experience. Looking forward to visiting, staying, eating and being pampered again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    306
    108
    52
    50
See reviews for
160
583
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We had a great lunch recently, good value and prompt friendly service. I didn't see anyone pretending to be a WAG at all!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, General Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
We’re delighted that you had a lovely experience and are happy that you didn’t think us ‘pretentious!’

We like to think we cater for the needs of everyone from all walks of life!

Thanks for the lovely review and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Alan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the Vincent and received a lovely welcome from reception and took up the offer of valet parking which was perfect as you could leave your car at the front door and it was brought back on request!! Room was lovely and very modern - breakfast fantastic service and so much choice!!
Restaurant very very busy for dinner so would recommend to book - and ask for a table in the window to people watch!! Food Excellent and great value - staff lovely too - As soon as we checked out we were trying to plan when we could next return.... hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: front room facing lord street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediterranean-shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, General Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for your outstanding review. We’re delighted that you had such a thrilling stay. We’re glad you enjoyed our food. The V Cafe was recently awarded two Rosettes for culinary excellence and picked up a best restaurant award just two days ago!

Thank you very much for your kind words and lovely review – we cant wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards


Alan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Vincent for 2 nights whilst attending the Grand National. The greeting was fine on arrival and Sarah on reception was particularly cheerful. However the charm ends there, on being shown are room we soon discovered the missing essentials. For a hotel of this standard there is no trouser press and on enquiry was told "sorry sir you will have to use the iron and ironing board in the wardrobe".also no mirror above the dresser which in the poorly lit room was a problem for the other half doing her make-up. We had found the ironing board inside a so called wardrobe which was a single 20 inch wide open hanging rail with a curtain across the front so to be able to hang up your clothes you have to eject the ironing board. Drawer space is also limited to 2 small bedside cabinet drawers. The TV did not work and I had to ring reception who sent Colin one of the door greeters to sort it out for me. The bathroom was nice though and although the bath is small the over-bath shower made up for this which was the best point going for the compact room.
If you decide to use the small residents "members bar" beware as they are quite selective, on our second night when we tried to gather some seats around a table we were told not to move the furniture so I asked if I could sit at the same table as the previous evening which apparently was "reserved" and to sit at this table there was a minimum spend of £1000!! so on questioning this Alan the manager suggested we sit in the reception with our drinks. Later we discovered that the table was for Colleen Rooney and her party , and on there arrival Alan and the rest of the boys quickly re-arranged all of the furniture for them. So my suggestion would be to avoid the bar altogether.
Keep an eye on your bill too when checking out as in my case a £30 parking charge was levied when I did not even bring a car with me.
One final point , if you are sleeping at the rear of the building DO NOT SLEEP WITH THE WINDOW OPEN as you will be woken by drunken revellers right up until 5.30am in the morning which we experienced both nights.
All in all a well located Hotel with pleasant greeting staff but it all ends there, do yourself a favour and check out the Premier Inn on the promenade or the Remada further along the road.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, General Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review; I am delighted you found Sarah’s welcome cheerful.

We have very few requests for trouser presses and therefore don’t put them in our rooms I’m afraid. We do offer dry cleaning, laundry and ironing services which are detailed in our guest service directory in our bedrooms.

Thank you for highlighting the lack of a mirror above the dressing table, we will look at this. We do have a number of illuminated makeup mirrors available should they be needed and would have been happy to provide one on request. The boutique style of the Vincent lends nicely to mood lighting which lots of our guests love. Again we would have been pleased to provide you with additional lighting in your room had you let us know.

We know that many of our guests love the spaciousness of our bedrooms. The clothes hanging and storage area whilst compact, is purpose built and storage space is plentiful. There is certainly lots more space to be utilised other than the two bedside cabinets you mention.

I am sorry you had difficulty with the flat screen television, but was glad Colin was able to switch it on for you in an instant. I am also glad you liked the shower over our Japanese soaking tubs, which are a real design feature of our bathrooms.

The McGee Bar is extremely popular and our recent award for being the safest bar in Southport reflects the fact that our friendly security team only let nice people in- so in that way I agree we might be described as being selective – this approach undoubtedly helps us provide a great and safe atmosphere and helps our guests to really enjoy what we have to offer.

I of course remember our discussions around your request to move the seating. Although at the time the bar was not particularly busy, we knew it was going to get extremely busy pretty soon thereafter. What you were asking to do was move seating close to the DJ booth.

As you note the bar is a small space and I explained to you this was a high traffic area and it wasn’t ideal to have chairs positioned there. It was also blocking a service area which the bar tenders use considerably throughout the course of a busy service. Having the chairs there would present a health and safety hazard and would impact on the great service we strive to deliver.

Whilst I appreciate you felt i was being unreasonable, we do need to balance the needs of all who use the bar and I am sorry you were disappointed and decided to retire to bed. Your friend stayed in the McGee bar all evening and had a great night with us and shortly after you left did get seats which he was able to use all night.

Your friend did however think I should have offered you all complimentary drinks as compensation and whilst I’m not averse to buying a round of drinks on occasions, I did feel we hadn’t done anything particularly wrong other than try to offer alternatives and provide everyone in the bar with a great night.

The party that had reserved a table had asked for more chairs which we supplied, but this was far away from the location you had wanted them and was in a much more appropriate space to provide additional seating.

I am sorry there was an incorrect charge on your account which I know was credited off immediately upon discovery.

Lots of our guests sleep with the windows open – It was Grand National weekend and the Liverpool and Everton derby and there was no doubt about it - the town was in party spirit over that weekend!

Whilst your friend told me on numerous occasions how much he had enjoyed the hotel and food and also dinner at our sister restaurant the Warehouse Kitchen and Bar – I am sorry we were not able to impress you.


Kind regards

Alan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had a lovely day at their Spa. Everything was perfect, from the surroundings, the treatments, the food and cocktails. The beauty therapists did all they could to make it a special experience. Would recommend this pamper package and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVincentHotel, General Manager at Vincent, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for your excellent review.

we are glad you felt relaxed and were able to take full advantage of what our beautiful spa has to offer.

The spa girls are always on top-form and are constantly going the extra mile to make our guests feel as relaxed and comfortable as possible.

We’re glad you appreciated the Lucy and Lyndsey's work in the spa and we look forward to your forthcoming visit!

Kind regards

Alan and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southport hotels
0.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
2,947 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
547 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#7 of 23 in Southport
681 reviews
0.2 km away
Britannia Prince of Wales - Southport
0.3 km away
The Talbot Hotel
The Talbot Hotel
#5 of 23 in Southport
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vincent? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vincent

Property: Vincent
Address: 98 Lord Street, Southport PR8 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Southport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southport
#4 Family Hotel in Southport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southport
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,012 - ₹ 17,736
Hotel Class:4 star — Vincent 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Vincent Hotel The Vincent Hotel, Southport is a unique lifestyle hotel for the North West of England. Situated on Lord Street, Southport’s Parisienne Boulevard, the Vincent takes comfort and personal service to new heights – all within a fresh, stylish and contemporary interior. We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vincent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vincent Hotel Southport
Vincent Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing