We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pontins Southport Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$ 123
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 122
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Talbot Hotel(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bold Hotel(Southport)
US$ 148
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balmoral Lodge Hotel(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
US$ 66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 156
US$ 131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southport Central Hotel(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Southport Hotel(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (4,334)
Filter reviews
4,334 results
Traveller rating
390
652
722
471
2,099
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
390
652
722
471
2,099
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 4,334 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

For a very cheap weekend away, we really can’t grumble! Yes the room was a bit tired, leak from the bathroom tap, floor could’ve done with a proper clean and it took ages to warm up the room - but we were the first guests of the season so the heating hadn’t been on all winter and we didn’t arrive until 10pm. Reception were ok, sent a guy round quickly who was very nice and did his best to put things right. (Turns out we hadn’t set the heating system up properly). Pool was freezing cold as the heating wasn’t working but on a good day looked like it’d be quite fun. Weather was terrible so that didn’t help sell the park either! No way would we pay full price for what we experienced, as I said it was just opening up for the spring but I feel they weren’t properly prepared. However, despite the negatives, it looked like it’d be really nice in the warmer weather. Very close to the beach and town. As the title says, a bit shabby but for the price it was fine

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Melody E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSolutions, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of our Southport Park on Trip Advisor. I will pass the entire review onto the team at the holiday park so they are aware of what you experienced as they will want to do their best to avoid this happening in future. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived Monday 2nd April 2018, if we had arrived the day before we'd have though it was an April fools frank.
Where do I start, checked in and went to the Nisa shop within reception. Nearly broke my neck after slipping on what looked like sick on the floor. Approached a young girl employee to tell her and was completely blanked as she walked by. Challenged her again and enquired why she didn't answer me. "I didn't think you were talking to me" she replied. Clearly no other person around. Oh dear, all down hill from there, reception looked like behind the scenes of some holiday park comedy show. Staff looked like they didn't want to be there, lets face it, who would after experiencing what we did. arcade within reception with at least 1/3 of the machines out of order and some smashed to bits with exposed wiring that any child (and there were many) could easily get their hands on.

The chalet
Got there eventually with no directions or map, just a key with a block and chalet number on. The door had what looked like sick of excrement splattered down it, window were filthy, not a single door closed properly and the chalet door had more gaps than Madonnas teeth. TV was from the 80s minus the 50 pence coin slot on the back, wardrobe in the lounge (I use the word 'lounge' loosely) you couldn't lounge on what furniture they have put in there. Lack of plug sockets everywhere, electrical safety check stickers in the kitchen cupboard where the electric meter is located only show as far as 2010. Bathroom disgusting, you feel dirty even getting out of the shower. The whole place looks drab and depressing, domestic chipboard flooring being painted and used for park fencing around green areas. (i say green areas, when you can see the grass after the ponds of water eventually subside if there's been a rain shower). The whole park doesn't seem to have adequate drainage.

The Club House.
Drab, tired and freezing cold with none or very little heating, when looking around the room, most people have jackets or coats on. The park is advertised as NEW Pontins "born in February 2011" proudly displayed on the big screens to the left, right and behind the stage. It is very hard to see where any money has been spent on this place in the last 30 years never mind since 2011. On a positive note, the park staff were immaculately turned out, strutting their stuff in those bright blue uniforms like air line staff, shame i cant make the same comparison in the service provided.

The Checkout
Decided enough was enough so we went to checkout on Wednesday 4th (2 day early). Handed the key back to reception and pointed this out to a young lady approx early 20's and was asked "Was this anything to do with the park?" to which i replied "Well where do i start" and thought better of going down that path due to the fact that there isn't any point really. Management are either delusional about what kind of park they are running or simply don't give a damn and leave the staff to deal with the flack from the fallout and believe me there are plenty of unhappy customers. I suspect it's a combination of all.

If any of the management team from Pontins (southport) would like me to elaborate on any of the above points. Please feel free to contact me: whitestarprints@hotmail.com


Regards,

Will Notreturn

Room Tip: Avoid like the plaque
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
13  Thank Mikey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSolutions, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. If I could please ask the lead name to contact our Guest Solutions Team within 28 days of departure at (guestsolutions@pontins.com) with your concerns in order for them to fully investigate and appropriately action the above issues you have raised. Please also include your reservation details as this will help with the investigation process. Once investigated our team will contact you directly with a formal response. For full details please click on the link https://www.pontins.com/contact-us/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2 days before we went my wife said we could be in for rude awakening, 100's of reviewers were saying things bed bugs spiders all these creepy things, when we got to the camp it looked like the series Hi Dee Hi, from the sixties... but we were only using it as a base to sight see the area.. we found water hot bedding clean staff were the nicest staff we can remember, so if like us it's just a base give it a try.. Liverpool isn't far away, as is Blackpool... so enjoy...

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSolutions, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that despite reading the negative reviews beforehand, you were willing to visit our Southport Park regardless. I do hope that you had an overall enjoyable experience and I hope your experience does not deter you from booking with Pontins again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never in my life have I ever stayed anywhere quite so disgusting as this excuse of a holiday park. Booked a 4 night stay with friends and family. Arrived to a filthy, tatty, moldy, wet floored, badly painted, revolting apartment I honestly wouldn't let my dog sleep in It!! It stunk of rotting corpses and the floors were so dirty and damp we had to go to primarni in Southport and buy wellies for the kids to wear inside!!
The staff were useless as well. We waited 24 hours for pillows, were actually advised to put duvets on the floor to soak up the damp off the The baby aged 14 months and a 2 year old were freezing and wet the entire time we were here. There was no Wi-Fi as stated in brochure and everything was worn out or broken. This is absolutely no exaggeration infact I've actually been fairly polite.
The swimming pool was freezing and the babies couldn't even go in because they were screaming so loudly because they were freezing.
We were offered another room so went to look. It was as bad as where we already were, only difference is it smelled of stale smoke and urine rather than rotting bodies.
There weren't enough plates, bowels or glasses for us all to eat at the same time. The pillows were so flat it looked like someone had ironed them!! There was no hot water for more than a 30 second shower every 20 minutes and that was if you could bare to stand on the bathroom floor as it was swimming in muddy water.
The cleaner admitted the black mold up the walls should of been cleaned before we arrived and also that she would provide us with 3 extra duvets to use as rugs so our feet didn't get soaking wet as we moved around the apartment. As for the toaster it didn't work! The plastic shelves in the fridge were snapped, the extending table collapsed if you leant on it and the mattresses had stains of god knows what on them. All in all it was a complete disaster zone with no staff support, no customer care, no care given by anyone who worked here apart from the poor old guy who hand lifted the csr barrier 100's of times a day every time a car came in or out.
Oh and let's not forget the 25 quid in electric we had to purchase to keep it somewhere near warm and the fact there was absolutely no plug sockets in any bedrooms and only one in the living room.
It was the pits and my advise to anyone thinking of staying here is don't! Stay on a park bench it will be more comfortable and cleaner.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
14  Thank Danielle Marijk... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSolutions, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Southport Holiday Park. If I could please ask the lead name to contact our Guest Solutions Team within 28 days of departure at (guestsolutions@pontins.com) with your concerns in order for them to fully investigate and appropriately action the above issues you have raised. Please also include your reservation details as this will help with the investigation process. Once investigated our team will contact you directly with a formal response. For full details please click on the link https://www.pontins.com/contact-us/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was a disgrace; floor was filthy, there were holes in the walls / doors. The shower leaked, none of the windows shut properly and had massive gaps. The two single beds in one room were too long for the room so we couldn't close the door to keep the heat in. Wardrobe was falling apart and wonky. Heaters were tiny and the chalet was constantly freezing. Kitchen amenities were all okay, no problems there. Old TV worked but reception was terrible.

A lot of the rides and attractions were either broken or not open. Pool is closed Fridays and Mondays so for a bank holiday weekend we could only use the pool 2 days. On one of the open days they had no lifeguards so it was shut in the afternoon. two of the rides in the arcade were broken along with a few of the arcade machines. Bouncy castle park was never open. Chinese / Indian restaurant wasn't open the two days we checked. Soft play and playgrounds were good and well maintained. Although you could only join the soft play in 45 min sessions before being kicked out.

Kids entertainment starts late (8pm) So expect to sit though 1 hour of adult bingo with your little ones if you want to keep your seats for the kids entertainment. The entertainment staff and show were good though.

In summary the accommodation was terrible, the amusement facilities were okay when they were open / working and the nightly entertainment team was good but the timing of shows was not suitable for younger children. 90% of the conversations I overheard on site were complaints about the park / staff.

Best bits: The soft play was good and well maintained and the nightly entertainment was passable.
Worst bit: Everything else.

We ended up leaving a day early as we couldn't stomach staying in the horrible cold chalet for another night.

Wouldn't let my dog stay here and won't be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SimonG7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestSolutions, Guest Relations Manager at Pontins Southport Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your recent visit on Trip Advisor. I will pass the entire review onto the team at Southport so they are aware of what you experienced as they will want to do their best to avoid this happening in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews